Tuesday TV Talk

Much of the recent Star Wars news involves people bitching about the English language, but I thought I’d give a special shout out to Disney XD’s spinoff, Star Wars Rebels.  Now in its 3rd season, it’s been quite enjoyable, especially the last two episodes.  They featured Sabine Ren, an exiled Mandalorian-turned-rebel, facing the ghosts of her past and fighting to reunite her fractured family.  Rebels is targeted towards tweens, and does have more filler episodes than I’d like, but overall it has been a pretty satisfying Star Wars experience, and I hope they can keep up the level of quality.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. catweazle says:

    This is more movie talk than TV talk but on Sunday I was feeling too lazy to get off the couch and change the switcher from Xbox to Wii so I couldn’t watch Netflix but I ended up discovering that I get a bunch of movie channels I didn’t realize were in my cable package and I watched Secrets in Their Eyes, How To Be Single and Blast From the Past all in a row. Secrets in Their Eyes was kind of bad but Chiwetel was very handsome in it and his love interest had the same name as me so BINGO. I hadn’t seen Blast From the Past in a long time but I LOOOVED it when I was a tween and it actually held up surprisingly well! The gay best friend character was of course a cliche but there weren’t any gay panic jokes so I count that as a win.

    But the big story is that How To Be Single was actually good? Like why didn’t anybody tell me it was good? I mean, there were a couple of really cheesy bits (like Dakota Johnson hates being single partially because she is physically incapable of unzipping her own dress so in a moment of independence she BUILDS A CONTRAPTION WITH A MAGNET AND PULLEY TO UNZIP HER DRESS GIRL IT’S NOT THAT HARD) but it was funny and the ending was refreshingly non-cliche and satisfying. It wasn’t the best movie ever but most modern rom-coms are awful and this one was good. Watch it if it’s on TV.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I had a feeling that How to Be Single would be a perfect movie to watch on a Sunday afternoon. Will DVR it for future lazy afternoons.

    • martinmegz says:

      I watched HTBS on a plane and I agree! I hate how she became single and she kind of sucks, but Damon Wayans Jr is amazing in everything and I enjoyed the movie.

      • catweazle says:

        Yeah her character was probably the worst part (well no, her non-Damon Wayons Jr. ex-bf was the worst) but I did enjoy her friendship with Rebel Wilson and the “dicksand” part.

    • Sergeant Tibbs says:

      I saw How to Be Single twice, the first time was as the living embodiment of the movie’s target audience member, by myself at the theater (let’s be honest though, that is how I prefer to watch all movies in theaters), and the second time on a plane. I liked the ending a whole lot, but I did not like that stupid drinks limit leading to sex thing. Also, Dakota Johnson is no Liz Lemon with her zipper contraption, who does she think she’s kidding. It is a great plane rom com, though.

    • Commentatrix says:

      I liked HTBS too. Possibly because my expectations were suuuuper low but it was great how it kept subverting the common romcom tropes. My favorite was when the cab driver yells at Dakota Johnson during her big sentimental epiphany moment. 🤣

  2. collin0truckasaurus says:

    We started watching 11.22.63 on Hulu and that’s pretty interesting so far. Also we’re catching up on The Mindy Project and that remains a great show! A+ very funny! (We just got Hulu – what else should we watch on there?)

    • Sergeant Tibbs says:

      Where are you on the Mindy Project? I’m still watching (as of December) and I think it’s taken a very interesting direction. I wonder if it’ll get renewed. Also, I mentioned before that I watched Please Like Me and it is great and on Hulu. You’re the Worst and My Mad Fat Diary are also there, and they’re weird and funny.

      • collin0truckasaurus says:

        We just finished the first season that Hulu did (I think it’s season 4 for the show). We’ll probably watch You’re the Worst because I’ve heard lots of good things, but will definitely check out Please Like Me and My Mad Fat Diary! Thanks!

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    iZombie is coming back April 4!!!

  4. I’ve been watching Abstract, the documentary series about designers, on Netflix. It’s good but I wish they went more in-depth with some of the technical stuff-like one episode is about a woman who designs sets for plays and concert tours, and her stuff is AMAZING, but at the end of the episode I still had no idea how any of it worked/was built.

