Tuesday TV Talk

I don’t have a whole lot on my plate, other than the return of Brooklyn Nine-Nine this evening.  How about you?

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. catweazle says:

    I finished Big Little Lies! Who wants to talk about it? I don’t want to spoil anybody.

    I also started watching The Good Place. I like it a lot! The concept is fun and I enjoy all of the characters, although I don’t really know how they can do more than one season on this premise.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Overall, I thought Big Little Lies was fine. I figured out who Jane’s attacker was as soon as they showed what happened to her, and I thought it was pretty easy to figure out who the school bully was. I definitely did not know who was going to die and who was going to be involved, so I still found the finale suspenseful.

      The line delivery of “Your property manager called” was terrifying, and Nicole Kidman’s performance was very good.

      • catweazle says:

        It was obvious from the way they shot Jane’s flashbacks that the attacker was going to be a character we would recognize but I was pulling for it being Nathan since that guy sucks so hard (and it made zero sense that Bonnie would ever marry him). Like obviously Perry sucked worse but he was already villainous enough that we would be satisfied with his death without adding that on. I was very glad that Perry was the one who got killed though. In the scene where he tells her the property manager called I just started chanting “Kill him!” every time he was on screen. I thought Jane would have been the one who pushed him down the stairs but having it be Bonnie was also good. I couldn’t quite buy them all accepting Renata into their club at the end since she was such an asshole the whole time. Also how is it that they find out Max was the bully and suddenly Renata is like “Whatevs, that’s fine”????? Like when she thought it was Ziggy she wanted him sent to six-year-old jail but since it’s fancy Celeste’s kid it’s nbd now? My last complaint is that they should have gotten somebody with a voice that could plausibly come out of Adam Scott’s face to do the singing for that Elvis song. It was so weird to watch.

        I nitpick but I really liked the show and was very satisfied with the ending. Good job HBO!

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Yeah, the whole beach scene at the end felt a little forced/cheesy, and I agree that Renata’s reaction to the actual bully seemed way too toned down. I was surprised that Bonnie was the one who delivered the fatal push. According to a review I read, in the book, Bonnie has a back story that leads up to that a little better.

          Also, what was with the shot of a bunch of the kids looking at a dead animal? I thought the show tried too hard with some of the “artsy” shots, and ultimately didn’t think the interviews with the other parents added a whole lot to the story.

        • Commentatrix says:

          Yeah, or like, a singing voice that sounded remotely like his speaking voice!

        • catweazle says:

          It also didn’t make sense that the parents were interviewed about the Madeleine/Renata drama since it had literally nothing to do with the murder. Like they kept hinting that the orientation day incident and all the mom wars would be the reason somebody was murdered but it definitely wasn’t!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I can’t decide if the music obsessed kid was cute or obnoxious. I think it’s awesome that she was really into good music – the soundtrack on this show is pretty great. But if my 6 year old kid said, “Let me pick out this obscure Elvis song for you,” I’m pretty sure I would be very annoyed by that.

    • Commentatrix says:

      I’ll talk about Big Little Lies! I was really on the fence about it at first, but I kept watching and finally got into it. The ending was satisfying even though my theory that Adam Scott’s character was secretly a cross-dresser (he overtly checks out women (their outfits?) throughout the series) was wrong.

      • flanny says:

        I didn’t watch this show, but I support your theory.

      • catweazle says:

        Well, I mean, it could be true and they just didn’t show it! I was really worried that they were going to reveal that he was sexually abusing Abigail and that was the reason she went to live with her dad (for a while I mistakenly thought that Abigail was the one who gets killed because I misread a tweet the day after the second-to-last episode aired) so I was relieved he was just a nice dude and good husband.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        There were multiple times I thought he was checking out his stepdaughter. I much prefer the theory of cross dresser vs. creepy stepdad.

      • martinmegz says:

        He was super creepy with the way he looked at the step daughter, I kept expecting that to turn into something.

    • catweazle says:

      Oh another thing about this show is that I had forgotten how good and likable an actress Reese Witherspoon is. Good job Reese!

    • catweazle says:

      Sorry I will stop replying to myself someday but AHHHH I was just looking at the IMDB page for this show and learned that Nathan was played by the dude who played David Clarke on Revenge!!! I knew I recognized him!

    • martinmegz says:

      I don’t think I’ve ever been so satisfied by a finale! That was amazing! Although I’m irritated now by how bitchy all those other parents were in the interviews given that someone just died, even if they didn’t know the circumstances. Also, it seems like such a clear-cut case of the guy dying while he was beating the shit out of his wife, which should have been reasonable defense so why did they have to lie about it? And why was that detective so obsessed that she followed them to the beach?

  2. nastyemu says:

    I didn’t realize B99 was back already!
    Girls is still good. Sunday’s episode would have made for a good series finale, but there’s still one more episode to go so hopefully it’s just as good.
    I’m on to season 2 of The Americans and it continues to be very very good. Saul started back up last night but we didn’t watch it yet. There’s too much good tv.

  3. Kate says:

    Anyone else watching Billions? There’s some pretty awesome acting going on in that series.

  4. martinmegz says:

    I would like to discuss a pressing issue: Why are so many TV shows set in Chicago? I’m not even talking about Dick Wolf’s 37 Chicago-themed shows. I can’t be bothered to make an extensive list, but rando shows like Superior Donuts and APB come to mind. Maybe it’s on my mind because I watch so much Happy Endings, but what is it about Chicago that makes it such a popular setting?

    • catweazle says:

      Maybe Rahm is behind it. His brother is a Hollywood guy after all! Plus it seems like the kind of stupid thing he would care about instead of like, schools.

    • flanny says:

      MAYBE YOU SHOULD VISIT AND DISCOVER FOR YOURSELF!!!!!!!! (That sounds aggressive, but should actually be read as enthusiastic.)

    • I can think of a few reasons – Illinois used to have a great tax credit program which made it appealing to shoot there because it was cheaper. It’s a big city without the weird New Yorkiness of New York and has a more middle America appeal than New York. I think that having a show set in New York City says a lot about the characters like, they’re trying to MAKE IT whereas Chicago has a lot of the same features but doesn’t necessarily have the same implications. It doesn’t have the same iconic scenery of New York so you can get away with filming somewhere else, like Vancouver and pass it off as Chicago.

    • hotspur says:

      I feel like 30 percent of the shows we discuss here are set in Stars Hollow.

Leave a Reply

