It’s Project Club Time!

My goal last week was to relax, and let me tell you: mission accomplished! And I still managed to be reasonably productive, probably thanks to the longer days. Losing an hour sucks, but sunsets at 7:30 instead of 5:00 definitely don’t.

This week I want to get back in the writing groove, because I’ve been slacking. I also need to follow up with some friends on plans we keep meaning to make.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to It’s Project Club Time!

  1. taoreader says:

    Hi, I’m popping in here after a long time away! All The Things happened to me. I’ve been following a few items on here. But I missed you guys!

    I want to get in on Project Club Time! I have so many.

    The thing about writing is that writing is a mofo. I saw Steve Almond talk once and he said “Let’s face it, writing is agony,” and since I’m a memoirist, I shook my head furiously in the affirmative. Then he said, “It’s agony because it’s a process of constantly making decisions.” And he’s right! I was like, yeah, decisions suck!

    So when I feel like writing is just toooo hard, I remember that it’s just decision-making and I should just make some bad writing decisions.

    • martinmegz says:

      Hi! What things have happened???

      • taoreader says:

        The short version: last year my husband said he wanted a divorce, and two months later my dog died. My life was a country music song. and I completed an MFA in Creative Writing, so that was great. I’m just in this weird, tough life transition that I haven’t figured out yet.

        (Don’t tell anyone, but losing my dog was harder than losing the man. Is there something wrong with me?)

  2. catweazle says:

    I have still done very little packing which is majorly stupid. My goal is to have cleaned out my bedroom closet AND coat closet and packed anything from them that I don’t need in the immediate future by the end of this weekend. And that should give me a better idea of how many more boxes I’m going to need. I did book movers so that’s out of the way at least.

  3. martinmegz says:

    Ugh can I do a belated How Was Your Day? You can’t stop me SEE YOU IN COURT!

    So my office is going out today to celebrate our success last year. We’re taking the afternoon for work-sponsored drinks, food, aquarium and arcade time. This sounds great to me! Free margaritas and skee ball! Yet I’m the only person besides the boss who’s excited. My coworkers would rather sit in the office and stare at their computers than get out and have fun, and it’s annoying that nobody else is hyped for this. I mean, they can be however they want I guess, but it’s a buzzkill and I don’t get it.

    • mikaelajm says:

      V, v good use of SEE YOU IN COURT.

      And I don’t remotely understand how your coworkers could not be excited! I’m excited on their behalfs!!!

      • martinmegz says:

        The boss gave us each $20 for games. I got quarters and started playing skee ball, a Terminator shooting game, Pac Man and a basketball toss. My coworkers put the money in their pockets and sat outside until my boss came and told me everyone wanted to leave. I think this is probably the last time we’ll get to do something fun.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I have over 20 tasks that need to be done by Saturday. I think I’m going to ask my boss for a day off tomorrow to give myself some extra time.

  5. hotspur says:

    Last night I executed Project: More Space Now. I flipped over my couch and removed a support beam, so I can fit a plastic under-bed storage container there. BAM, huge success! A short, easy task I thought up six weeks go, finally done. (Although there is a nonzero chance I just accelerated the demise of my couch. I mean, that beam was maybe needed for actual support. But maybe not!)

  6. Erika says:

    I have a really bad habit of letting my projects snowball to the point that I feel paralyzed because I don’t know what to work on. So, I’m whittling my main projects down to: looking for a job/working on training for a job; losing weight. And, if I have time, I’ll reupholster my two chairs that still need it.

  7. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I didn’t get to write this yesterday because I had to leave work suddenly to pick up my kid (she’s fine, apparently she threw up but by the time I got to her, she really seemed fine to me – only problem is they wouldn’t take her at daycare today even though she’s 100% better).
    Last night we watched a show where the lady went into labor and I started to panic that we should put together all of our hospital stuff just in case. This is stupid because I’m 7 weeks away from a scheduled c-section, so the likelihood of going into labor before that is very very low. Nonetheless, I’m going to put all of the stuff we need in a bag just in case. Can’t hurt and then we won’t have to worry about it when we get closer.
    Still have to finish decorating the nursery and find all the newborn stuff that’s in storage from the first one.

  8. taoreader says:

    If packing your stuff gives you peace of mind, then that’s the thing to do!

Leave a Reply

