So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was pretty good–work went by fast and I had an unexpected burst of energy when I got home and took care of a bunch of chores. And I think–I think–that spring is finally here, because it’s just non-stop bird-yelling over here. Of course, now that I’ve said that, it’ll snow tomorrow.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. Catweazle says:

    I have been up since 3am and am in the process of moving as we speak! Arrived at the new place about 30 minutes ago and was surprised to find my landlady and her brother still working on my unit. So my dreams of taking a very long nap as soon as the movers leave have been crushed.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’ve been in meetings all day, and work is about to get insanely busy. I mean, some of that is on me because I have been procrastinating, but we have two huge events coming up. One in May and one in 2018, but the planning for the 2018 event is going to need to start now. And I will also have to design a new website for it. This is in addition to a bunch of other projects, including a logo design and budget planning. Yikes! It’s a good thing I love my job.

  3. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I’m only going to talk about the positive things! My lunch was pretty good! (chicken & beef & au gratin potatoes) I didn’t have any doctors’ appointments today! I get to leave work later! My kid is adorable and every morning when it’s time to leave she says “Jeep!” and we have to disappoint her by putting her in my car and it’s so cute! We trimmed her bangs and they’re a little too short, like little kid short and it’s crazy cute. I only have 3 more weeks & 2 days of work left!

  4. FRQ says:

    My day was fine, but I only came here to post this excellent Cristiano Ronaldo bust.

  5. flanny says:

    Oh you know, it was a Wednesday.

    Can I complain about something real quick? So in the past week or so it’s been pointed out to me multiple times that I look young and it’s really bothering me. I’m not one of those people who is always having a 29th birthday. I’m 35 and I want to be treated like it because I’ve lived for 35 years. I work at a college and one of my coworkers (in her 70s) was asking me since I’m “young” what item a college student might like. Look, I haven’t been a college student for over a decade; I know just as much about what a college student might like as any other person who works at a college. Then today one of my other colleagues, who is maybe in her early forties, glibly said that my 28-year-old coworker was 12 and I was 15. No. No. We are full-grown adults.One of my other coworkers told me to comfort me, “I hated looking young until I started not looking quite as young anymore.” But I don’t necessarily hate looking young; it’s “better” than the opposite. But I hate being called young because I feel like it invalidates the whole life and all the life experiences I’ve had until now. I think part of the issue is that I’m the youngest in my family and so I’m treated like the baby around my family and I certainly don’t want to be treated like a baby at work. I think part of it is also that I worry that people don’t take me seriously in general, so then people saying I’m 15 or refering to me as “bright” as if I’m a precoscious third grader just sticks in my craw! In a related complaint, a few weeks ago a visitor to campus (an older man who I had communicated with and who has seen my title in my email signature) asked me in front of students if I was a secretary and I was like, “NO I AM A SENIOR DIRECTOR!” Like, what does a lady have to do around here to be respected as a fully functioning human?

    • flanny says:

      Also, Happy Birthday Amy Sedaris, my forever boo. Hope you treat yourself to something nice from your favorite store!

    • As someone who also seems to surprise people when I reveal my actual age, may I suggest being meaner? It seems to work for me!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I was at a store a while back, and this guy who seemed pretty “off” asked me if I was still in high school. Then the kid behind the counter called me ma’am. ???

      I also started getting AARP information and hearing aid ads in the mail when I turned 30. WHY?

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I agree with this complaint whole-heartedly! It’s garbage for people to dismiss everything you do because you’re “young”. When in fact, all you are is younger than they are. How would that coworker who called you 15 like it if you were like, “well you’re like 90, so…”? She’d probably be pretty mad and she’d have every right to be and it’s the same thing! It’s dismissive and patronizing and passive-aggressively trying to make them seem more valuable.
      My boss has recently come to terms with the fact that he can’t read small type and makes comments about it all the time in kind of uncomfortable ways. This is happening at the same time that our industry (and our dept in a lot of ways) are facing this old v young, new v old, etc. garbage and it’s like he’s making it his personal quest to make sure everyone knows that he’s not insignificant because he’s old. Dude, no one thought that, we think you’re insignificant because your ideas are tired and your attitude is difficult.

    • taoreader says:

      That is so annoying! I know people pull that shit because of their own insecurities, but still.

      I have the same problem, on I’m an over-40 who looks 30. There is a distinct and palpable difference in how people treat me–especially women–when they find out how old I am. Suddenly my opinion matters! I’m less threatening! It’s so bizarre. If one more lady says to me, “Honey, just wait until you have hot flashes/memory loss/aches and pains/ blah blah blah I’m going to freak out on someone. BEEN THERE LADY.

    • FRQ says:

      I grew a beard to combat that problem, but your mileage may vary.

Comments are closed.