It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

How are you spending the long weekend? We’re having a family get-together tomorrow, and then I’m going to try and force myself to be productive (posting will resume on Tuesday).

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

  1. catweazle says:

    It’s been a shitty and stressful week and I was really looking forward to a relaxing long weekend but then last night my downstairs neighbor knocked on my door to tell me I’ve been making a lot of noise and I was like “Girl are you sure?” because literally aside from walking from room to room occasionally all I fucking do is watch TV or play video games or read when I’m at home. He claims that they hear me dropping things a lot and like… ok? I drop things occasionally? That is life? Also I moved in two months ago, I’m still arranging shit. Anyway, I was really upset because I take extra care to make sure my volume is always reasonable and that I’m not clomping around like a rhino because of my many horrible upstairs neighbor experiences and it seems like me just living my life is bugging them. He kept saying “It’s not something we’ve brought up to the landlady by any means” and I’m thinking there’s definitely an implied “yet” in that statement and I know that the previous tenants in my place got kicked out because of this guy’s noise complaints. So I started to cry while we were talking because the stress of the week and this weirdness just hit me all at once and it was SUPER embarrassing and he just wouldn’t leave! I said I would try to pay attention to anything I was doing that might make a dropping sound and he was like “Yeah cool, I’m not like, trying to accuse you of anything, sorry to bother you, do you want a beer or to come downstairs for summer barbecues?” and I just wanted to scream “I WOULD NOT WANT THAT EVEN IF I WAS NOT STANDING HERE CRYING BECAUSE NOW I’M AFRAID I CAN’T DO NORMAL THINGS IN MY APARTMENT WITHOUT THE LOOMING THREAT OF EVICTION PLEASE GO AWAY SO I CAN WEEP IN PEACE!!!!!”

    So I think I will be drinking a lot this weekend.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Neighbors can be so awful! Sorry that yours is terrible. Imagine if he had your last neighbor, the amateur opera singer!

      • catweazle says:

        I thought that living on the top floor meant I wouldn’t have to deal with neighbor issues anymore. How young and naive I was!

    • martinmegz says:

      Ugh I totally feel for you. I have a tendency to cry when I’m really frustrated or engaged in a conflict and it’s so embarrassing. And now you have to feel on edge about these people downstairs all the time. Although honestly, I think you should feel free to drop as much stuff as you want until 10p on weeknights and midnight on weekends, and they’ll just have to deal with it. Regular noise from upstairs is a fact of life, and those people should count themselves lucky because apparently they’ve never had an actually inconsiderate neighbor. Are they new to city life?

      • catweazle says:

        The thing is, apparently the previous tenants were a pair of bros who had parties all the time and played loud music and I’m like “WHAT DO YOU PEOPLE WANT, I AM ALREADY A MILLION TIMES BETTER THAN THOSE D-BAGS!” He specifically mentioned that it sounds like I drop something on the floor when I get home every day so like a of all) great to know you’re tracking when I’m in my apartment and b of all) yeah I’m dropping my work bag on the floor like a NORMAL FUCKING HUMAN BEING! AT 5:30PM! DEAL WITH IT! Another thing he specifically mentioned is that sometimes the mysterious “dropping things” sound happens at *GASP* 10:30PM on a Saturday. Exsqueeze me bitch but this is not a boarding school, there is no curfew. I’m beginning to think these people just should not live in an apartment building.

    • catweazle says:

      On the bright side, podcast recording got rescheduled to tomorrow so I am going to watch the new Drag Race at a gay bar and drink a bunch of gin and tonics tonight.

    • mikaelajm says:

      Omg, something like this happened to me, too!!!! I’d been in my last apartment a few months and I would occasionally hear sharp rapping coming from the apartment below me. I thought that was the neighbors hammering or something, idk. But then one evening this nice-looking couple knocked on my door and said that they were from the apartment below and that they were trying to tell me I was making too much noise! I was dumbfounded for the same reason: I live alone and don’t like… do anything besides walk from one spot to another. The woman was like “it sounds like people are stomping around all day long” which a) okay thanks for calling me an elephant, lady b) I was usually out of the house during normal business hours, b) I was gone almost every weekend, c) again it was JUST ME. So I tried to be super careful after that, but I would still often hear the sharp rapping and now knew that it meant I needed to walk on tiptoes. I also started noticing that I could hear my upstairs neighbors walking around, too — I’d just never noticed before, because I wasn’t hyperfocused on muffled sounds from outside.

      tl;dr I am so sorry, I 100% agree that people like this should just not live in apartment buildings. you are going to hear things sometimes!!!! it’s really really easy to ignore!!!

