So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was busy and cold and otherwise boring. How Was Your Day bonus round: what’s the best meal you’ve had recently? I’m hungry and need to go grocery shopping and will probably have to resort to scrambled eggs for dinner, so please humor me.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. Sota says:

    My day is fine. I have zero work meetings on the calendar. There will be birthday cake at 2pm. I bought lunch (despite bringing leftovers) and I found a new great courtyard in the next building where I can actually find a spot to sit and eat. Overall pretty much the usual. Last week I had stomach flu, so everyday upright is a success these days. Man that wiped me out last week.

    Best meal I’ve had lately…hmmm. I have been super into making grilled veggie bowls lately. Sliced zucchini, red and green peppers, snap peas, grilled onion etc all grilled stovetop. Then sometimes I toss in whatever meat I have, cubes chicken breast etc. voila! Grilled veggie and meat bowl!

    • gnidrah says:

      I did the same with my veg on Tuesday, and it was great, but my addition is COUSCOUS! Very simple and easy to prepare and you feel like a top chef 😉

  2. catweazle says:

    I spent the last two days arguing with my extremely wealthy white aunt (who, though liberal herself, is married to a conservative shithead) about whether a joke she made on Facebook was offensive. She posted a picture of Justin Trudeau with something like “Help me, Justin! I am a refugee from America” and then something about wanting to seek asylum in his house and then a bunch of other upper-middle-aged white people commented like “LOL you are so funny what a great joke!” It made me want to vom and after a ranty group text between myself, my brother and my sister-in-law we decided to tell her she was being really tasteless.

    Instead of being like “Oh I’m sorry, I didn’t realize it came off that way” she just kept insisting that she had “examined her conscience” and thought the joke was clever and topical and not offensive to actual refugees. Then one of my mom’s cousins who I have never met chimed in with “You guys are so wrong, everybody here who responded well to this joke has known [Aunt] for a long time and if you knew anything about her you would know that she is leading the charge against Trump etc!” (please note that I have seen no evidence that [Aunt] has donated any money, made any calls, or done anything other than post political articles on FB) and then some garbage about how she [the cousin] understands how refugees feel because she doesn’t have a lot of money and therefore doesn’t have white privilege. I was like “Exsqueeze me bitch, [Aunt] is my aunt and I have known her for 30 years. Posting a lot of Trump memes on FB does not make this joke ok.” Finally my aunt deleted the post and then my mom’s cousin sent my sister-in-law (who is the daughter of Chinese immigrants) a message saying that she needed to understand that [Aunt] is a great person and she knows about refugees more than most because she adopted a baby from China.

    I HATE WHITE PEOPLE MAKE THEM STOP!!!!!!!!!!!

    Anyway I am still filled with rage about that plus all the other shit going on and just feeling hopeless about our country so that’s fun. I’m going to a protest after work outside of a DHS office so hopefully that will make me feel better.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    This gif of Winona Ryder and pizza made me LOL…

  4. flanny says:

    The sun is out today, which is very nice. We only got 2-3 days of sunlight all of January, so that’s bucked up everyone’s spirits. However, this morning it was still icy and one of my colleagues lost control of her car and ended up in a ditch on her way to work. She was very shaken up, of course, so she went home. She’s had a super sucky 2017 so far.

    Mini project club: I have to call a job candidate and offer her a job, but I’m so nervous because we’ve had a lot of trouble filling this position because of the salary. But we were incredibly upfront with her, and she’s already told us she’s looking for something besides salary. So hopefully she enjoyed meeting all of us yesterday and is ready to join the team. So the project is that I have to just rip off the band-aid and call her. I will report back when I’ve done it.

    It’s also the birthday of my second favorite member of One Direction. Happy birthday, Harry Styles. You are both a prince among men and the only 1D member most people can identify.

    (That’s him.)

  5. Kate says:

    So the other night I decided to use these little smoker devices for the grill that I found at a garden shop. (In defiance of winter, we grill year round.) I got some of those country style ribs, tiny potatoes and brussel sprouts. The directions said to put the food on the grill with the smoker and light it then close the lid for 25 minutes before you turn the grill on. Then cook as per usual. After I put a rub on the ribs, I threw everything out there with the smoke. I also threw a keilbasa out there that the butcher gave my husband as a birthday gift. Omg everything was so good. Who ever thought smoked brussel sprouts would be a delicious thing? Do it! Felt like a summer picnic.

