It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

What are your weekend plans? The weather’s going to be pretty bad here, so I’m going to lounge and write and try not to have a rage-stroke every time I check the news.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

  1. catweazle says:

    I am going to Squeeze class tomorrow and the rest of the weekend I will probably be playing Breath of the Wild.

  2. mordonez says:

    Tomorrow, my band is one of 6 playing a benefit for the family of my work buddy who committed suicide in January. That that happened is still hard to comprehend, not that we’d been in close contact since he left my company a year and a half ago. It will be a somewhat surreal event, packed with his friends, I’m sure, and the variety of bands is also odd- includes a surf band, an Irish-rock cover band, a….socially conscious marching band, southern rock covers (us).

    Sunday will likely begin with some yardwork, then another performance with my class during which we’ll play tunes by Bowie, the Cure, XTC, Elvis Costello, and many more (well, 3-4 more).

    • hotspur says:

      Do you or any other musician monsters ever cover The Cars? I was wondering that the other day, while listening to The Cars.

      • mordonez says:

        I love the Cars, but it doesn’t fit with my current band. Weirdly, my class/ensemble from the Old Town School of Folk Music has played a ton of interesting stuff (Television, Radiohead, Jellyfish) but no Cars. Catweazle’s group may have, I think?

    • taoreader says:

      I hope the benefit goes really well! It must be tough, celebrating with music while still acknowledging such a tragedy.

      • mordonez says:

        It was a big success, from the turnout, thanks. Yeah, it was a slightly odd idea, but while not a musician, my friend had been a huge fan of a wide variety of music, so it was appropriate. Just guessing, but based on what they charged for adult admission and raffle tickets, I have to think they raised $10K or maybe a little more, not that it’s directly my business. Tons of folks are there to support his wife and kiddo, which is great.

  3. flanny says:

    I’m volunteering with the writing organization tomorrow, at an event for Free Comic Book Day at a local comic book store. Does anyone have tips for me to engage with the comic-book-set? I cried at Maus and have A LOT of opinions about Robin and that’s about all I can talk about.

    • Ask for recommendations! Everyone loves to recommend their favorite things, obviously, but in my experience, comics fans really, REALLY love to recommend their favorite things.

      • hotspur says:

        Theresa is right. I once bought a whole slew of comics, like $120 worth, based on how enthusiastic the guy in the store was about them. Just super, super enthusiastic. (Three years later I am still looking forward to reading them some day? I am terrible.)

        • taoreader says:

          What are these amazing unread comics?

        • hotspur says:

          Hmm… lemme go look in the bag… okay, here we go:
          The Last Man by Vaughan & Guerra
          The Five Fists of Science
          Preacher by Ennis & Dillon
          Sex Criminals by Fraction & Zdarsky (!!)
          The Devil’s Concubine by Schmidt
          and The Strain
          Plus a few odds & ends. We had a really long discussion as he led me around the store handing me things. Any of these ring a bell for you?

        • taoreader says:

          I’ve heard of The Devil’s Concubine but never read it. I’m impressed you know where they are, I would have lost them by now!

        • flanny says:

          OMG, the friend that I went for drinks with on Saturday was telling me about Sex Criminals. She said, “There are just a lot of dicks. A lot of dicks.”

        • hotspur says:

          Huh. I was unaware. I don’t recall that being among the selling points at the time.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’m supposed to attend a concert, but I am notorious for buying concert tickets, then deciding not to go. This Onion article sums it up nicely –
    http://www.theonion.com/article/man-spends-whole-day-dreading-fun-activity-he-sign-55165

    The rest of the weekend is basically trying to complete my project club list and sleeping.

  5. Guys! I had a baby! He’s very cute and very tiny and we’re both healthy and just got home! So that’s my weekend: staring at my baby and taking naps! 2Tyke2Saurus!!! Also Tykeasaurus is totally into him and it’s very cute!!!

Leave a Reply

