How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was pretty productive! I went grocery shopping on Friday after work so I wouldn’t have to leave the house, which was a smart move because it was freezing Saturday and Sunday. I got some writing done, did laundry and rearranged my closets, and watched some of The People Vs. OJ Simpson, which is finally on Netflix. Man, were the mid-90s a dark, dark time for fashion.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Technical Stuff, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    The highlight of the weekend was getting a Portillo’s beef and cheddar croissant. In a bizarre twist, I did not get a piece of chocolate cake to go with my dinner.

  2. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I had a very relaxing weekend not counting that garbage football game where a bunch of trash people won.
    One of the big highlights was when I got my prize from Cassmasterflash for guessing the first show canceled! It was some awesome, delicious sea salt chocolate caramels and a fandango gift card! Woo woo!!! So awesome! Thanks, Cass, you’re the best!!!!

    • martinmegz says:

      I was thinking about this contest over the weekend because I watched season one of the Bachelorette Australia and they had promos for Limitless on the screen. That reminded me how angry I am that show got canceled because it was great, then I thought about how many garbage shows didn’t get canceled last year. What show did you guess for the prize? I was trying to figure out if anything even got canceled and now I see that one show I actually like, Conviction, got axed.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        I think Notorious on ABC (mostly because it was between Grey’s Anatomy & How to Get Away with Murder and was seriously depressing the ratings for the latter.

        • martinmegz says:

          Oh right that was one of the cancellations. Doesn’t it seem like more shows than usual survived last year?

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Yeah I think nets are waiting longer to cancel shows because it takes so long to get Live+7 ratings and also online/on demand transactions. Plus I think in general a lot of people just wait to catch up on a show til they know their investment is worth it (that there will be a 2nd season)

        • martinmegz says:

          WELL I’M VERY ANGRY ABOUT LIMITLESS

  3. catweazle says:

    I went to bed at 7:30PM on Friday and slept for 14 hours. Then I spent most of Saturday playing Lego Star Wars. Yesterday I went to brunch with my family and gave baby his souvenirs and he loved them and kept pointing to them and pointing to me and doing the sign for “thank you” and it was too cute. He also apparently has moved on from Fleetwood Mac and now likes to watch a Stevie Wonder concert DVD and imitates Stevie pumping his fist and sticking out his tongue. He also is a Jamiroquai fan. I have hope for the future of America when our babies like Jamiroquai. After brunch I went home and started watching the Kitten Bowl and then took a four hour nap by accident and then tried to watch The Young Pope but attempting to use HBO Go on my TV caused my TiVo to crash so I just caught up on Elementary and New Girl instead. Now I am back in the real world and ready to be outraged by shit again which is good because a synagogue in downtown Chicago was vandalized with swastikas over the weekend and I hate everything.

  4. FRQ says:

    My weekend started off pretty well, with some volunteering, excellent meals, and a series of movies that included Moonlight, Finding Dory, and a Dutch movie that was part of a film festival. All of that came crashing down at around 8:30pm last night. After watching what I would say was a solid halftime show, I had to endure a horrifying 2 quarters of football. I went home and tried to get some sleep, only to wake up 3 hours later with intense nausea from all the garbage I ate the night before.
    I now see why the top prize at Sundance went to a movie called I Don’t Feel At Home In This World Anymore.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      What if we all just agree, as a city, to only remember the first half? Can we just pretend the game ended 21-3? I mean, it’s not like it ACTUALLY matters anywhere, right?

  5. martinmegz says:

    My weekend basically needs to be saved for TV talk tomorrow because that’s pretty much all I did. It’s funny because it’s sad.

  6. flanny says:

    I did some volunteering on Saturday, which wasn’t the most fun because we were manning a booth, and we were right by the entrance so people either thought we were the info booth (we were not) or missed us entirely. Pfft, oh well.
    Yesterday I took two naps. I didn’t watch the football game because I hate Tom Brady because for a decade or so I had to pretend to care about him or be run out of Boston. So I very pointedly did not watch the game, and instead watched Safe Haven, the Nicholas Sparks movie. It was on broadcast TV, but a couple of years ago it was covered by How Did This Get Made, and that episode is one of the episodes I listen to over and over again. So I was really excited to finally get to watch it. It was terrible, but I agree with all the HDTGMers that the little girl was very good in it. I also watched Troop Beverly Hills (so good) and a couple of snippets of MST3K movies because there was a marathon on. Very good Sunday.

  7. hotspur says:

    Saturday I watched movies — especially Inside Llewyn Davis, which instantly goes on my favorites list. Everyone warned me away from that when it was out, saying it was depressing, but I found it to be compelling and optimistic. So turns out either everyone is wrong or I am, and guess what, jerks, I’m not wrong.

    Sunday I had lunch with my vampire-book cowriter and we sewed up some disagreements we had about what’s supposed to happen, thereby clearing the way to resume writing. Huzzah! No writing was achieved, however. Instead I went to a Super Bowl viewing party. It was the first football game I watched this year and it was a pretty good one, objectively speaking. Mainly good to see the friends, though.

    Also–and this is important–I purchased Trefoils.

    • martinmegz says:

      I assume you bought Trefoils because they were out of Samoas or Thin Mints or S’Mores? Sidenote: I learned last year that some of the cookies have different names in different parts of the country depending on which of the official bakeries serves that area. Therefore some people know my beloved Samoas as Caramel deLites. As I’m typing this I’m wondering if this is old news to everyone and I might as well be explaining how Earth revolves around the Sun.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        FYI – I saw Girl Scout cookie cereal at Target.

      • hotspur says:

        Samoas are my jam, and once in these blog pages I blasted Trefoils as “the sad preference of old ladies.” It was an attack that met surprising resistance by several Trefoil partisans in one of our comment threads, so I tasted one, and I finally saw the point of Trefoils: They’re cookies for people who hate life.

        I don’t hate life, but I want to get in better shape, which is similar. So it was either do CrossFit ten times per week like you, martinmegz, or switch to Trefoils for once.

Comments are closed.