What’s Up?

I don’t even have the energy to make a Project Club post. Things have been hectic at work and obviously extremely alarming in general and I don’t remember what my goals were this week, but I’m sure I haven’t met them. Let’s all take a break! What’s going on with you? Feel free to vent, but also tell me about something nice that’s happened to you recently, or recommend something you’ve been enjoying. Here’s my contribution: this Tumblr of the world’s most relaxing nature gifs.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to What’s Up?

  1. catweazle says:

    Everything is the worst but I’m not feeling as depressed today so that’s nice. Going to the DHS protest last night helped. There was a decent turnout and chanting anti-Trump/anti-racism stuff with a big group of people was cathartic. I’m going to try to keep going to protests even though crowds give me anxiety because donating money (my usual contribution to activism) is nice and all but a little too passive for how full of rage I am right now.

    Anyway, a good thing that happened is one of my glam teachers just put me in touch with a local Queen cover band that needs a new keyboard player. I’m not the biggest Queen fan but a) there is only one man in the group and he just plays guitar in the background, b) I used to hang out with their drummer sometimes back in my party house days and she is cool, and c) much as glam class is fun it would be nice to be in an actual band again, even if it is a cover band. I don’t know if it will end up happening because I have to audition and shit but it’s something to distract me from the impending apocalypse at least.

    • old man fatima says:

      The apocalypse is so fucking real right now. I was chatting with a friend about it this morning. I hope if they gave Trump the real launch codes, they gave someone else the cancellation codes. Did you see his cat fight with Arnold, though? Trump said ratings were down on the Apprentice since he took over, and Arnold said he’d be happy to swap jobs with him so America can sleep at night again.

      • catweazle says:

        It’s a mark of how disgusting Trump is that Arnold seems like a hero in comparison.

      • hotspur says:

        I hadn’t heard Arnold’s reply — that’s pretty great. Go, former governor somehow of my state!

        It’s very weird that Trump is using Black History Month events to attack the TV ratings of a reality show host. How should any president even have time to have an opinion on that? I am really worried.

        I mean just today he legit threatened to start wars with Iran and MEXICO, and he told Australia they could go screw themselves? This does not bode well. We are in deep, deep trouble.

    • Sergeant Tibbs says:

      I have a question for all you politically-minded monsters out there – I live in Iowa, and most of my representatives are supporting the executive orders and basically everything Trump does, so I feel it’s really important to call them up and give them a piece of my mind. I’ve been using a script to convey my displeasure but no one tells you what to do when the senator’s aide is like “Okay, I’ll tell him, but Senator Grassley supports the order and thinks all foreigners are terrible, so…” and then I’m left wondering what else I should say. “I disagree!” Is that what I should say? A sarcastic “Okay, have a nice day” is how I’ve been leaving it, but makes me feel like the worst.

      Any suggestions on how to end the call in a strong manner that will definitely change Senator Grassley’s mind or at least make me feel better (most importantly)?

      • catweazle says:

        Maybe try saying “Thank you for the information, I will take that into consideration when the Senator is up for reelection”?

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        Fuck Chuck Grassley. Hate to be such a ray of sunshine, but that old, white bastard is going to die hating everyone who isn’t white. I appreciate your political activism and I think you should keep calling, but I don’t know that he’ll ever change his mind. Some of the other ones in Iowa might, so maybe focus on them?
        Also I agree with catweazle below on mentioning reelection. Chuck Grassley is exactly why senators need term limits.

      • hotspur says:

        Thanks for calling! Okay, Politicsgum: I’d ask what he’s basing his position on (like does he hate foreigners because of statistics proving they’re always terrorists?). Then I’d briefly refute that basis if I had the facts ready to go. If I didn’t have facts ready to go, I’d ask for the name of the Legislative Correspondent (“L.C.”) in the DC office whose expertise is this issue. Then I’d write a letter (on paper) addressed to that LC, and I’d also write a similar letter to the Senator’s nearest Iowa office. On the phone I’d avoid being irate but yeah, I would tell the person his stance is motivating me to work hard to oppose him come election time and that he should work harder to represent all Iowans.

        My VERY superficial read on Grassley is that he’s a dope, and though not 100% evil personally (I think he would have preferred the Senate vote on Garland), he’s all too ready to cave to whatever McConnell orders him to do (e.g., ignore Garland).

      • Sergeant Tibbs says:

        Ah thank you everyone! It is deflating to make these calls when it’s almost certain that they’ll continue to vote along party lines. I’ll look into the Legislative Correspondent. At the very least, I’m finally figuring out how to be an engaged citizen.

