So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was good, barring my drive home from work–and even that wasn’t as bad as I was expecting, given that the plows had just gone by. But we’re still caught in a minor snowpocalypse, and unless the forecast for tomorrow (meaning today, since I’m writing this on Tuesday night) proves grossly inaccurate, I don’t think I’m going anywhere.

EDIT: It is now Wednesday, and I did indeed stay home from work to avoid dying in a snowdrift, so this post has been updated to a SNOW DAY OPEN THREAD and I’m posting it now. If you don’t have a real snow day today, please have one in spirit.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. Kate says:

    We have over 2 feet. Largest amount ever to fall in one day here. We couldn’t open the front door! Blerg. Yesterday we just ate and did some computer work. Today the men ventured out to work. Still waiting to hear if they got there ok. I’m staying put. Oh they just texted that they arrived safely. I can breathe now.

  2. catweazle says:

    No snow day for me. It snowed a lot yesterday but the sidewalks weren’t as bad as I expected except for the layer of ice underneath the new snow. Work finally seems to be calming down (knock on wood) which is good because I need to get my shit together packing-wise (I am moving exactly two weeks from today oh my god I’m not ready!!!). I didn’t do any last night because I was tired and went to bed at 8PM after having a Facebook argument with a relative of a high school friend who was complaining that people won’t shut up about slavery and how they should be talking about how much better things are now instead. Oh Facebook!

    Today has been good so far because I found out I won a monthly work award for the best catch made during proofreading (which is like 50% of our job) so I get some extra money on my next paycheck, just in time to spend way too much on movers. Also I just signed up for an Amazon credit card which I think is not a mistake? I hope? Anyway I got a $70 gift card for signing up and bought some shit immediately including Brooklyn Nine-Nine season 3 which I’m excited to rewatch.

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    No snow day for me but it is pretty cold. Today I’m having lunch with our new EVP because I won our dept’s Oscar pool (which also had a cash prize!) by guessing La La Land in every category. I’m very excited and anxious about it because he seems like a really great manager in line with my managerial philosophies (which is a vast departure from current leadership…) and I’m excited to get to know him and have him get to know me (especially before I’m about to be out for 3 months…). I’ll write back after and let you know how it goes!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      My lunch was really good. I talked about myself enough that I think he got a good sense of who I am and I tried to convey that I get bored easily because I’m a quick learner so I like to be challenged (aka please make my boss give me more work to do!) and we talked a lot about the future of our business and where he sees our dept fitting into that. He told me I asked a lot of tough questions and I said that I wasn’t trying to, I thought we were just talking, so I don’t know if that was good or bad. Then at the end he tried to high five me and I tried to shake his hand and that was funny but very awkward because I’m awkward.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Everything is just crazy stressful right now. MOST of my stress is caused by me – carelessness, procrastination, avoidance. I swear I keep trying to buckle down, be a more responsible adult, etc., but I continue to stay up too late or put something off until later. I just cannot seem to break my bad habits and patterns. Which just causes more stress! And knowing exactly what I need to do to fix a lot of the problems in my life, but still fucking up and NOT fixing them makes it even worse.

    I’m going to post something upbeat now to counteract the negativity of that top paragraph:
    The sun is shining. I have Lindt chocolates in my fridge.

  5. mikaelajm says:

    I have a non-snow related question for LA Monsters! Do you have any Long Beach recommendations? I’ll be there for a wedding this weekend, and will have lots of time on Friday and Saturday to explore/eat/etc.

    • hotspur says:

      Long beach coffee shops: Viento y Agua or The Library. Drinks: The Stache Bar. I have heard good things about Beer Belly but never been. Food: Maybe Last Cafe, Roscoe’s Chicken & Waffles, or someplace Mexican.

      The Belmont shore section of 2nd Street, generally.

      There’s the Queen Mary which I have somehow never toured. The aquarium is a good one if you are into aquariums (aquaria?). Also, you can hop on the train and get to Downtown in about an hour-ish. That opens up more options, if you are in town for more than just the weekend. What day is the wedding?

      • mikaelajm says:

        Amazing!!! Thanks so much, hotspur!

        I get in Friday afternoon. The wedding’s Saturday evening, and I leave Sunday morning. It’s a high school friend’s wedding, and our little group of friends is all going, so I’ll have to see what they’re up for and whether they want to venture downtown.

        • hotspur says:

          Short trip! Maybe stay in Long Beach since there’s so little time, unless you think of a specific thing you want to see/do elsewhere. Oh, also: I’m told Ryan Gosling’s bar at the end of La La Land is in Long Beach? Or the bar that inspired it is? I am vague on this, but if it intrigues you, Google around, it’ll prolly turn up.

  6. FRQ says:

    No snow here, but thanks to a fish sandwich, I ended up getting nauseated shortly after work. Normally I would just put up with it, but I am supposed to meet a friend for his birthday dinner, and I really want to go. He selected a great restaurant, but there isn’t a damn thing I can eat there. I’m hoping to rally in the next hour or so, so I can at least sip on some ginger ale at the bar like a sad sack.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I hope you were able to go to dinner!

      I seem to remember you trying different diets to calm some stomach troubles. Check out this device that can tell you which foods that are easiest to digest for you. I’m considering buying this thing even though I know stress is one of the main factors in my stomach problems –

      https://foodmarble.com/

  7. Commentatrix says:

    I am so stressed out! I am supposed to move on Sunday, but my movers fell through so now I am scrambling to find a new solution. The OK thing is that I could postpone my move-out if absolutely necessary, but I was really hoping not to have to pay two rents due to poor planning. I’m also trying to sell a bunch of my stuff before now and Saturday, and that’s not going as well as I had hoped, and I already lowered my asking price to 50% of what I originally paid. Also I’ve been temporarily transferred to a different team at work because they are struggling to keep up, but my child boss didn’t even ask me because she’s a straight-up saboteur and everyone is gaslighting me about it. I know that sounds crazy, but I swear it’s true!

Leave a Reply

