How Was Your Weekend?

It was freezing here, so I stayed inside all weekend except for an hour on Sunday when I went grocery shopping. I decided to make the most of it and get a lot of household chores done, and now the state of my apartment is slightly less shameful.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. catweazle says:

    I surprised myself by actually taking the two buses to see Get Out. It was very good! I don’t go to the neighborhood that theater is in much so I took advantage of already being there and did some shopping. I managed to convince myself not to buy the creepy St. Patrick’s Day lady-rat holding a mug of beer that I found at Home Goods but I did buy a stuffed Peter Rabbit and a bunny-themed book for the baby and a $13 candle that smells just like the lilac bushes from my childhood home. BUT I also bought some packing supplies so it was only like 80% frivolous spending. I did a little bit of packing yesterday but not nearly as much as I should have. It’s a good thing I requested the day before my move off because I have a feeling I’m going to need it!

    Also the second episode of the podcast is up which I’m sure you’ve all been waiting for: https://soundcloud.com/the-vd-diaries/s01e02-night-of-the-comet

  2. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My weekend was great! Saturday I hung out with my friend and we got massages together and had lunch and hung out. Then Sunday I hung out with my husband without the baby and we saw Get Out and then went to the first Atlanta United game and it was rowdy! So much fun even though we lost. Today I’m exhausted but it was worth it!

  3. martinmegz says:

    I watched several episodes of Australian Survivor, which was not productive, but the accents are mesmerizing! Yesterday it was sunny when I woke up then it was raining when I came out of the gym then I took a nap and it was sunny when I woke up again. A real weather roller coaster.

    So I inadvertently booked a vacation that overlaps with lady strike day. I told my boss to consider my absence a protest even though I was going to be gone anyhow but I have some guilt about it. I guess I will celebrate my female empowerment by exercising my right to travel alone. Also I’m going to Joshua Tree on the 30th anniversary of the U2 album and I’m hoping it won’t be overrun with U2 fans, no offense to any Bono-heads in this community.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I finished 15/39 to-do list items and finished my freelance project. I wish I could have gotten more done, but at least I was mildly productive.

    Alt-J released a new song, and announced a bunch of upcoming US tour dates. None for Chicago yet, and I’m afraid it’s because they will probably be at Lollapalooza. I’ve banned myself from outdoor music festivals because my anxiety just cannot handle that shit, but I might have to make an exception for them.

    • Maybe they’ll do an after show! I have tickets to Pitchfork and Riot Fest but refuse to go near lolla. It’s too much. And my general strategy is to not go for the whole time or else I’d be miserable.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Pitchfork is definitely the least annoying of the Chicago festivals. I think they changed the location for Riot Fest since I last went – the one I went to had a TERRIBLE layout. Despite my overwhelming day to day anxiety, I almost never have a true panic attack, but the muddy bottleneck crowds gave me one that day.

  5. hotspur says:

    Saturday was a successful day of nerdly gaming. But I got home late and hadn’t slept much the previous few nights, so Sunday morning I totally failed to get out of bed. I kept waking up for long enough to read one website on my phone, then conking back out. Finally at 3 pm, I managed to stay awake reading a book for 2 hours. Still in bed. So I didn’t actually get up until 5. Then I made breakfast.

    Of course this meant I was doomed to be awake forever. I tried to make myself useful — I wrote about vampires till 1 am, then watched a couple movies, including the 1971 Italian murder movie I had picked out (Black Belly of the Tarantula! Not 100% recommended), and finally went to sleep at 4:45. So I actually accomplished my Sunday agenda, but I am now hosed by tiredness. Maybe tonight is just laundry night?

    • Tonight is my laundry night, too. It’s a good Monday activity.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Just finished a load of laundry, and intend to do more later tonight. Monday Funday!

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Considering it is 9:00 pm and I still haven’t started that second load, I guess I’m extending the fun to Tuesday!

        • hotspur says:

          I did no laundry. Which means I gotta do it tonight or tomorrow, or The Crisis begins.

    • old man fatima says:

      Ugh, my tenants did something to my washing machine and the spin only works about 10% of the time now, and it’s a total crapshoot! I had a repair guy in and he said I can either keep putting it on spin until it works or buy a new machine, but it’s not really fixable. So laundry takes me one hundred years now, because I have to keep putting it on spin only, and then coming back to see if it actually spun, over and over and over again. I can’t wait for the weather to get nice and I can just bring sopping wet clothes outside and hang them on the line!! Fuck you, laundry!

  6. It was good! Concert Friday, drinks Saturday, and a hot tub party Sunday. The hot tub thing was ridiculous. It’s a “bar” at a hotel that my friend rented. A single hot tub and a private bar. Fun but it got too hot and I ended up getting a wine headache.

    Sunday night I saw Logan. I give it a solid B, mostly because I thought the last third was a little too typical super hero and all the stuff at the farm was kind of gratuitous and unnecessary. All the acting was superb and Xavier’s story was especially great. Love Patrick Stewart and his level of professionalism that he brings to everything.

  7. Flanny says:

    It’s me, flanny. I am in Thailand waiting for my friend to wake up so i can turn on a light. It is bonkers lovely here and SO MANY CATS! I’ve seen a zillion cats, no monleys. We went canoeing and i think maybe it is my calling.

    • old man fatima says:

      We took Chompsky on a canoe this summer and we were so worried about her capsizing us, but woops she didn’t get a chance because former Fatiman capsized us like 2 feet from shore! Canoes are great, though. When I’m back in Ontario, we should canoe out to meet each other in the middle of Lake Huron (no we shouldn’t, that sounds very dangerous)

    • hotspur says:

      If you can get a photo of a monley, do it! Monleys are rare.

  8. old man fatima says:

    This weekend was exhausting, but my house will be ready to list by next week! I’m so happy! I thought it would take months, but my beautiful perfect parents are such amazing workhorses, they got it ship shape in no time. All I really have left to do is refinish the floors (which I will do this coming weekend) and unpack the last few bits, and hang art on the walls. But all of the bad stuff is done and knock on wood I think I’ve found all of the poop! Although every time I think that, I find more poop! But the house smells normal now and I can’t imagine where else it could be (but I also couldn’t have imagined any of the places it actually was, so… who knows?)

  9. Erika says:

    The boyfriend and I did a double feature on Saturday, something I used to do a lot before adulting took over my life. We saw Get Out and Logan; both were excellent. Get Out is definitely more of a conversation starter. It’s really subversive on numerous levels. I’m really impressed it got made at all.

Comments are closed.