How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was very relaxing, apart from having to spend two hours at the eye doctor on Saturday (mine eyes are fine, other than the fact that they don’t actually work; the place was just really busy).

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I got a lot done, hung out with family, and caught up on sleep. My only complaint is that the weekend is over.

    I think I have a handful of vacation days I need to use before August, so I’m probably going to give myself a bunch of three day weekends. 🙂

  2. hotspur says:

    I did lots of writing. Or rather rewriting. The ball moved forward, anyway. I did almost nothing else. I watched 1.33 movies and read 100 pages of a book and took a short nap. I ate sensibly. Also I was pretty psyched because I had great parking, right in front of my building; all weekend long I was able to look forward to stepping outside on Monday morning and seeing my car right there, instead of it being two blocks away under the bridge or by the liquor store dumpster where people get stabbed.

    Anyway, not a weekend for the ages, but I’ll take it.

  3. flanny says:

    We had sort of an impromptu family reunion on Sunday. My mom’s cousin was in Chicago from Alaksa, so she and another of my mom’s cousins drove up to the small town on Lake Michigan where my mom grew up, and then my aunt and her daughter flew in from the east coast and her son drove up from Chicago, and my sister drove down from “Up North” and I drove literally just an hour from my apartment. We went to Big Boy, which I considered fancy eating when I was eight, so that was wonderful. And then we drove out to the blueberry farm where my mom grew up, and toured the farm house. Blueberries are not in season yet, otherwise we’d have gone picking, but we wandered out in the fields for a little until my sister had to leave (I was her ride). The most exciting takeaway? My cousin is a city manager in Vermont and last week she had a meeting with Bernie Sanders! They were talking about water quality.

  4. martinmegz says:

    If you follow me on Twitter, you already know that I watched Speed with the trivia track yesterday and learned so much about one of my favorite movies. Then I cleaned my apartment and somehow the entire evening slipped away from me, I must have been watching TV but it’s all a blur.

    On Saturday I went to the gym, got some clothes tailored, took a nap, and hung out with friends. I feel like I got some stuff done and I was social, so that’s a successful weekend.

  5. catweazle says:

    I played Zelda for 8 hours straight on Friday after work. I don’t know how it happened. I have never played a video game for that long before! Yesterday I was more reasonable and only played for about three hours. It wasn’t a total write-off of a weekend because we recorded two episodes of the podcast but it was mostly fucking Breath of the Wild taking over my life. I just want to get all the Spirit Orbs so I can have enough hearts not to repeatedly get killed by moblins and ice wizards and also have enough stamina to climb the bigger mountains! Is that so much to ask?!?!?

    • hotspur says:

      There is a game called Sid Meier’s Civilization that I have played for 20 hours without getting up (except for 2-3 bathroom breaks and to make coffee), and I also don’t know how it happens. In the early days, I’d say goodnight to my roommate, and a few minutes later (so it seemed) he was awake again and leaving for work while I was still sitting at the computer. Seemingly a few minutes after that, he was getting home from work. He’d laugh, “Still playing!” I am now banned from playing Civ more than once a year.

  6. FRQ says:

    My weekend was nice. I had dinner with friends Friday night, ran a few errands and watched some Kimmy Schmidt on Saturday, and went to a BBQ Sunday afternoon. But today has been soured by the moron drove the shuttle that takes me to and from my office. As she approached my destination, I stood up and waited next to the door waiting for her to stop. Except she didn’t. I called to her telling her she passed my destination, and she said I should have told her I wanted to stop there if I wanted to get out. First of all, the A/C is cranked to 40 degrees, which means it sounds like a fucking jet engine. It’s a miracle I could hear her call my stop in the first place. Second, and most important, every shuttle driver seems to have a different protocol for letting them know you want to get out. Some want you to pull the cord, some want you to tell them, and some will just stop at every station. All drivers should follow the same procedure to avoid idiocy like this.

    As drivers are instructed, she wouldn’t let me off at somewhere that wasn’t a bus stop, so I had to wait until the next stop. I said “Fine…”. As we approach the next stop, I get up once again and approach the door. Once again, she flies right by the stop! Is she THAT literal about letting her know every time someone needs to stop? Can she not remember the conversation we had two minutes ago? The absolute best part about all of this is that the subsequent stop was THE STATION WHERE I ORIGINALLY GOT ON THE SHUTTLE. I gave up and walked home, in the rain, which is always a treat. My boss told me that my team is moving to a new office next month. I can’t wait for this, since it means I don’t have to deal with these stupid assholes anymore.

Comments are closed.