Be Mine

This video is the perfect combination of sweet treats and watching how things are made.

Let’s all use the comments to discuss our favorite candy. It’s been a while since we had a food post. Most random or unknown favorite wins a gold star.

This entry was posted in Food, Fun Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Be Mine

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I like Twix an awful lot, but if I’m going a little fancier, I like dark chocolate with sea salt

  2. nastyemu says:

    Take 5 is my favorite. Every once in a while I’ll get a Trader Joe’s dark chocolate bar with sea salt and caramel and I won’t share it with anyone.

  3. gnidrah says:

    Mine are all going to be British and weird, so I guess I can’t play, but I will say, fun fact of the day, here we call those Love Hearts.

    • DAIRY MILK. Which they no longer import because Hershey’s owns Cadbury and uses a different recipe. Real Dairy Milk is amazing.

      • gnidrah says:

        Effing Mondelez owns it now, or it does here anyway. Tastes basically the same but people lose it about Cadbury on an almost daily basis. My sister just bought me four Oreo-Dairy Milk creme eggs, which are going to be a treat!

  4. Whenever my mom picks me up from the airport we have to drive by the NECCO factory to go home. Sometimes it smells like sugar. Not as good as Blommer’s in Chicago, which I bike past a lot. It smells like chocolate for miles around it.

    I love trader joe’s dark chocolate peanut butter cups right now. Or just Dove or Lindt chocolate. And even though it isn’t the best, Hershey Kisses are great on certain days.

    • catweazle says:

      Every once in a while the chocolate smell drifts to the area around my office and it always fills me with rage because I can’t have the chocolate.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I’ve been buying those Lindt candies a lot recently. I put them in the fridge, and they are really good when they are cold.

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I wish they would update those Candy Hearts with new words more representative of modern dating like:
    “U up?”
    “Hey”
    And others…I’m not really sure since I stopped dating before tindr and all that.

  6. catweazle says:

    I’m not a big candy person in general but for some reason Kit-Kats are like crack to me. I would eat 30 Kit-Kats if they were in front of me.

    I am also a fan of the Kinder family of products. Kinder Bueno is probably the best one you can easily get in the US but I miss and long for Kinder Softies. Years ago my brother went to Paris and tried Kinder Softies and told the rest of us of their majesty but they are not available outside of Europe (and also I think only available in select European countries). I went to Paris a year later and hunted for them at Monoprix and experienced them for myself and brought back a couple of bags as a Christmas present because I am a great sister. They are basically little egg-shaped chocolates with a wafer layer and hazelnut filling and for some reason they are just better than other similar candies.

    • gnidrah says:

      I’ll look out for them next time I’m at the supermarket for you!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Girl, I eat so many Kit Kat bites every day! They are dangerous.

    • hotspur says:

      My favorite candy is probably Matcha Kit-Kats. They’re delicious, but also green, so they’re healthy.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I bought a box of Girl Scout cookie cereal – the Thin Mint one – and the first ingredient is whole grains, plus there is a small amount of vitamins, so I guess I should just eat chocolate cereal instead of Kit Kats?

  7. flanny says:

    I do love a good Twix or a Snickers, and I know I’ve made it well known around here that milk chocolate is really the only kind of chocolate in my mind. I’d give my left leg for a good milk chocolate peanut butter cup, but Reece’s is too grainy. Many moons ago a now-friend of mine and I bonded over a candy bar called simply “Hershey’s Milk Chocolate with Peanut Butter.” The peanut butter was good and creamy and there was just the perfect amount of chocolate. I could only find them in one place, which was the convenience store on campus. And they disappeared just as suddenly as they appeared, never to be heard from again. All these years later, the friend and I will often talk about how delicious they were.

  8. Kate says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day sweethearts!

  9. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I could talk about candy all day. It’s my biggest weakness.

    I went through a Dove candy phase – the ones with nice messages written on the wrapper – and sweet fancy Moses did I eat way too many of those.

    I transitioned to Reese’s Pieces for a while, then upgraded to those bite sized versions of Twix or Snickers.

    I’m currently on a bite sized Kit Kat and Lindt candy kick.

    • hotspur says:

      I worked in a coffee shop for years and one of our regulars was an older woman who looked like a model who had termed out, and I am pretty sure she lived off the spherical Lindt chocolates we sold as an impulse item next to the register. Obviously I didn’t follow her around to confirm that she really never did eat anything else, but I got the feeling.

  10. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Today I bought a cookie for myself for my birthday even though I’m not supposed to have too much sugar, but it’s my birthday so it is a special occasion. Anyway, here’s a picture with a ruler so you can see how ridiculously big it is:

  11. martinmegz says:

    Candy is like alcohol for me: if you put it in front of me, I’ll consume it. I’m not picky. But there’s a gas station near my office that has some cool international candy selections and my favorite is the Lion Bar, a “caramel filled wafer with crisp cereal covered in Nestle milk chocolate.”

  12. Commentatrix says:

    Way late to this, but i felt the need to say that considering how much sugar they put in these things, you’d think they’d taste way better.

Comments are closed.