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Watched the first episode of Legion. Thought it was ok, but probably won’t keep up with it. The A.V. Club comment section made it sound like the greatest show on Earth, but I wasn’t that impressed. I admit that I’m not the target audience for the Marvel universe, but Jessica Jones is one of my favorites!

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’m pretty sure you guys were talking about the OA a while back. Overall, I thought it was pretty intriguing and unusual. There were parts that made me roll my eyes – those “movements” looked pretty silly.

    I had heard the ending was bad, so I prepared myself for the worst, but I thought the ending was fine. I’m not sure I “get” this show, but I won’t hold that against the creators.

    I would definitely watch a second season, but won’t be upset if it’s over.

    • catweazle says:

      Apparently there’s going to be a second season which surprised me. I assumed the ambiguous ending was intentional but I guess we’re going to find out what at least part of the deal is. And hopefully there will be more of Riz Ahmed’s character!

      The movements were kind of silly but I have to admit that I got kind of emotional when they were all doing them in the last episode. With Brit Marling’s stuff I find it’s best to just go with it even when it doesn’t make sense or seems dumb which definitely kept me from hating the ending of season one.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I will agree that the movements brought out some emotion in that end scene. I saw some chatter online about Riz Ahmed’s character… SPOILERS!… theory is that he planted those books in her house. So I guess it might be nice to see how that all plays out.

        I also really liked the teacher character. I know that actress is best known from the Office which is not a show that I saw very much of. But, she was great.

        I still have to watch Sound of My Voice and Another Earth. I’ve been meaning to watch Marling’s movies for a while.

  7. martinmegz says:

    I watched the first two episodes of The Good Fight and I really love it! The Good Wife fans should check it out, Christine Baranski really carries the show. It’s super annoying that it airs on the stupid CBS All Access thing but I’m watching it via Kodi so up yours, CBS!

    I also watched a bunch of movies this weekend and my conclusion is that I’m just not a “Best Picture” category kind of person. I like movies to be enjoyable, and there seems to be a trend towards making them very difficult to watch. I don’t need sit and stew in stark reality for two hours. I like Arrival and I love Hidden Figures, but the rest of these films are not for me (La La Land may be a romp but I hate musicals so I couldn’t get past the first 20 minutes).

    Has anyone seen The Edge of 17? I’m not big on the teen angst genre, but this movie was great and I genuinely wept, to the extent that I couldn’t go to sleep after watching it because I knew I would wake up with swollen eyes so I had to watch something else before going to bed.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Edge of 17 is on my list of things to see. The previews made me LOL multiple times, and Woody Harrelson seems like he’ll be great in it. Heard lots of good things – plan to watch soon.

    • nastyemu says:

      Edge of 17 is really really good!

    • I expected to love The Edge of 17 but I had some issues with it. I really wish that they had focused on the friendship between the girls instead of using that as the opener and then making it all about her and boys. Also, I was really distracted by the fact that Blake Jenner is clearly 24 and that Erwin was very obviously 30.

    • Sergeant Tibbs says:

      I agree, I wish they focused on the friendship more in Edge of Seventeen instead of forgetting about it until the end of the movie. However, I was a huge fan of an Asian love interest! He was so awkward and I loved all of it.

  8. flanny says:

    Haawwa made it to the PR Juniors final!!!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I was rooting for Tieler, but honestly, I wasn’t really a fan of his collection. Hers was better. I think I just loved that weird coat he made so much that I wanted him to get to the finale 🙂

      I also don’t understand why any PR contestant gets to outsource work on their finale collections. Many contestants have done that, and I think it’s kind of cheating. It would be like asking me to design a logo, but then I have an illustrator create an icon, and I add the typography. I’m sure this is done all the time – people can collaborate all they want – but in a design competition, it should be your work, and yours alone.

      I’m not trying to call out Tieler for that. It’s clearly within the rules.

      It’s hard to watch any of them get cut. They all seem like really good kids.

  9. I just caught up on Jane the Virgin and holy crap did I cry.

Comments are closed.