So, How Was Your Day?

I got a lot of chores done at home and work done at work, so I’m pretty proud of myself today. I have a migraine, though, which puts a damper on things. Clearly, my body would rather I just relax and watch TV all day.

I also found this Tumblr, which is my new favorite thing.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. old man fatima says:

    My day is alright! I got my tenants out FINALLY! The house is a poop smeared on the walls, mattresses glued to the floors, dirty diapers and rotting food everywhere nightmare, but there’s step 1! I have a removal company coming Friday to clear everything out so I can clean all weekend and move back into my home on Sunday. I’m hoping the weather is good because all of the windows will be wide, wide open to hopefully get rid of the smell before I install myself. My parents will arrive on Sunday and we’ll all stay at an airbnb that night and get to work on Monday. I’m exhausted, but feeling positive!

    And now I need you guys to tell me if I’m way way out of line on something. My plan was to move on Saturday, now I’m moving on Sunday because I need more time to clean. The guy who is taking my room just moved here from overseas for his PhD and has nothing but some clothes. I had said that if I couldn’t get the tenants out, or if the house was too bad to move in on Saturday, I would leave my furniture there and go stay with a friend. It was win-win, because he hasn’t bought a bed or anything yet. Now that I’m moving on Sunday instead I told him that he could use my air mattress for the night. He’s fine with it, but my roommate is insisting that *I* sleep on the air mattress and give him my room because I told him he could move in early. I technically still live here, by the way! I paid rent for the entire month, and it’s my room and my bed. I did say he could use my bed, but I was thinking of being delayed by weeks not by one lousy day. He is a nice guy and is insisting on taking the air mattress and not the bed, but my roommate is super mad about it and is saying that I’m putting her in an awkward position because now she has to go spend the night at her parents’ so he can sleep in her bed (????), which nobody is asking for.

    • nastyemu says:

      Personally, if it’s just for one night I would rather sleep on an air mattress than in a stranger’s bed. Even with a bad back.

    • Uh, no, you are not being unreasonable at all. Your roommate needs to chill. Also, yay no more horrible tennants!! Mattresses glued to the floor?? (That’s obviously not even the worst part but wtf?)

      • old man fatima says:

        Glued to the floor, I assume with pee. The kids also drew all over my hardwood floors with marker. Who the fuck are these people?? I’ve sent photos of the house and their names to child services so they can keep an eye out and have this all on file.

    • Erika says:

      Too bad the nightmare tenants and nightmare landlords can’t find each other and leave the rest of us out of it. Maybe Craigslist can add a Deadbeat4Deadbeat section.

    • hotspur says:

      Why is your roommate so involved? What’s her motivation? I feel like there is so much information I don’t have, it is impossible to solve The Case of the Overwrought Bed Lady.

      • old man fatima says:

        I think she just likes to be stressed? She said I was making her look unreliable because she had told him he could move in on the 25th and now I’m turning her into a liar. My parents are coming on Sunday and they were going to move me for free with my step dad’s truck on Monday, so I’m already hiring movers and spending money I don’t need to spend so I can leave on Sunday instead to help out with this situation. She just needs to chill out.

    • martinmegz says:

      It makes me so angry that you had to deal with this nightmare with your house. I’m happy you got them out but it’s so unfair that you have to clean up after those assholes.

      If the new guy isn’t paying rent yet then I’m sure he’s just happy to have a place for free, and if he is paying rent then your roommate got paid double for a week so she should shut up.

  2. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day hasn’t been the best. My car is in the shop and we have to pay $1800 to fix it for something that basically never breaks but that isn’t covered under warranty. The guy was like “I’ve only seen this once before on a car that was in races every day” and I’m like “I just drive to work…?” So that kind of sucks. On top of that, I have to take medicine for my gestational diabetes to keep my blood sugar down and the side effect is that it makes me nauseous, which is a real bummer because I’m already nauseous because I have morning sickness for the full pregnancy which is also very rare. On top of that, I feel very worthless at work because my boss doesn’t include me in anything and I have nothing to do which makes me worried my job is at risk because we have a new boss who is probably going to spend a lot of time asking what everyone does and I’m not sure I have an answer for him except “help sometimes, when my boss decides to ask me to?” Also this newish guy who we hired to take over some of my job (to allow me to do more…which my boss never lets me do…) isn’t doing a very good job with this one aspect and I need to talk to him about it but I feel awkward and I’m not sure how to do it. He’s not my direct report and we’re friends, so I don’t want to be weird about it but I’m sure he’d want to know that he could do better and also we just need him to do better, but I’m still not sure how to do it. Still, a teeny tiny part of me wants to just let him keep doing this poorly so I can be like “See! No one can replace me!” because any time I’m mad at my boss, I think about the one time he told me I was replaceable and everything is worse.
    I’m kind of spiraling out of control today, tbh…

  3. catweazle says:

    Work is busy to the point that I am listening to my classical Pandora station to soothe my nerves. I am seeing an apartment after work that I don’t expect I’ll rent because it’s next door to a bar and has kind of a weird layout, but the price and neighborhood are good so I feel the need to at least check it out.

    I saw a place last night and almost submitted an application because it’s nice and clean and has lots of storage space and is in a decent location but it isn’t on the top floor, doesn’t have AC, I would have to cross the courtyard to get to the laundry room and the kitchen is basically just along one wall of the living room and I have concerns about my kitchen table fitting. The people who live there right now have twin babies who distracted me with their cuteness while I was looking around! I’m kind of on the fence about what I should do because I still have over a month before I move and if I miss this place I’ll find something else, but I also want to be done hunting and am afraid I will end up with a crappier apartment. CAN IT BE APRIL NOW SO I CAN BE DONE WITH THIS SHIT PLEASE?

    • Commentatrix says:

      I’m in exactly the same boat with apartment hunting. I have an offer to move into a nice place with a chill seeming roommate, but I’m afraid to commit because I keep hoping against hope to find a decent place on my own for comparable money. At the same time I don’t want to wait too long just to realize that place doesn’t exist and miss out on a good situation. Ugh!

      • catweazle says:

        When do you have to move? If it’s not until April I say hold out for a place of your own. I have very strong feelings about living alone though and I know it’s probably harder to find a place when you have a dog.

        • Commentatrix says:

          Also LA is expensive AF. Honestly I’ve been looking around for two weeks now and I feel like I’ve seen a fair representation of what’s out there. But I don’t have to move until mid-April. Idk. Idk. Much stressed.

  4. flanny says:

    Today is very busy, but two of my direct reports separately brought me a no-bake cookie from lunch. RAISES FOR THOSE TWO!!!!

  5. martinmegz says:

    As of this week I work from home on Wednesdays and I like this very much! I’m not wearing pants right now!

Comments are closed.