So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was good! I even went for a walk–OUTSIDE!!!–to take advantage of this sliver of time between winter and summer when it’s nice out but there aren’t any bugs. Plus I’m planning a vacation with my friend (we were originally thinking St. Augustine, Florida, as I mentioned in the comments yesterday, but after two unrelated incidents of friends very, very enthusiastically recommending Charleston, SC, instead, we’ve been swayed) and it’s put me in a good mood, which I need right now because I’m pretty sure I’ve developed a caffeine allergy and need to give it up.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Cute, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. Commentatrix says:

    The most recent season of Top Chef was set in Charleston, and there’s definitely a lot of good food in that city by the sound of it!

  2. flanny says:

    Every year at freshman orientation, the incoming freshmen put their handprints on banners, and then they go into storage for four years until I pull them our and hang them at a senior class event I run. Well, I got out the banners for this year’s seniors today and it was very emotional. So many names of people I love and will miss!

  3. catweazle says:

    My back is a lot better so I shouldn’t complain but when I’m at work it just like a mid-level ache all day long. I changed to a different chair with better support but all this sitting does not help. It also probably didn’t help that I put up curtains on like five different windows in my apartment in the last couple of days. I know I shouldn’t be doing too much unpacking and arranging of things until I’m totally better but I’m so sick of being surrounded by boxes! Plus my family might be coming over this weekend so I have to at least make it presentable.

    • martinmegz says:

      Excuse me but if your back hurts, you’re allowed to complain. There is no level of back pain low enough to not complain about. My friend recently had back surgery because he got to the point where he couldn’t stand up straight, and now he’s feeling so much better. Maybe you can seek a different doctor for a second opinion if yours is dismissive?

      • catweazle says:

        The chiropractor I went to was good and helped a lot but is very expensive so I’m just going to yoga this shit out. It was only when I was seeking muscle relaxers from a walk-in clinic that I ran into trouble (but I got them in the end!).

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      My boss approved me to get a Varidesk – https://www.varidesk.com/

      I have a medical condition that sometimes makes it uncomfortable to be seated, so I’m looking forward to having the option to stand or sit at my desk.

      • hotspur says:

        I kind of want one of those. Ever since supposedly sitting is fatal. I sit about 80% of my life. (90% if you account for how much shorter my life will be due to sitting.)

      • taoreader says:

        Please report back on how this desk works out!

  4. martinmegz says:

    I loved Charleston! It was the only bright point in my failed trip to see Pearl Jam in NC/SC thanks to the stupid NC bathroom bill that caused PJ to cancel the show last minute. I went to Middleton and Magnolia Plantations and just walking around downtown is fun. I recommend reading Pat Conroy’s South of Broad before you go – my mom sent it to me before my trip and it was really fun to show up with some knowledge of the area.

  5. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    My vow to have a productive mindset and a good attitude this week was quickly derailed, so I’m starting over – RESET*!

    *I’ve hit the reset button at least 3 times this week.

  6. FRQ says:

    Nothing exciting today, but this did come across my news feed

  7. Commentatrix says:

    My spirit is being slowly snuffed out at work, you guys. And my industry is so niche, that there aren’t a lot of other jobs out there, even though I’m constantly on the lookout. The latest thing is that I addressed a hostile workplace issue that I went through with my direct manager to our other boss, and she was very sympathetic and compassionate sounding when I explained to her what had happened, and even though she gave me this whole explanation about how really it was just a misunderstanding and partly her and another director’s fault for failing to follow up on some tangentially related stuff, she agreed to address the issue with the person in question on on one. A couple weeks later I asked her if she had had a chance to talk to this person, and she said not yet but that she would. Then that same day I wrote her this long email with the facts of the incident as I knew them, just to get it on “the record” and thanked her for helping, etc. I got no response for two weeks, then I followed up by e-mail again, to which she responded in this heavily business-speak e-mail to say, essentially, I already told you previously that the issue was addressed with all concerned parties, and I’ll ensure that communication will be made clearer going forward. Liiiiiiiiiiiiiike!!! That is some bullshit, amirite? Classic gaslighting but of course I had to be the one to apologize and be like I guess I must have misunderstood. This is the kind of shit that makes me want to go all Punisher on people’s asses.

    But in more fun and positive news, my bestie and I went to see Michelle Collins at the UCB, and she was in fine form indeed! A very hilarious show that I would gladly pay $7 to see again. All I’ll say is that a certain Emmy-winning NY actress’s e-mails to her housekeepers were procured and read out loud to our great pleasure. Paul Scheer showed up around half time and they literally just told funny stories on stage together. Delightful!

  8. taoreader says:

    I’m finally taking my car in to get the windshield replaced so yay for me! A stone hit it when driving through South Carolina in November and left a crack right in my field of vision.

    Re: St. Augustine and Charleston–both great places, though I also lean toward Charleston. Great food, great history, good walking town, lots of culture. But *do not* do the Fort Sumpter thing unless you’re a hard-core Civil War buff. It’s dated, there’s very little to see–almost no fort left–and so extremely biased in favor of the Confederate Army that it was actually annoying. And I enjoy Civil War history.

Comments are closed.