Tuesday TV Talk

This weekend, my parents graced me with their presence, so I didn’t have a whole lot of time to watch TV.  When we did, it was generally slim pickings.  A lot of that had to do with the fact that I do not have cable.  My parents to have Comcast, but setting up streaming channels to my Roku was a giant pain in the ass, so we made due with terrestrial TV.  It may sound like a limiting factor, but let me tell you, there is a ton of random shit out there.  Aside from the standard ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, and CW, there are a bunch of channels scattered throughout the digital spectrum.  Something that shouldn’t be surprising is that a lot of them play old movies and TV shows.  One such movie: The Maiden Heist, a comedy about three museum guards (Christopher Walken, Morgan Freeman, and William H Macy) who plan to steal a series of paintings before it is transferred to another institution.  Judging by how standard definition the film appeared, I assumed it was some movie from the 90’s I don’t remember, but it was actually made in 2009.  I keep forgetting about the abundance of straight to video movies out there.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. catweazle says:

    I watched the new season of Kimmy Schmidt and mostly liked it! There were of course a few cringeworthy “Tina Fey is actually really stubbornly out of touch on certain social issues” moments (like the “trans ghost” student; ffs Tina) but overall it was solid.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I just watched the first episode, and there were some great moments. “You got knocked down, and then got up again. You’re tubthumping!”

      I also appreciate Jon Hamm’s comedic role more now that I’ve seen Mad Men.

  2. Kate says:

    I’ve been told that House of Cards is back today! We’ll be trying to limit ourselves to one episode every few days. I like to prolong the joy. I hope it hasn’t been ruined by Trump like Veep. Too close to home.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I finished Mad Men, and even though I did like it, I am glad I’m done. I hated Don Draper throughout the entire show, and sometimes felt like I was watching Entourage masquerading as classy television. There were a lot of great elements, and I’m glad it probably gave Elisabeth Moss a lot of exposure because she is just crazy good on Handmaid’s Tale.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I also watched Master of None. “Thanksgiving” and “New York, I Love You” were my favorite episodes.

    • taoreader says:

      I’m going to start watching that, I keep hearing great things. And he did a really good interview on Fresh Air.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        It’s hit and miss for me, but overall, I think it’s good. The acting is not always great, but I think the stories are good, and the topics are well presented. I think I enjoyed the second season more than the first, specifically because of the two episodes mentioned above. It’s very pleasant TV!

    • Those two episodes were like perfect little mini-movies. So good.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Yes! Mini-movies is a great way to describe those episodes. I was grinning ear to ear during the last segment of the New York episode, and Thanksgiving had me tearing up because it was so rich with emotion. I loved the scenes with young Dev and Denise.

  5. actionjackson5 says:

    Wow, I had never heard of that movie. Wikipedia says the distributor went bankrupt before it was released, so it never really came out in theaters. Someone spent a lot of money on that cast!

    I’m watching Red Hot American Summer: First Day of Camp because I can download episodes from Netflix to watch on my iPad. I also just watched Antman [DVD from the local library]. Just the right blend of humor and drama. It’s Paul Rudd-apalooza over here!

  6. mikaelajm says:

    Is anyone else kind of down on Silicon Valley this season? I feel like I enjoy it less and less every episode. It’s so much more of a drama than a comedy these days! With TJ Miller leaving, I’m not sure I’ll bother to watch next season.

    • Kate says:

      Yeah I’m the same way with Veep. Just not good.

    • FRQ says:

      I’ve been enjoying it, but it’s probably because last season set the bar pretty low.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I haven’t seen it in a few weeks, so that probably answers your question. I’ll get around to it eventually. I still thought there were funny moments in each episode I have seen so far, just not as good as past seasons.

      I actually don’t like TJ Miller very much, but he fits into the ensemble very well, so I am curious to see how the show goes forward without him.

  7. gnidrah says:

    Promised to return with my Handmaid’s Tale thoughts; promptly failed to do so. In my defence, if you work in news, it’s a busy time right now in the UK… 😦
    Anyway: if ‘enjoy’ is the right word, then I enjoyed it. I am starting to wonder if there is something up with my eyes, as I keep being very taken by the colouring of certain shows. THT and also a British show called Born To Kill. Both just looked saturated, which did a huge amount to add to the atmosphere. It could just be my eyes. I can’t wait for the next episode (it’s on regular TV here) My 16-year-old cousin watched too and has clearly been quite marked by it, as she has brought it up twice in the past two days. I hope she is OK.

Leave a Reply

