How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was pretty good, even though I didn’t go grocery shopping like I very much needed to, because the weather was terrible. When will winter end?? Still, otherwise I was very productive, and got a lot of chores and writing done.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I got a full night’s sleep on Friday, which was much needed. My best friend’s mom had a birthday party on Saturday night, so I stopped by, and it was very fun.

    When I got home, we watched the movie Fargo, and I don’t think I had ever seen that before. I was pretty surprised by how much I liked it! This scene was the funniest thing I’ve seen in a while:

    I was not nearly as productive as I should have been, but I am going to try and step it up this week.

  2. catweazle says:

    I went to my apartment-viewing appointment but learned that there are no current listings that meet my specifications (because everything is for March 1st right now) so that was disappointing. The dude I talked to is allegedly going to keep his eye out for listings I might like though.

    Since that appointment took a lot less time than I expected and the office was within walking distance of a movie theater I decided to go see La La Land so I can have real opinions on it instead of just assuming it is overrated. But guess what? It’s hugely overrated! It’s perfectly fine and I like the way it ended but the music isn’t that good, Ryan Gosling can’t sing, jazz is still stupid and I hated the opening scene SO MUCH. Anyway, I will blow a gasket if it wins Best Picture. I’m already resigned to it winning everything else but they can at least throw the Best Picture bone to Moonlight like the did with Twelve Years a Slave a few years ago.

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      Agree about La La Land. Opening scene was the worst ever! Also can we just stop making movies about how hard it is to be a struggling actor/musician/etc in LA? Especially if you’re beautiful and white? Not only is that annoying at shit, but it’s boring as hell and not original and copying from Singing in the Rain makes it even less original. It probably will win Best Picture, though, because everyone voting will be like “oh yeah, this is how movies SHOULD be: about me and people like me!”

      • catweazle says:

        I also couldn’t stomach the whole classic Ryan Gosling character thing wherein we’re supposed to find all these assy things charming, like Emma Stone saying she hates jazz and him immediately forcing her to go to a jazz club with him to explain why she is wrong. JAZZ SUCKS RYAN GOSLING AND YOUR WHITE OPINIONS ARE NOT GOING TO CHANGE THAT.

        • catweazle says:

          John Legend’s band’s ridiculous song was better than like all the other songs in the movie which I don’t think we’re supposed to think. City of Stars is not a great song why is it winning awards?????

        • nastyemu says:

          The best song from a movie was Mona Lisa, and it can’t even get nominated. Biggest snub since Uncle Fucker. Awards are dumb.

        • catweazle says:

          AHHH you are so right! I didn’t even think of that! First that movie didn’t do great at the box office even though it was very funny, now these award snubs. Justice for Popstar!

        • collin0truckasaurus says:

          Yeah, imagine if he were really into metal and she was like “oh, I don’t really like metal” and then he forced her to go to a hardcore metal show? That’d be weird, right? But since it’s JAZZ, we’re all just too stupid to understand what makes it great, so we just haven’t had someone explain it to us. Gimme a break.

        • nastyemu says:

          Damnit, I can’t believe I’m going to be the one to defend La La Land.
          He tries to get her to like jazz because he likes her. That’s the very beginning of their relationship and he’s starting to have stronger feelings for her and she says she doesn’t like the thing that he’s most passionate about. So he tries to get her to like jazz or at least see why he’s passionate about it so she’ll like him more.
          Maybe if it was something like impressionist art it would have gone over better, instead of having a white dude explaining jazz, but it’s a movie about jazz so you gotta deal with it.

        • catweazle says:

          Noooo nastyemu you won’t make me believe that that was ok! I know it’s a movie so everything’s dramatized but the way to respond to “I hate [thing that you’re passionate about]” is to be like “Oh that’s too bad, what about it don’t you like?” and then IF it seems like they just have incorrect preconceived notions you ASK them if you can show them an example that might make them like it. Not saying “YOU ARE WRONG STOP EVERYTHING YOU’RE DOING AND COME SOMEWHERE WITH ME SO I CAN EXPLAIN WHY YOU’RE WRONG YOU WRONG DUMMY!!!!!” And if she doesn’t like jazz, get the fuck over it. What matters is if she supports his passion for jazz and let’s be real, I don’t believe for a second that Emma Stone fell in love with jazz after he showed it to her she was just like “Ok dear” and thought it was cute that he loved it so much and just went along with it because she is a reasonable adult who understands that you don’t have to love the same things to love each other.

        • Commentatrix says:

          I respect your opinions, but I have to strongly object to the comparison between jazz and freaking METAL. I don’t particularly like jazz either, but it is at least artful and has an important place in music history.

      • flanny says:

        I LOVE THIS COMMENT SO MUCH, TRUCK!!!

