How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was nice and relaxing, and I got a lot of errands done. I also gave myself multiple headaches by playing with my new VR headset, which I got because I just upgraded my phone and can now watch 360-degree videos, and because it was really cheap. VR is fun! I went paragliding in the Alps! I also got nauseous.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. flanny says:

    Ooh, I got a VR set with my new phone too, and it ALSO gave me a headache. I haven’t touched it since. 😦

    This weekend was all jet lag all the time. During my few waking hours, I watched a couple of marathons of Match Game, and I was so tired I laughed until I cried at a lot of the jokes. I drove to my mom’s yesterday with the goal of picking up the cat and meeting my new niece, but I’d kind of forgotten that I just spent two weeks in a country where I couldn’t drink the water, so I decided to wait to cuddle the baby. I took today off to drive the cat back to my place and it was a gross disaster. Now it’s only quarter to two in the afternoon and between the cat stress and my jet lag, I’m exhausted like I’ve been up for days. Any tips for conquering jet lag, world-traveler monsters?

    • catweazle says:

      People will tell you to just try to stick to a normal sleep schedule but I say sleep as much as you possibly can. I don’t think either method helps in the long run but my method is much more pleasant.

      • flanny says:

        I have been sleeping basically whenever I feel like it, but that mean that I slept all yesterday afternoon until basically 2:30am when I was wide awake for two hours. I fell back asleep only to wake up for good at 6:30 because of the cat! I’m going to try my hardest not to nap this afternoon, but I really want to. Why is life so hard?

        • FRQ says:

          Melatonin is supposed to help with jetlag. Stay up until you want your body to go to bed, then take it about 20-30 minutes before you actually get in bed. There’s also some sort of 16 hour fast that is supposed to work, but that involves not eating, which I personally dislike.

    • martinmegz says:

      What was the best thing you did, saw, and ate on the trip?

      • flanny says:

        The best things (plural for all of these) I did were kayaking in Railay Bay, bathing some elephants, being lazy on the beach, and shopping at Chatuchak Market in Bangkok.
        The best things I saw were the Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho, Wat Chedi Luang in Chaing Mai, and so many cats! Wat Pho and the Grand Palace in Bangkok were unbelievably beautiful. Detail upon detail upon detail.
        And the best things I ate were Thai pancakes with Nutella on the beach, some amazing Pad See Ew (the noodles basically disovled in my mouth), koi soi from a road-side cart in Bangkok, and deep-fried bananas for both dessert and breakfast.

  2. catweazle says:

    I hung out with the babyyyyy! He is turning into an adorable little greedo. I brought him a stuffed Peter Rabbit and a book about a bunny and he looked at them for two seconds and then went to inspect the bag I brought them in and said “More more more more” (this is one of two words he can say at this point). Sorry, baby! Just two gifts this time! He is also in an exceptionally giggly phase at the moment so it was a fun afternoon.

    I also did a fair amount of packing. I donated a lot of clothes earlier this year and thought that packing my closet would be pretty simple, but I actually ended up with three bags of garbage and four garbage bags’ worth of stuff to donate. This is what happens when you don’t move for six years I guess! My bedroom is pretty much done at this point so aside from my front closet and storage space it should be fairly smooth sailing from here on (knock on wood).

    • catweazle says:

      Oh also the baby is a total dictator right now. He can’t say “all done” but he kind of hums it and any time I was doing something he wanted me to stop (examples: singing and dancing) he would hum “all done” over and over until I stopped.

  3. hotspur says:

    I have a ton of writing I need to do before I can leave for Ireland, so I spent the weekend cleaning my apartment.

    • flanny says:

      I think that’s best. I didn’t do a very good job cleaning before I left, but luckily I’m too tired to care very much.

    • taoreader says:

      Cleaning becomes crucially important when one has writing to do.

    • gnidrah says:

      I know Ireland is not the UK, but pop in and say hi should you find yourself stopping in on this godforsaken isle. Also, if you happen to go to the Battle of the Boyne site, let me know as my friend just started there as a tour guide! He can quite literally show you the ropes!

      • hotspur says:

        Ah, excellent! I have no specific plan to go the Battle of Boyne site, but I won’t be far from it, so who knows! Meanwhile, I might technically be in the UK, as I will probably cut across it to save time on the drive from Dublin to Donegal.

        • gnidrah says:

          You’ll know when you cross that border… The sense of gloom will be overwhelming…! (we start the process of leaving the EU on 29th March; NI voted to remain; etc etc) Ah what a great trip it will be!

  4. taoreader says:

    I was tired, so I watched an unholy amount of Netflix and Amazon. I saw The Dressmaker with Kate Winslet–so absurd and great! And I just now started watching Luther, which everyone else saw 85 years ago.

    Favorite series (serieses?) on Netflix lately–Glitch (SO good), Marcella, and The 3%.

  5. martinmegz says:

    My trainer told me to take ice baths for my leg and foot pain, and that made me decide to clean my bathtub which turned into a three-day cleaning binge of my entire apartment, so I really went down a rabbit hole. I went to the gym on Sunday then stopped to get food and the lady assumed I had ran the LA marathon so I just let her believe it and for a few precious moments, I was a person who runs marathons.

    • gnidrah says:

      Oh my god I love this. I have done it too. I got stopped at the station once and someone mistook me for a trainer and I did very little to disabuse them of that notion… For my few precious moments, I was a lithe goddess. It. Was. Great.

  6. FRQ says:

    It was busy and exhausting, but mostly fun. Quick follow up from my last post: I did end up with some stomach bug, and it made for a terrible evening of nausea, but by the next evening, I was mostly okay. I still can’t eat food like I normally do, but at least I don’t feel like shit overall.

    A friend was visiting from out of town, and I did a ton of tourist stuff. Friday night we went to the local art museum, which stayed open until 10pm for a special event. The next day we hit up a couple of museums, plus took a tour of the CNN studios, i.e. Fake News Capital of America. We had an early dinner at a cool mixed-use retail space, then met up with some other friends. They were at a new place called Round 1, which is basically like Dave and Busters, if Dave and Busters actually gave a shit about curating their video game collection. I had a blast, and it reminded me of a time when arcades were fun (also when I had time to play them). The next day I drove him around some other cool parts of town, then had dinner at a great sandwich place. By the end I was exhausted, but he said he had a great time so I’m happy it all paid off.

  7. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    This weekend was super stressful, and now my body is physically reacting to all that stress by making me incredibly sick to my stomach. I was actually looking forward to going to work today, but had to use a sick day instead. 😦 The Xanax my doctor gave me is no match for my anxiety I guess.

    The good news is that I got a lot done, and that today is the first day of spring!

  8. The best part of my weekend was seeing the new King Kong. Everything else was tooth pain and nausea. So my weekend was:

  9. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I didn’t want to write this yesterday because I was having a bad day, but my weekend was really great! My kid is very cute these days and we got to relax a lot and I’m getting excited for the new baby to arrive! (“Arrive” is a weird way to put it…he’s already “here” just not totally “here”)

Leave a Reply

