It’s Project Club Time!

I still haven’t trimmed my hair. I’m starting to look like a mushroom. I wrote some more, though, and did my taxes just now so that counts even though it wasn’t on last week’s list. (I owe the state four dollars for some reason? Sure, New York, here’s four dollars. Go see a Star War.)

This week, I need to do laundry, deep clean the apartment, and clean out my freezer. It’s time to accept that I’m just not going to eat all those vegetables.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to It’s Project Club Time!

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Theresa, I think I once owed Illinois $1 in state taxes. So silly!

    I have 39 items to do on my Trello board, and that does not include work projects or a list of non-grocery related items I need to purchase soon.

    I’m going to try and tackle 3-5 items per day for the rest of the work week, and 8-10 items on the upcoming weekend days. That should get me pretty darn close to finishing that list by the end of the weekend.

  2. hotspur says:

    I was trying to decide between four projects last night. All are important and time is so limited! I only get four productive hours per night, really, which means all the stuff in life that I want to do has to be crammed into weekends plus these 20 hours on weeknights — and that includes watching a movie, reading a book, seeing friends, running the vampire business, anything. So I ate dinner while watching a single episode of Veep and deciding my order of battle for the night — and then got to WORK. Time to CRANK.

    Maybe 40 minutes later I was sound asleep? I woke up at 6:30 a.m. fully dressed under the covers. No recollection of how I got there. What the hell is THAT.

  3. nastyemu says:

    I still haven’t gotten a new driver’s license. Part of it is laziness, part of it is the DMV sucks, and part of it is I want to keep voting in PA elections. I don’t want to validate Trump’s voter fraud claims though, so I’ll get it done eventually.

  4. catweazle says:

    I did pretty well this week what with launching the podcast and signing a lease! Now I have to be all about packing.

    I also need to do something about my stress levels/hulk tendencies. I think the apartment hunt coupled with work being crazy is undoing the good work of my Lexapro because I’ve started hallucinating bugs in my peripheral vision again and also I had a rage dream last night which hasn’t happened in years. Anyone have relaxation tips?

    • hotspur says:

      SERENITY NOW!!!! Get a massage. Years ago I messed up my back so bad I could hardly move my arms, and part of the cure was, I had to get a massage for an hour every week for about 6 weeks. I think I’ve never been happier or more relaxed in my “adult” life.

    • mordonez says:

      One thing I don’t recommend is ASMR audio, often in the popular podcast form. Not that I’ve used it to try to relax, but it just seems totally ridiculous to me, as it’s mostly people whispering loudly at you. People are into some weird shit (hattip, Captain Obvious). My apologies for not helping, but hooray that you found a place that is opera-free!

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I got some baby stuff taken care of, but still have a couple more things to do. Mr. Truck painted the nursery and we need to see about art now.
    2 more months.

  6. mordonez says:

    Rehearsals, rehearsals. Playing a show next weekend as a bass player for the first time in 20 years, so that’s mildly stressful, but it’s a super low-key dive bar/club environment (Chicago monsters, Silvie’s on Irving Park on the 11th) so I think I’m good. Not that I was itching to play Peggy Lee’s “Fever”, but whatever. I’m a hired (presumably unpaid) gun.

    Sunday my Old Town class has our show, which includes a really ambitious Peter Gabriel-era Genesis tune that the singer is absolutely CRUSHING, which makes me feel self conscious about singing a Shins tune (first performance as a vocal soloist in my entire life, but again, low key environment, so I think I will not panic).

    Then my real band is going to have to figure out a set that doesn’t rely on one of our lead guitar players, who will be in Europe when we play a benefit show in May. It’s for the family of a friend I used to work with, who committed suicide in January. Man, I still can’t believe I’m typing that. I’m happy that his wife and young child have a giant support system, but it is just so, so terrible.

    Lastly, I’m wondering how to find a cool character to give me a traditional New Orleans style piano lesson when I tag along on mrsdonez’s quick business trip down there around Memorial day, (she’ll be busy during the day, seems like a good use of my time).

  7. martinmegz says:

    I did it! I booked a vacation next week to get out of these sub-zero LA temps! I’m going to have a desert adventure in Palm Springs/Indian Wells. I’m going to take the tram up to the mountains to see the snow and maybe do some cross country skiing, then I’ll spend the rest of the time baking in the desert heat. I’ll stop by the Living Desert, which is a nice animal habitat and botanical garden, then I’ll spend a day at the tennis tournament (my first time as a fan instead of being credentialed press in like eight years — finally I can get day drunk and watch tennis again!). I’m also going to explore Joshua Tree National Park and visit Pioneertown.

    Hotspur, can I get the details on the amazing restaurant you told us about?

    • hotspur says:

      Yes! Go there! It is called La Copine. It is only open for breakfast and lunch, and not every day, so check the hours before you go, but definitely put it on the schedule.

      Also if you’re out thataway, look into the Integratron. One of my life’s chief regrets is not writing a Tourism For Weirdos after my Sound Bath at the Integratron.

  8. flanny says:

    DEAR GOD IT IS MY LAST WORK DAY BEFORE A TWO WEEK VACATION AND I WANT TO THROW MYSELF OUT OF A WINDOW AND LAND ON THE BEACH.

Comments are closed.