        • Dangbattleship says:

          May be worth checking indivisibleguide.com to see if there’s a local group near you. They’re organizing in-person visits to reps, calls, letters, and generally trying to help people band together to do this. Good company always helps, and groups can help make reps start paying more attention. Also swingleft.org may be worth a look.

        • Sergeant Tibbs says:

          Thank you! Looks like the indivisibleguide website also has a great set of scripts depending on whether your rep supports, opposes, or is very confusing about whatever issue is at stake https://www.indivisibleguide.com/resources-2/2017/1/31/emergency-call-stand-against-the-muslim-and-refugee-ban.

          I have to stick to phone calls since I’m out of the country right now (which is both great and terrible, it turns out?). Even letters are too slow at the rate this administration is moving…

  2. old man fatima says:

    I wrote a post about what’s up, but it was a bummer so I deleted it and I’m going to only focus on good stuff! I got a raise and they’ve been giving me lots of analysis work to do, which is totally my jam. I also have a crush on a guy at the gym so I’ve been going every morning and I’m going to look like Mr. Universe by summer because of it. He smiles at me every morning, and today he said good morning to me and I was too flabbergasted to say anything back which is very much not like me! He’s a million feet tall and very dorky. I see him when he comes in and he’s always wearing very nice suits. The gym is for my building, and the building is like 80% law firms, so I feel like he’s probably a lawyer? I’m going to try and scope out the hands tomorrow for a wedding ring. I’ll report back.

    Here’s a dog gif for all of us today:

    https://media.tenor.co/images/ee2a392f6941f5ed8d5802282d99c4ed/raw

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I’m grumpsville, big time. We were supposed to have a meeting with our president (which the head of our dept reports directly to as a result of our boss leaving a couple weeks ago) and I’ve been stressing out and losing sleep over it the past few nights because I was expecting a new boss announcement or reorg nonsense and just unsure of what it would mean for us. Today at the last minute, the president decides he doesn’t need to meet with our team even though he’s meeting with every other team and this motherfucker says it’s cause he knows the team but he’s probably couldn’t pick most of us out of a lineup. So he was just gonna meet with our VP but then the two male directors who are like the in-group of our dept (based on our VP’s picking them)(we have two other directors who are women who aren’t part of the in-group which is bullshit) end up getting pulled into this meeting and it’s just more confirmation of this bullshit boys club hierarchy where those are the special people who get to know what’s going on and everyone is garbage. It felt so shitty to be sitting at my desk, wondering what our depts future is while the men on the team get to find out. Seriously, there were 4 men talking while the 4 women in the dept just had to wait. It’s such fucking garbage. So I’d like to say it’s all a result of our president feeling far too important to be bothered with informing his full team (whom he doesn’t know at all) about their future, but it’s really my dept. being structured in such a shitty way and reinforcing the in-group mentality over and over and over again. I can’t believe I have to keep working for these assholes.

  4. nastyemu says:

    Everything is pretty terrible, and thinking about how it’s up to the republicans to stop Trump from going full dictator is making my stomach hurt.
    I made a green mango salad for the first time last night, and it was really good.

  5. flanny says:

    I know a lot of this thread was ragging on bosses and talking about how the world is ending, but I just hired a new person for my team and I’m so excited for her to start in a couple of weeks. And I had a great meeting with my other underling (is there a better word?) this afternoon. So I’m feeling pretty good?

  6. lahockeyface says:

    I have apparently been suffering from total depression. People getting pregnant, and I’m just going, “It’s so good you’re inflicting the horrors of life on an unwilling participant!” Government “help agencies” going around and telling people they shouldn’t be sad because life could be way worse. You know, the absolute worst thing to tell someone who is actually depressed. The guy who was working on my house left the finishing touches off, and my parents finally goaded him into finishing before he finishes their house. He was supposed to do a small tile job, which looks like crap. The outside is still not complete. He started telling my parents that I am lying about when he is supposed to finish. He is doing also doing shoddy work at their house now that He has all the money they have to keep the thing from falling in. I am so upset that I can not talk to him on the phone, and if I respond via text, he starts spamming that I am a bad person for not talking on the phone. I told him I was out with in-laws and then had hockey, and can not talk tonight. “I’m glad you have a life and can’t clear anything up. I am very upset by this.” Also Trump, and losing the very faint hope that, since he has no record of anything political, he wouldn’t try to do all this stupid stuff. The world is bad. I just put on my robot smile and beep boop through social interactions.

    • martinmegz says:

      Heard that, brother. I don’t have anything productive to say except sorry you’re dealing with this guy’s bullshit and don’t let him manipulate you when he’s in the wrong!

    • Erika says:

      Crappy contractors are the worst. I’m sorry you’re having to deal with that.

Comments are closed.