  6. martinmegz says:

    My boss got promoted last year and recently had talked to me about moving up to his old position, which would be a promotion and a raise, but also get him out of content production to make things run so much more smoothly. Yesterday he decided the position isn’t needed and he is too important to get out of content, and I can’t explain to him that he actually hinders content because he doesn’t understand anything. So, promotion, raise, autonomy: gone.

    Then I got a tax form from some freelance work I did last year that I’d forgotten about, and just like that, tax return gone. Instead of $900 in my pocket I probably owe money.

    I’m pretty down in the dumps right now. Like, questioning my life and purpose and does anything mean anything and have I wasted my life what am I even doing down in the dumps.

    • flanny says:

      Ugg, that type of down-in-the-dumps is terrible and hard to get out of. If it helps at all, I think

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      That is truly depressing.
      I like how your boss is all “no one can do my old job but ME!” It’s fucking garbage and you deserve that promotion! Also how can he be so oblivious that he basically promised it to you and is now taking it back? Garbage.
      I’m so sorry, that really sucks.
      Also I’d like to reiterate Flanny that we all think you’re amazing!

    • Sota says:

      Can you take a few days of vacation and spend some time treating yo self? Sometimes that helps clear the head to think clearly about job choices. Maybe now is the time to start looking elsewhere?

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I’m sorry you are feeling down in the dumps! We’re here for you!

    • martinmegz says:

      Guys. I just got an email rejection from a job I applied to in December. By this point I figured I wasn’t in the running, but I’d forgotten about it so getting a specific rejection on this of all days is not great. Also thanks everyone for your support, I appreciate you all.

  7. catweazle says:

    Oh my god I can’t believe I forgot to share the other horrifying thing in my personal life. I have a new upstairs neighbor and she is a fucking OPERA SINGER with apparently no place to practice or belt her ear-shattering operatic scales but her apartment. Please just kill me, I’m ready.

    • flanny says:

      I had a friend in college who was an opera singer and the worst part was not just that she would sing all the time or sing opera all the time, but that she would sing along to pop songs on the radio operatically. No one needs to hear Get Low sung like that.

    • catweazle says:

      I mean on the bright side I already told my building I’m not renewing my lease so I only have to put up with this for two months but STILL AHAGHSAGHSGHD

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    • Sota says:

      Omg! I shared a wall in NYC with an opera singer. Wtf?! I swear this woman never left her apartment and every week at least one night she would hold what had to be group singing parties that would go into the wee hours of the morning. Why? Just why? Where are all these opera singers coming from?

    • martinmegz says:

      That sounds like hell. Someone in my building plays the piano and thankfully I can’t hear it from my apartment, but every time I walk by and hear how loud it is I feel a rush of sympathy for the person’s neighbors. I don’t think it’s acceptable to have loud hobbies if you share walls with other people.

      • catweazle says:

        People get confused when I say that I can’t play my piano in my apartment and that I’m just lugging it around with me until I buy a house and I’m like “Dude I don’t need to make my neighbors listen to me butcher Chopin, I have manners.”

  8. hotspur says:

    Today is unfortunate at work as there is too much work to do. I was hoping to finish up a movie review for you guys but it will have to wait. I’m in a weird place where I think of something to tweet, like, “Yum grilled cheese” and then I think how embarrassed I will be in 80 years when that tweet is in a wall inside the New Holocaust Museum as part of a “Look what Americans were doing as Hair Hitler seized power.” So I end up not tweeting and feeling bad.

    In other news, though! I took Monday off and spent my long weekend in the desert, and discovered an amazing restaurant there. It is surrounded only by sand for miles so I don’t understand its existence, but my lunch was amazing. I had duck confit with polenta and “wine-soaked” prunes, and drank a “black currant and lavender spritzer.” The polenta actually had taste, the duck was moist and rich and not fatty, zounds, I would drive 3 hours to go there again. I will be thinking about that duck for a long time.

  9. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day has generally been good. I’m so busy and still waiting on a couple things but otherwise on track for my Friday deadline. We had a really good meeting with some execs in a related dept and I got the one on our team to agree to something we really needed her to do. My boss later told me I did a great job and that I broached the subject perfectly to get her to say yes which is something he admitted he isn’t good at, so that was cool.

Comments are closed.