      • catweazle says:

        Ughhh, people are the worst! Nobody likes hearing their upstairs neighbors walking around but it’s part of living in an apartment building. If it bothers you so much move to a top floor place! Like I did!

    • Ugh, they’re being so ridiculous, and I say that as someone who’s extremely sensitive to neighbor noises. The guy below me stomps around like he’s got cement feet and I’ll admit that it annoys me sometimes, but I’d never say anything because, you know, he’s a person who’s allowed to move around in his own home!

    • hotspur says:

      What a nightmare. Who are these people who expect total silence from the world? I was the upstairs neighbor once and the downstairs family was headed by a guy who flipped into a full-on rage at any noise after 10 pm. Like, pounding on our door, threatening to call the police — waaaaay louder than whatever we’d done to provoke him (e.g., like we pulled out a chair). He never let one noise slide. We ended up on tiptoes, and also sort of at war, and it’s a very long story, but the short version is: that sucks, catweazle, I’m sorry.

  2. flanny says:

    One of my best friends from Boston is coming to Chicago to hang out with me and another mutual friend of ours (this mutual friend was, at different point, a roommate of both of us), so I’m driving down there tomorrow and am so excited! I’ve been looking forward to this weekend for months. We’re going to take an architectural tour and see improv Shakespeare or something? I dunno, it’s going to be great, even though the one friend just got broken up with in April, but whatever.

    In preparation for the weekend, I got my hair cut this morning for the first time in probably almost a year. It’s great. I love it. I look just like Noora from Skam, the Norwegian teen drama that’s sweeping the internet. Except I’m still brunette.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I might go to a concert, but I’ve bailed on the last 3 concerts I had tickets for, so we’ll see.

    I have errands, stuff to do around the house, and a few small work projects for my side job, but mostly, I plan to enjoy not being at the office. I straight up LOVE my job, but I also welcome 3 days off.

    My plan is to be productive on Saturday and Sunday, then have Monday to do whatever I want.

  4. martinmegz says:

    Once I get through this day, I’m on vacation from my day job for two whole weeks! I’ll have to do some interviews and write a couple of articles in Paris but that’s nothing like being trapped under the fluorescent lights of my windowless office. Guys, I think I really need this break. Thanks to nastyemu’s suggestion, I booked some museum tickets for Amsterdam and planned most of my time there. I like to have a list of things I want to see, map it out, and just spend all day walking around in a big loop.

    Thankfully Monday’s a holiday so I have all day to pack before my evening flight. This weekend will consist of last minute shopping and mild anxiety about what I’m forgetting.

  5. taoreader says:

    I have no plans! It’s been gray and rainy and cold in my part of the world, and if we just get some sunshine this weekend, I’ll be content. I’ll probably be writing and drinking wine and walking the dog.

  6. mordonez says:

    My band is playing 2 shows tomorrow, one at a joint event sponsored by two breweries http://dovetailbrewery.com/event/mayfestiversary-2/
    If any Chicago types are in Ravenswood around 2, there’s Beer, food trucks, music..

    Later we’re playing for 4 hours (!) in my home suburb of Glenview, at a bar by the train station that’s been there just forever. So if anyone needs a metric eff-ton of cover tunes that sort of center around Southern Rock and blues..

    Sunday is a birthday thing for a nephew at which I’m presenting him with a very exciting pawn shop saxophone, followed by a party at an apartment that a friend is about to vacate. It’s small, iI guess, and the party is being billed as a ‘sardine party” (how many people will fit in the apartment? WHO CAN KNOW!?).

    Monday I plan to be a slug.

Comments are closed.