So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was pretty good! Work was very quiet and I got a lot done, and the rain washed my car for me. Plus I bought myself fancy smoked salmon for dinner. Counterpoint: I found the first spider of the year in my apartment.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. collin0truckasaurus says:

    My day has been tough – I’m just really really tired and sluggish and have no energy or motivation for anything. I went to bed early last night so maybe I’ll try to go to bed even earlier today.

  2. catweazle says:

    Work has been a real shitshow for the last few weeks and I am growing less and less able to deal with it every day. We have this one particular new editor who keeps fucking up and trying to do things he hasn’t been trained on and we keep telling him over and over “Don’t do that, ask if you’re not sure about something, check with someone before you start working on something” but he won’t stop. Also it’s just very busy and everybody is worn out and we have four fewer people than usual because of some firings. MAKE IT STOP PLEASE!

    I bought a ticket for Hedwig and the Angry Inch like a month ago thinking that work would have calmed down enough by now that the idea of going out on a Tuesday night wouldn’t make me want to die. Womp womp! But I decided to make an evening of it and took myself out for a fancy steak dinner complete with an overpriced cocktail and creme brulee for dessert. I had like an hour to kill after dinner before I had to be at the theater and I was just kind of wandering around downtown and found myself in the middle of a march to the Trump building. It was kind of a small march unfortunately but I got some good chanting in. There was this possibly drunk white dude wearing a colors-of-the-Irish-flag feather boa who started shouting about Benghazi and how the Irish were slaves and I was like “Not today, dude” so when he started yelling “WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IF THERE WERE NO POLICE THOUGH????” (in response to a speaker talking about private prisons and mass incarceration) I said “You would get punched in the face like you deserve.” He got all smarmy and was like “Come on then, take a swing!” but he slinked off like a minute later so I’m gonna take credit for that one.

    I have seen the Hedwig movie like a dozen times but have never seen the stage show. It was good! The dude playing Hedwig wasn’t great though. He didn’t really have the flexibility to pull off any good kicks or jumps and seemed a little stiff in his heels, and his delivery on some really good jokes was flat which was disappointing. The actual music parts were awesome though. My favorite part was that there was a lady sitting in my row who was really scandalized by all the sex jokes and kept whispering “Oh my god!” every time Hedwig talked about dicks. What did you think you were seeing???

    • catweazle says:

      Oh also I wanted to do the strike but because of the way my job works I’d have been really fucking over a lot of people so I am participating by not spending any money today.

  3. FRQ says:

    Last night I went to see Thundercat in concert, and he was excellent, as usual. About an hour into the show I started feeling tired, and felt bad that I was an old man that wanted to leave before the show ended. However, I was comforted by the fact that all of my other friends, who are younger than I am, left before me, as well as a bunch of other people. I’ll take what I can.

    Work is, well, work. It’s still a fine job, and I’m sure this is a far more favorable environment to be in than many others. That being said, I’m kind of getting tired of it. A lot of my newer tasks have been monotonous as shit. I understand that I’m the one with the most time on my hands, but it doesn’t make the work any less mind numbing. I’ve been job searching for the past few months, but only casually, as I didn’t have a sense of urgency to find something. If the pace of tedium keeps up, I may have to ramp up my efforts.

  4. Day update: we’re having a major windstorm (it’s sunny and beautiful out, otherwise), lost power three times at work, and half the stoplights were out on my way home. That was fun.

  5. What a day! 7am workout that kicked my ass but with a very encouraging instructor. Then all the ladies in my office wore red, did volunteer work, and talked about how to be better about lifting us up in a man’s world. Then I left early and braved 35 mph winds to bike with a bunch of awesome ladies. Now I’m exhausted and looking at my grad school application, because I’m going to try to go to grad school!

  6. martinmegz says:

    I made a snowman then I floated in a mineral pool on my back under the stars. For dinner I ate what must surely be the worst Mexican food ever made but I got faced off a margarita the size of my face so it was okay.

  7. Flanny says:

    This may be my last ever comment because i have a weird bite/rash on my ankle, but a monkey ate out of my hand this morning so i have lived a full life.

    • Sergeant Tibbs says:

      But it looks like you haven’t spotted your first monley yet, so I’m really hoping you’ll pull through!

  8. Sergeant Tibbs says:

    I just finished my first Georgette Heyer book after seeing the name pop up in many places (including from our very own blog mom) and it was great! She’s so witty. I read some reviews that said she’s like a cross between Jane Austen and P.G. Wodehouse. So, does that mean I should start reading P.G. Wodehouse too? I just imagine it being endless tapping of canes and monocles popping along with dialogue like, “What what. Tally ho, good chap!” but I really have no idea, maybe Gnidrah can shed some light on this.

Leave a Reply

