How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was nice, considering that I didn’t feel well. On Saturday I rested and binged season 2 of Master Of None (recommended), and then on Sunday I had enough energy to clean my disgusting hellhole of an apartment.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I slept for TEN HOURS on Friday night, but then only five on Saturday night, so I guess that balances out. I would have slept in on Sunday, but I had to get up for work at 5:00 AM for an annual event we have. Luckily, we had perfect weather, and the event went well.

    I got a decent amount of stuff done around the house, but I think my to-do list this week is going to be a bit busier than usual.

  2. catweazle says:

    Going to the drag show was fun and afterwards we went to the bar on my block and did karaoke. I made my sister and cousin wake up early to go to brunch with me (by which I mean we went to brunch at 10am) because I had to learn a couple of Squeeze songs before class. But we were up super late so we were basically zombies. After class I took a three hour nap and then stayed up until 3AM playing Zelda which was super dumb because my whole family came over the next day for Mother’s Day and I was dying. After they left I took a four hour nap, read for a couple of hours and then went back to sleep. So it was a weird sleeping weekend but luckily I don’t feel too tired today so it all worked out.

    • catweazle says:

      Oh I forgot, last night right before I went to bed I heard a crash come from my kitchen and when I went in there the bottom window pane had fallen forward into the kitchen. Like, the glass wasn’t broken or anything, it was just leaning against my microwave. I guess it must have been wind because there were no burglars in sight. The only thing that broke was my fanciest wine glass which I always knew would break one day but I assumed it would be a result of drinking too much wine out of it!

  3. gnidrah says:

    My weekend was birthday and Eurovision! Theresa &/or FRQ, can I please check if my Euro recap posts have shown up in the queue? I’ve submitted three pieces & of course you’re under no pressure to stick ’em up, but I’d just like to make sure I’ve done the procedure correctly!! 🙂

    • hotspur says:

      I am looking forward to the annual gnid eurovision column. I gleaned on the Twitter this year held some unusual developments…

    • mordonez says:

      Not super relevant, but a little–I know several folks who have worked with Indian outsourcing firms, and, in email from them, I have seen the weird construction “please do the needful”. So admins, I exhort you, “please do the needful” so we might read these delightful updates.

    • They’re queued up and ready to go! I set one for tomorrow, one for Wednesday, and one for Thursday, is that ok? (FRQ, go ahead and change this if/as necessary.)

  4. hotspur says:

    Big news: I tried rhubarb pie this weekend. It was inspired by something flanny once said (“Most people don’t like rhubarb. It is very tart and has the consistency of celery”). Then Sunday I was at the farmer’s market, where they were sold out of good pies because of Mother’s Day. All they had was three rhubarbs. I told the guy I never had rhubarb before, and HE said, “Most people don’t like it.” He even provided a statistic: 70 percent of people don’t like it. So I spun the wheel and bought a personal-size rhubarb pie!

    It’s okay.

  5. flanny says:

    I got my car washed on Sunday and this morning when I wiped the dew off there was already a thick line of pollen on my windshield. Pollen is the very worst thing.

    I also half-watched some murder mystery show that takes place in either the 30s or 40s in Australia, and it was pretty great because people kept refering to other people as “dickheads.” Like the policemen would be talking to each other saying, “We have to go interview that dickhead” or “There were a bunch of dickheads gathered outside.” Dickhead must mean something in Australia but I’m not going to look it up because it’s so entertaining to hear them say it semi-seriously. Ignorance is bliss, dickheads.

    • nastyemu says:

      Dickhead? That’s an odd name. I’d have called them chazzwazzers!

    • gnidrah says:

      Haha we use ‘dickhead’ too. Don’t call your mum that, my advice. Unless you hate her, of course.

    • catweazle says:

      I got in trouble when I was like 6 or 7 for calling my brother’s friend a dickhead when we were playing out in the yard. I have no idea where I picked it up!

      • hotspur says:

        Oof, when I was 6 I called my sister a “fuckin shithead.”

        I got it from a second-grader from a broken home.

    • Erika says:

      In our neighborhood, the trees in spring and summer drip sap everywhere. There has to be something about the trees on our block, because those trees are really common in Seattle, and most don’t wreck your car. I keep meaning to find out what kind of tree they are exactly so I never make the mistake of planting one where I live.

  6. Erika says:

    I had a cold all weekend, and now that I’m getting better I now have some sort of sinus problem. At least I don’t have to go to work sick.

    On Saturday, my boyfriend and I went to one of our favorite places for brunch, and then we went thrifting. The boyfriend is collecting ridiculous VHS tapes and DVDs, and I’ve been collecting terrible old cookbooks (think olives in jello), but I’m going to need to stop unless I manage to find more storage space.

    Speaking of work, I had my interview on Friday, and it went pretty well. I also just had a phone interview today which didn’t go as well. I just don’t do well on the phone.

Comments are closed.