      • nastyemu says:

        I’m not saying it’s rational or a good idea, but I thought it made perfect sense given what we’d seen of his other interactions with people earlier in the movie.

      • nastyemu says:

        Damnit it wasn’t about any of that stuff! It’s about relationships and the sacrifices you are or aren’t willing to make. It was wonderful.

        • catweazle says:

          I know I’m hating but I’m not saying it was bad! Just overrated! It sits about halfway down the list of the 15 movies I saw that came out last year and there were only two movies I saw that I really didn’t like at all.

        • nastyemu says:

          Fair enough. I think the only movie that I don’t want to win is Manchester by the Sea.

        • Sota says:

          I am with ya! It was all about relationships and the art of film-making and stage styling type performance. I felt like I enjoyed the how it was made/artistic style more than I wanted to pick apart the storylines.

        • gnidrah says:

          I enjoyed it too, you’re not alone emu! Sure, it wasn’t perfect, but nothing is. Different opinions are what’s always been great about this site! 🙂

          If you don’t like musicals then that opening scene is going to be your worst nightmare, I’m afraid. I happen to live in a musical in my own head, right now I am working on a dance to Ed Sheeran that I am going to rip out on a train station platform some time very soon, look forward to seeing me getting arrested for that.

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My weekend was really good with a couple minor exceptions. I took Friday off because I had to take a gestational diabetes class (fml) that was supposed to take from 8-12p, so I just took the whole day off. The class was a complete waste of my time including starting at 9am even though I was there at 7:45am, and the content was designed for morons and I could have had a one-on-one meeting with a nurse for about 15 minutes where I would have learned the very little bit of information I didn’t already know. But then that afternoon I got a haircut and got my nails done. Saturday we went out to celebrate Valentine’s Day and my birthday and we ate a really delicious steak and went to the botanical gardens which was having an evening thing which was awesome. Also I saw Split this weekend and really liked it!! Better than La La Land!

  4. nastyemu says:

    The weather sucked so we didn’t do anything this weekend. I swear I am going to spend every weekend outside when the sun is shining.

  5. catweazle says:

    This is not related to this weekend but I feel the need to rant. Ever since the election I have been learning that all these people on my mom’s side of the family are either Republicans or political idiots (i.e. my aunt who made refugee jokes) and it’s making me want to vom. I don’t see that side of the family a lot and for some reason I always thought they were all at least moderate if not liberal but NOPE. My little sister posting something on FB about Beyonce losing the Grammy to “Becky” and one of my younger cousins went on this rant in the comments about reverse racism and how it’s not ok to generalize about white people and we tried to reason with him and I even tried to cut him all kinds of slack and give him the benefit of the doubt on certain things but he just kept going hard about “Becky” being a horribly racist concept and then blocked us. THE CALL IS COMING FROM INSIDE MY FAMILY PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. flanny says:

    My sister, mom and I threw my sister-in-law a baby shower. It went pretty well, although I’m exhausted from all the traveling and then running around. The best part was after when my brother (the father-to-be) jokingly asked if I would baby-sit for free and I said, “I’m not touching the baby until it’s out of danger of choking on its own spit.” Also the best part was that the new baby was gifted with a total of three stuffed animals. 1) a calico cat from its favorite aunt. 2) a sweet little lamb. 3) A SECOND LAMB EXACTLY LIKE THE FIRST ONE. I really wish I could have taken all three stuffed animals home.

  7. martinmegz says:

    Okay so my weekend was pretty John Wick-focused. Hotspur met up with me and two friends who are equally obsessed and I have to think that it may have been alarming to sit next to three people who reacted audibly and physically to everything that happened for two hours. As the DOE would say, please accept my apologizes.

    One thing happens in the movie that I found out of character for my sweet Baba Yaga (boogeyman) and it was interfering with my ability to enjoy the movie (which is a beautiful spectacle of violence). I discussed it at length over brunch yesterday then in follow up phone calls (we are really into John Wick). Finally I found a comment on Reddit that explained the meaning behind the action, so now I can go re-watch it and enjoy it with no hesitation.

    • martinmegz says:

      A little small but close to perfect on the image size

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I was hoping that it would be everything you dreamed it would be!

    • hotspur says:

      Excellent fights, excellent villains, excellent art design, will see John Wick 1 and 3 now, A+ dancing with guns and knives. Like a La La Land but instead of jazz, murder.

      “A love letter to mass murder… a triumph!” — my review excerpt for the poster

  8. Sota says:

    I was sick again. So I basically was in bed most of the weekend. I rustled up a bit of energy and went to a funeral for a family friend on Saturday and brunched on Sunday despite being all sniffly. I think it helped to get out of the house a little bit and get some fresh air and a delicious breakfast sandwich. Or at least thats what im telling myself.

Comments are closed.