Tuesday TV Talk

I’ve been too busy freaking out over my audit this week, so my TV watching has taken a break.  Please tell us about what you’ve been watching.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I started watching Mad Men. I’m almost done with season 1, and I’m not crazy about it. There are a lot of things that interest me – the artwork, Joan, Peggy, and a couple of the guys on the team whose names I don’t remember. BUT, I hate Don Draper. I’m not sure if those are fighting words around here, but he is sleazy and boring at the same time.

    At least I now know the origin of this gif, which I’m pretty sure has popped up around here and Videogum for years….

    • catweazle says:

      Yeah Don is the worst. Never stopped hating him. I think the show is overrated but I liked it.

    • Don is also the reason I could ever get into it. I was interested in everyone but him.

    • FRQ says:

      I thought it was alright for the first couple of seasons, but I stuck with it and it really paid off. Probably some of the best dialogue ever written for television.

    • flanny says:

      Oh, everyone is totally terrible on Mad Men, but you get the satisfaction of feeling so smug while you’re watching.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Glad I’m not alone in my dislike of Draper. I plan to keep watching, but I think I expected it to be AMAZING, and at the moment, I think it’s good, but not great. The budget must be huge too – the sets, costumes, cars – it’s a visually stunning show.

        • Commentatrix says:

          I guess I’m alone here, but I feel really sorry for Don Draper so much of the time (even though he behaves horribly always). I guess I ultimately see him as tragically fucked up.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Yeah, from what I’ve learned of his character so far, he didn’t have the best childhood, etc. But after the THIRD affair in less than 15 episodes, my pity for him is basically nonexistent.

  2. catweazle says:

    I watched the series finale of The Vampire Diaries last night and I literally bawled for at least 30 minutes straight. MANY SPOILERS AHEAD! The last season was a little uneven and all the crap about Matt’s family suddenly being relevant to Mystic Falls history was really stupid but TVD really knows how to do finales. One thing that bothered me a bit was how hard they went on the “Katherine is the worst person of all time, she’s literally worse than the devil, let’s burn her with hellfire” thing. As I recall, the last episode she was in painted her in a pretty sympathetic light? And also she was a much more fun character than Elena so I didn’t like that bit (though I did appreciate that it meant Katherine was in the finale). They also overdid the Enzo Wan Kenobi thing over the last few episodes. Bonnie’s ending was super satisfying but would have been better without the Enzo shit. Speaking of Enzo though, after Stefan kills him everybody acts like this is the most unforgivable thing of all time even though JUST THIS SEASON Damon killed Tyler and everybody was 100% fine with him like two episodes later and also have they all forgotten that Enzo ripped Stefan’s heart out in that one season that ended with everybody dying/killing themselves and then being reborn when The Other Side collapsed or whatever that ridiculous reboot button was? Turnabout is fair play dudes.

    A complaint about the last couple of seasons as a whole: we’ve just reached Alaric’s first couple episodes in watching season 1 for the podcast and I can’t believe how much they ruined his character. He was so great up until the “My family ring turned me into a sleepwalking serial killer” plotline but then somehow he became almost Jeremy Gilbert levels of terrible! It was a big mistake to make him hate Damon. I know Bonnie had to be Damon’s new best friend and that was great but you can have more than one close friend! Also the whole thing with him and Caroline was real gross.

    BUT love is forever fan love you The Vampire Diaries and I am going to mail you a jar full of my tears!

  3. I finally finished this season of Grace & Frankie, which has taken a very Gilmore Girls-esque place in my heart as a show that’s funny and comfortingly low-stakes and easy to watch, and really nice to look at. I want Jane Fonda’s entire wardrobe, and June Diane Raphael continues to be the best person in the world.

  4. martinmegz says:

    I’m enjoying Imaginary Mary, mostly because Jenna Elfman is a gosh darn delight. But I have two other shows that I’m excited about right now. First, The Last Kingdom is back!!! Season 1 is on Netflix so you should def go watch it, and don’t give up on the first episode because it starts off cheesy but then it gets amazing. Season 2 is currently airing on BBC 2. Basically, a Saxon raised by Danes is a bridge between the two cultures and people are constantly going to war for land and silver. The main guy is a super intense warrior but he plays the role with a sense of humor and it’s great.

    I burned through all six episodes of the Amazon Original You Are Wanted this weekend. It was filmed in German but Amazon dropped it in over 200 countries, so our version is dubbed in English — which is a bit disconcerting but not too much. A guy gets hacked and his life starts to unravel as he tries to figure out who’s doing it and why. It’s an interesting thriller.

    • Commentatrix says:

      I rushed to Amazon to see if You Are Wanted really didn’t have an option for English subtitles and was relieved to discover that they do! I hate dubbed audio very much.

  5. flanny says:

    I’ve basically just been watching MST3K since the new eps were released last week. I don’t think it’s healthy.

  6. Veep is back but I feel like the horror show that is our current political system has made it harder to laugh at the absurdities of politics. That being said, Richard was hilarious with his “we’ll probably get in trouble for that down the line. We’ll definitely get in trouble for that”.

  7. Are you guys watching RuPaul’s Drag Race? I have some feelings about how this season is going. I thought I would like some of the girls but they’re already annoying me but some others are starting to stand out. This week’s elimination was really sad. She didn’t even try! She was like “I don’t lip sync.” Then why did you come? Same with the girls who can’t sew.

Leave a Reply

