It’s Spring Cleaning Time!

This week got away from me; I don’t even remember what my projects were. Still tell me about yours, but lets also share spring cleaning tips. Do you spring clean? What are the areas you like to focus on? I always get an itch to clear out my closets around this time of year.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It’s Spring Cleaning Time!

  1. catweazle says:

    I just cleaned out my closet big time and my tip is to drink a Guinness while you’re doing it and take lots of breaks to play Candy Crush.

  2. taoreader says:

    Floors, like, making sure the baseboards are vacuumed or wiped, and cleaning underneath furniture. I usually find something I’d lost eight months earlier.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I used this checklist as a base to develop a new cleaning routine. I modified a few things, and plan to start next week…

    https://www.realsimple.com/home-organizing/cleaning/house-cleaning-schedule

    • martinmegz says:

      I’m not doing any of that daily stuff! I will never make my bed, that is one of the perks of being alone. Now, make the weekly list monthly (except for laundry of course), and the monthly list biannual, and this is program I can follow.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Yeah, this was just a jumping off point. I think making the bed is a pointless chore.

        I also will probably never have to scrub the stovetop since the only thing I use the stove for is to boil water for coffee or pasta.

        I don’t think I have ever flipped or vacuumed a mattress, so the likelihood of doing that every 3 to 6 months is hilariously low.

  4. FRQ says:

    The only spring cleaning activity I partake in is the semi-annual Swapping Of The Wardrobes, where I take all of the shorts, t-shirts, and other assorted warmer weather apparel out of the plastic bins beneath my bed and hang them up in my closet. Conversley I take my sweaters, pajama pants, winter accessories, and shirts that look like shit unless they are under sweaters and put them in the aforementioned bins. I usually wait until I have a new podcast episode waiting in the wings so I can listen to it as I go about this wearisome task.

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I find cleaning happens for me all at once or not at all. I’m really bad at cleaning. We have a lady who comes to clean every so often and she’s wonderful and worth every penny and really eliminates the need for yearly deep cleaning. I try to go through my closet when I have the chance and certainly go through my kid’s clothes when she’s in the next size up. Always nice to donate that stuff (especially if you have women’s business clothing – take that to a women’s shelter so they can use them for job interviews, etc). I also recommend giving your car a deep clean (inside & out). Here in Atlanta, the best time is after the yellow dust ends in late spring, because you’ve got to get rid of that nonsense, but other parts of the country, the end of winter is probably a better time.

    Need cleaning advice: we have a rug in our living room that used to be grey and white and is now basically just brownish grey and brownish white due to normal walking and pet/baby general dirtiness. We may end up calling a steam cleaning service, but before we do that, any other rug cleaners we should try? It’s a pretty cheap rug, but I’d still rather not replace it.

  6. martinmegz says:

    I recently found a hot tip on the ol’ internet for getting stains out of my tub that were unaffected by cleaning products and scrubbing: oven cleaner! And it really worked! I think it can damage certain types of tubs though so def look into that or do a spot test.

  7. flanny says:

    I need to treat myself to a new vaccuum cleaner. My current one is three years old and is clogged with long lady hairs and now cat hairs. I have to go over sections three or four times, and even then I’m not confident. Maybe when I get my tax return. I’M LIVING MY FULLEST LIFE!

  8. martinmegz says:

    Theresa, have you seen this Chris Evans interview? http://www.esquire.com/entertainment/a53656/chris-evans-fights-back/

    He seems so great. This is my favorite part, he’s talking about meeting with Ben Affleck for a role he didn’t end up getting:

Comments are closed.