How Was Your Weekend?

Mine wasn’t as productive as I would’ve liked, but I did get a few things done, and took some excellent naps. How do weekends go by so fast, though? Why haven’t scientists studied this, so they can stop it?

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I decided not to go to the concert I had tickets for, but I completed a couple of my to-do list items and caught up on sleep.

  2. nastyemu says:

    We went to see Guardians of the Galaxy. It was very fun. It’s the time I’ve seen a movie in 3D since 2010, and it’s probably worth seeing it that way. The effects were well done and it didn’t give me a headache or strain my eyes. I was a little nervous during the trailers because there’s one in 3D for Spider-Man and just two minutes of that was enough to hurt my eyes.

    • taoreader says:

      I was wondering if this was worth seeing in the theatre. Sounds like a good time.

  3. flanny says:

    Hanging out with kids at the comic book store was pretty good, although I still felt like a stranger in a strange land. After volunteering I ate a burrito and bought a new pair of shoes and a purse, and then got drinks with a couple of friends I haven’t seen in a couple of months. Sunday was just bland old grocery shopping and cleaning and things.

  4. martinmegz says:

    Yesterday I made a to-list for myself before I went to the gym to make sure my day had some structure to it. The only items I crossed off were: eat breakfast, watch a movie, and take a nap (crossed off twice). I think it might be time for me to get another freelance job to fill my time.

    • taoreader says:

      I suddenly want a nap!

    • hotspur says:

      I had an unplanned nap, 5:00-5:45, and when I woke up I ate a handful of chocolate-covered espresso beans to snap out of it. But I overshot the mark and ended up wired till 3:00 am. By that time, I was desperately counter-medicating with wine, but I still didn’t go down till 3:30+… Of course, today I feel fine. This is a normal pattern for me. Tomorrow is when I pay the piper.

      Tomorrow you should avoid me.

      • hotspur says:

        Forgot to mention the nap was Sunday. Sorry, didn’t mean to make my story a logic puzzle.

  5. FRQ says:

    The weather was phenomenal this weekend, so I tried to get outside as much as possible. The highlight was sitting on my building’s rooftop terrace drinking beer and catching up on my music queue. I also did a little volunteering and some hiking at a state park. That being said, I did find some time to hit up an arcade and catch Guardians of the Galaxy.

  6. catweazle says:

    I spent less time playing Zelda than I expected because my little sister wanted to hang out on Saturday. We played Mario Kart instead during which I discovered that one of my Switch remotes was fucked up. So Sunday I took a nice walk to the Game Stop about a mile from my place and got a replacement, plus traded in a couple of 3DS games for a Switch Pro Remote which is basically a regular remote that is much better than the dumb little remotes the system comes with. And on the way there I passed by a Family Dollar that was having a close-out sale so of course I went in there and bought a bunch of shit (although some of it was practical so I don’t feel too bad about it). And then I took a nap and then spent the rest of the night playing Zelda and drinking wine. The new Zelda is so fun! I have barely done any of the actual adventure things because I’ve just been wandering around and climbing trees and mountains and shooting birds and cooking.

  7. I spent the whole weekend recovering and taking care of my new little one. The highlight of the weekend was when my older kid and I sang itsy bitsy spider together with the hand motions. It may not seem like that big of a deal, but it was incredibly cute and special because she didn’t know the words so she just kind of sang gibberish until the last word of each line. Also I got to have a little alcohol!

    • taoreader says:

      That sounds incredibly adorable. And yay for alcohol!

      (Pro-tip: don’t look up gifs of spiders)

  8. Kate says:

    A new theater opened here that has recliners and they serve you snacks and cocktails while you watch the movie! So that’s what I want to do for Mother’s Day. See Guardians of the Galaxy 2 at the new theater.

    • catweazle says:

      I saw Fantastic Beasts at a theater like that with my family last Christmas. The recliner was almost TOO comfortable (i.e. I almost fell asleep).

      • Yeah, I saw The Force Awakens that way and there’s no chance I’d make it through a non-action movie without nodding off.

        • Kate says:

          I’m going to bring a blankie. Just like home! I’ll be asleep too, but I’ll see it again on demand I guess. It’ll be worth it.

  9. taoreader says:

    I know a theatre like that and I love it. It’s so nice to actually have some space and have no problem seeing the movie screen! And drink too!

  10. taoreader says:

    I went to a writers’ conference and spent almost the whole time in bed in my hotel room sick. I did make it to two short meetings, but I didn’t go to any sessions and I couldn’t drink any booze. What’s the point of a conference if you can’t drink booze with all the other conference people?

Comments are closed.