Tuesday TV Talk

Aside from the normal stuff I watch, I partook in a lazy Sunday and started watching Black Mirror on Netflix.  As someone who follows and tangentially works in technology, I figured it is required watching.  However, after viewing a handful of episodes, I thought it was just… okay.  The themes are pretty interesting, but I felt somewhat underwhelmed by the execution of the plots.  Plus there are a bunch of points in each story where I feel like a reasonable person would have done something different, and they don’t even have to be technically literate.  I am not entirely sure whether or not I should proceed, as I only got through season 1 and part of season 2, and I’ve read season 3 is disappointing.  Then again, British seasons (series) are pretty short, so maybe I’ll just power through regardless.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. flanny says:

    I’ve been rewatching Miss Fisher since the first time I watched it was usually while I was folding laundry so I was never really paying attention. Guys, with each passing episode I love Jack Robinson more and more and I ship him and Miss Fisher more than I’ve ever shipped two fictional characters.

    Tuesday TV Check-In: Does anyone know when Project Runway is coming back?

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I watched the first 3 episodes of the Handmaid’s Tale, and I thought it was fantastic! The story is disturbing on so many levels, and episode 3 was chilling! I have no knowledge of the book other than reading a Goodreads summary a while back, so I have no idea what’s coming next – no spoilers please!

    There are so many great visuals – the color schemes, the red robes and white bonnets, etc. A really well done show. I only wish I didn’t have to wait for new episodes!

    • I haven’t made it to episode 3 yet but I thought 1 and 2 were really good. I wish we got a bit more about her husband because so far he seems like he just kind of exists in the scenes with her kid but its early so I won’t make too many judgements yet.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Also, the final scene of this week’s Silicon Valley was hilarious.

    • Kate says:

      And how about the Billions twist this week? I did not see that coming.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I’ve never seen that show. What channel is it on again?

        • Kate says:

          Showtime. It’s good. Paul Giamatti is one of my favorites. He’s in a Javert/Valjean Ahab/whale relationship with his nemesis billionaire played by Damien Lewis.

  4. catweazle says:

    I finally caught up on this season of Drag Race! Thank god! I’m really pulling for Shea Coulee first of all because she’s awesome and also because we need a Chicago queen to win already, geez louise! I also love Sasha Velour. And Peppermint. And Valentina, although not as much as the judges love Valentina. Who else is there? Uhh… Aja! I want to like her because she has the same name as my Drag Race viewing buddy (though pronounced differently). She’s a little messy but I still like her. Nina Bonina Brown is good but needs to buck up. So glad Cynthia Lee Fontaine is gone! Couldn’t stand her the first time, still couldn’t stand her now (though she seems like a lovely person). Alexis Michelle gets on my nerves but I think she’ll make it to the finals. Don’t get Trinity Taylor at all. Am I forgetting anybody? Probably. This season is good though! Snatch Game was better than usual! Aja probably should have been in the bottom instead of Farrah Moan but I don’t really care for Farrah so who cares.

    Also I watched the first two episodes of Crazy Ex Girlfriend and I don’t love it yet but I like it enough to keep going.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I respect that Crazy Ex Girlfriend exists, but I watched the whole first season, and was never fully on board. Not sure if I will watch season 2.

  5. Kate says:

    A agree with you on Black Mirror. I gave up watching it. That was my big complaint, that normal people would have reacted differently.

  6. Not a show, but still on TV: the movie Don’t Think Twice, with Keegan-Michael Key and Gillian Jacobs, is on Netflix now and I really enjoyed it. It was funny and sweet and I think it would definitely resonate with anyone who has creative aspirations. Plus it was only 90 minutes, which was refreshing. It seems like every movie has to be three hours long now.

  7. martinmegz says:

    My new favorite show is Rock the Park on ABC on Saturday mornings. Technically it’s aimed at kids, but I recently became obsessed with National Parks, and this show is two guys who have been friends since they were kids exploring National Parks so it’s great.

    In unrelated news, I made another new friend at the gym yesterday! She approached me! My plan to be friendly is working! I also had some interactions with the guy who runs on the treadmill next to mine on Mondays, but I don’t think I formed coherent sentences because I find him so handsome and he makes me really nervous. One time he complimented my form on the punching bag and I just stared at him for 10 seconds then walked away.

  8. I am finally caught up on the Flash again and emo future Barry last week had me cracking up. Honestly, my biggest problem is that I don’t totally buy that anyone likes Iris THAT much. She is just kind of there. Also, Caitlin Snow is just terrible. I know they won’t kill her off but I was so mad that we were so close and then stupid Julian had to save her. Fingers crossed that she dies in the finale.

    The 100 continues to be awesome and make me have too many feelings about things. I can’t believe how much I love Murphy, he is by far my favorite character on the show, even if he can be a little murdery when he gets sad. The scene with him and Raven was perfection. Also, is it weird that I kinda ship Clarke and Roan? They have a great dynamic.

    Is anyone else watching Harlots? I really like it and not just because its given me a lot of fun, old-timey slang for ladyparts. It manages to be really fun and also terrible but in a good way if that makes sense? Definitely recommend it.

    • martinmegz says:

      Murphy’s your favorite??? I guess he’s a lot better since he found love. I think Bellamy’s my fave, despite the bullshit of him working with Pike. My main complaint about The 100 is how the writers sometimes sell out the characters for the sake of moving the plot forward (I’m still VERY UPSET about Finn). I agree about Clarke and Roan! I yelled “Just (bleep) already!” at my TV last week.

      • I *love* Murphy so much. He’s such an asshole but hilarious and I can’t help it, I love him. I love Bellamy too (the only character I don’t like is Jaha really) but agree that the Pike stuff was dumb and super thin. I definitely agree about the selling out of characters being a problem. The other thing that kind of annoys me is that characters will just disappear for no reason. Like, where was Luna this week? Did she just leave? How? The other people took the boat.

        I think I’m the only person that doesn’t feel like the Finn situation made sense. He was traumatized, he was held prisoner and saw his fellow prisoner get his throat cut for not walking fast enough and he’s a teenager who has been traumatized by war. I can definitely buy that a kid like that could just snap.

  9. mordonez says:

    Well I was a little underwhelmed by the pilot of American Gods. Anyone else watch it? It’s on STARZ? You folks liked Pushing Daises and Hannibal, right? Anyway, more of the cast should come in next week–I’m giving it time, and will likely watch it even if I end up disliking it, I love the book so much.

    • I’m definitely going to watch, but I’m probably going to wait until the season’s aired and then do a Starz 7-day free trial and binge the whole thing.

    • I’ve never read the book but I watched the first episode and mostly thought it was weird. I can’t decide if I like it or not but I do think Mr. Wednesday is pretty fantastic and Ricky Whittle is hot so I guess I’ll keep watching.

      • mordonez says:

        Yeah, I’m not sure–this may just be a book I’ve read too many times for them to match the tone I think I want the show to have, which I cannot define for you? It was weird, indeed, and I suppose the events to come don’t get less weird. I wonder if they’ll open each show with one of these Coming to America deals that appear throughout the book. Could be an interesting conceit.

        Also, I didn’t think that anyone tried to kill Shadow as early as they had this –that interaction just leaves him a touch beat up in the book, so that was odd, but I promised myself I wouldn’t nitpick.

Comments are closed.