Tuesday TV Talk

I spent most of the past week on vacation, so the only TV I watched was the occassional Late Show with Stephen Colbert and The Weather Channel.  I know Master of None debuted its second season, so I’ll get on that.  I need to get on that soon, especially since Kimmy Schmidt will start next weekend.  How about you all?

 

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. catweazle says:

    I watched nothing possibly because I am paralyzed by too much choice! I did set up my bedroom TV last night and started another Gilmore Girls rewatch though.

  2. This week’s episode of the 100 made me cry a lot, even though I knew what was going to happen.

    I watched the new season of Master of None and it had some good moments and episodes but I did not find it funny at all. *Spoiler* I kind of hate the Francesca story because I was really hoping they wouldn’t go there with the “girl and guy are good friends but secretly love each other the whole time!” route because it is such a cliche and feeds into the idea that men and women can’t just be friends. Also, I know a lot of people are really endeared by the fact that Aziz Ansari’s real mom and dad play his parents but I seriously struggle with those scenes. They just are not good at acting and it makes their stuff hard to watch.

    My Norwegian show Skam has been back on for a few weeks. This season they are focusing on a Muslim girl who is trying to balance her Muslim identity with her Norwegian one which has been an interesting struggle. The last episode had a LOT happening in it but now they’re on hiatus for a week, which is just torture.

    • martinmegz says:

      The 100 is so intense. I’m madly in love with Bellamy for being such a great brother. He was a little jerky at the beginning of the show, but even then he risked his life to come to Earth to protect his sister! Why is Clarke such a shitty character lately? They’re barely giving her anything to do and she kind of sucks, even though I know she has a lot of tough decisions to make.

      You know what’s so nuts about this show? Apparently they’ve only been on Earth for just over six months!

      • Bellamy is so great, I love him. ( I saw that guy at the gym the other day and I was just like 😍) . I feel like they missed an opportunity with Murphy guarding Bellamy since just three episodes ago, Murphy was in the same position – locked to a pole and unable to help the person he loves the most. I was hoping to see a little bit more uncertainty because while he is the notorious “I’ll do anything to stay alive” character, he’s got a lot more shades of grey than that.

        I still like Clarke! I understand why she did the things she did and I kind of like that they are taking the focus off her a bit and bringing some more of the ancillary characters to the foreground.

        Do you think they are going to do a bunker season or have a 5 year time jump to next season? I can see an argument for both of them.

        • martinmegz says:

          OMG if I saw Bob Morley I would turn into that crazy soap opera fan who talks to actors as if they’re actually their characters.

          I don’t know what they’re going to do! I was sure they’d find another way out rather than being trapped in the bunker for five years, but here we are.

    • flanny says:

      I agree 100% about the Francesca story line. I feel like with Master of None I have a lot of fun and enjoy myself during the first half of the season, and then in the second half it gets all angsty and sad and I’m just like, “Let’s go back to when you hung out with your friends!”

      This season I was also struck with the “What’s Your Job To Afford Living Like This” issue. How is he trapsing all over Italy and renting cars and Vespas and junk when it seems like he’s an unemployed actor at the time? Must be nice, bro. AND, this bothered me, in maybe the last episode Francesca is moaning about how she had a life plan and now it’s out the window, and she says, “Do you know what it’s like to just drop everything in your life and change it?” And I expected Dev to say, “YES I MOVED TO ITALY.” But he doesn’t. It bothered me more than necessary.

      But generally, I did laugh a lot.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    The Handmaid’s Tale and iZombie remain my favorite TV shows that are airing new episodes.

    I’m about 1.5 episodes into Master of None, and I like it so far.

    I’m in season 6 of Mad Men. Joan’s story with Jaguar was sad and disgusting. I think Ken Cosgrove is my favorite employee of the firm. Roger Sterling taking (and loving) LSD was pretty great.

    Don Draper. UGH. His infidelity plots are just predictable and boring at this point.

    • martinmegz says:

      I watched the first episode of Handmaid and it was such a bummer town that I couldn’t continue. I’m sure I’m missing out but it’s just so bleak and I feel so defeated about our country right now as it is.

  4. mordonez says:

    The third episode of American Gods was pretty good, and as a reminder, if anyone is on the fence and has Starz, and is also a fan The 100, Ricky Whittle is the lead.

    It just got renewed, and it looks like it’s going to take it’s sweet danged time. I would have sworn that [major book event] would have made into season 1, but apparently they don’t quite get there, according to a tweet from Neil Gaiman.

    So I like it, but don’t looooove it, although it is really beautifully shot and has some fine performances (Ian McShane and Cloris Leachman have been quite good so far, as have Orlando Jones and Gillian Anderson in what are so far cameos that will expand later). If they keep the order of the book, they shouldn’t even get to Kristin Chenoweth this year.

    • I’ve been watching it and I feel like I’m trying to like it more than I like it? I think once I get a little more accustomed to the world, I’ll be able to enjoy it more. I do appreciate that Starz won’t let them show female nudity without equal male nudity. Equality!

      Fun fact – Ricky Whittle was ALSO in Hollyoaks, a british soap opera that I talk about too much that no one here cares about. He was a police officer who got murdered on his wedding day by the underage cousin of the bride (who later got killed in a train derailment on someone else’s wedding day) who he had knocked up and told to get an abortion. Moral of the story – don’t get married in Hollyoaks.

Comments are closed.