So, How Was Your Day?

Allow me to sum up mine in gif form:

Granted, some of the rage was hormonal and therefore my own responsibility, but the rest was all thanks to PEOPLE BEING ANNOYING.

I did get to yell at someone who deserved it, though, which is always restorative, and my Girl Scout cookies came in. It’s not all bad.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Overwhelmed. I have one million things to do, a freelance project draft due tomorrow, and my OCD is ramped up this afternoon, so that’s always fun! I’m trying to stay upbeat – give myself pep talks, organize my day, fight against the OCD thoughts – it’s just super stressful.

    Since I’m being pretty negative, I’m going to drop this happy gif right here to balance things out 🙂

  2. catweazle says:

    Work is a bit crazy at the moment and we have some new people who all kind of suck but one of them suuuuuuuuuucks and I got stuck dealing with his fuckup yesterday evening and it was a pain in the ass. But I also got four bags of Valentine’s Day candy for 50 cents each at CVS so I don’t have to worry about the candy dish for at least a couple of weeks, so that’s nice.

    For those of you who have had bad days, please enjoy this GIF of those douchebags who drove a convoy of confederate flag-waving vehicles past a black child’s birthday party (while yelling racial slurs and pointing a shotgun at them) sobbing as they’re sentenced to serious jail time.

  3. mikaelajm says:

    Hi Monsters! My day has been okay, but my month took a serious nosedive last Friday when I fractured a bone in my foot (the 5th metatarsal, to be precise) just by stepping on it funny. I’m in a big Aircast boot and I can’t run at all for probably 3 months, which is a real bummer. I’d just started training for a half-marathon. Spring is also the absolute best time to run where I live, before it gets unbearably hot. Also not looking forward to those medical bills from Urgent Care and my new podiatrist. Do any of you have your own injury stories to perk me up? (Hearing about others’ injuries seriously helps, I don’t know if that makes me a terrible person but it works!)

    • catweazle says:

      Six-ish years ago I went to a wedding in four inch stilettos and drunkenly danced all night and was totally fine. Two weeks later I was walking out of a train station wearing sneakers and majorly sprained my ankle when walking down a single step to the sidewalk. I was supposed to be on crutches for the first week but they were the wrong height and I had the upper body strength of angel hair pasta so I basically didn’t leave the house for four days and got around by hopping on one foot and crawling up and downstairs. I was in a boot for several weeks after that which was not fun since my commute involved about a mile of walking every day.

      • mikaelajm says:

        Oof! Thanks, that’s exactly what I needed — I’ve never given myself an injury running, but one badly timed step and BAM! (Also, I didn’t leave my apartment for 3 days either, definitely lots of hopping.)

    • When I was a kid, I had my foot stomped by a horse and even though it hurt really bad, I just kind of walked on the side of my foot to make up for it. A few months later I was like “hmm, this still hurts to walk on. I probably broke that. Oh well, too late now I guess!”. Child Cassmaster was not the brightest.

  4. I’ve been having really bad insomnia lately to the point where I didn’t fall asleep until about 7:30 this morning. I don’t have a job right now so it doesn’t completely wreck my life but it’s so frustrating and makes me feel like a zombie. I think I need to institute a strict insomnia-fighting regime like no caffeine, no screens before bed and all that fun stuff but I tend to be really terrible about being diligent with stuff like that.

    I’ve also had How Far I’ll Go from Moana stuck in my head ever since the Oscars even though I only know about three lines of it so that’s been fun.

    • FRQ says:

      I know the feeling. I am lucky to have a job where they aren’t super strict about when I come in and when I leave, so I’ve been able to deal with my sleep issues with a flexible schedule. I just hope you figure yours out before it becomes a problem that haunts you for 6 years and running.

    • hotspur says:

      Since I quit coffee (90% quit, anyway), I have hardly any control over my sleep schedule. I used to go to bed between 1 and 2 AM almost every night, and I’d be productive right to the end. Now I conk out at 11:00 three nights in a row, then the next night I’m up till 4:30. It is frustrating.

    • mikaelajm says:

      Sleeping problems are the fucking WORST. I feel you deeply. I finally started using melatonin, which is apparently not super great for you and I’ve already built up some tolerance which is even worse, but insomnia just blows.

  5. old man fatima says:

    I AM BACK IN MY HOUSE!! I moved in on the weekend and spent over 30 hours cleaning. It’s still gross, but it’s good enough that I’m not horrified being there! I will spare you all the details, but let’s just say it was by far the grossest thing I can imagine. I’ve sent photos of the house and the names of the parents and kids to child services in every province just to be safe, since I don’t know where they’ve moved. My parents are here now and we’re bringing the house back to life!

    My outfit is cute today and I’m going for dinner with my coworkers on the company dime after work today, so my day is A-OK. Also, there is a very very tall man at my gym who I used to see every morning, but haven’t for a few weeks. This morning I got the scoop on him. Some ladies were chatting in the change room about how “very tall Jeff” hasn’t been coming in the mornings because he does yoga at 10.30 now. So now I know that his name is Jeff and that he does yoga at 10.30. How deep down this stalker rabbit hole do I want to go? Taking an hour at 10.30 for yoga is awkward, but Jeff is very tall. So.

  6. FRQ says:

    It’s been eh. I don’t know if you all experience this, but sometimes people see me dealing with some kind of issue and jump in to offer advice and/or a solution. Part of my appreciates that they want to help out, but another possibly stronger part wants them to butt out (half because I want to solve the problem on my own, and half because I want to be left alone). For the sake of not bringing more hate and anger into this world, I just shut my mouth and nod politely.

    On a more clear cut matter, I’m getting pushback from this guy who refuses to comply with the standards my team has put forward. I know that it’s a little more paperwork, which is never fun, but our freakin’ director has mandated this, and my co-workers have bent over backwards trying to make this thing as least bothersome as possible. Maybe stop being a baby and just fill out 3 question form?

    • old man fatima says:

      My dept is terrible for that, because the accounting office is small and everyone can hear everything. You ask a question to one person, and you immediately have 6 people arguing over the right answer. I didn’t ask any of you! Settle down! But also, thanks for being helpful!

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day has been okay. I went to the doctor this morning and that was fine and then I had some meetings and had lunch with a visiting exec and that was delicious and now I’m going to other meetings.

  8. flanny says:

    Today has been so busy. I started out by giving a training on our new software in the morning that obviously went over by 30 minutes through no fault of my own. But the good thing is that one of the guys who works in another department saw us sitting in there and offered us first choice of a box of donuts. Very delicious. Then there was staff chilli cook-off, so for lunch I had tiny little bites of about ten different kinds of chillis. I voted for the white bean and chicken chilli, which ended up getting second place. Then I had a meeting with my newest direct report and my boss, going over what her job is in a lot of details, and that naturally went over by an entire hour. Then two of us were supposed to have another meeting right after, but that got bumped and ended up lasting until quarter to 5. Now I just want to go home because I have laundry and packing to to for my trip and all I want to do is be on my trip. Why isn’t time travel possible yet?? And why aren’t I eating another donut????

Comments are closed.