So, How Was Your Day?

Mine went by at the speed of light, which is always appreciated on a Tuesday. I even got an extra load of laundry done! Now the rest of the week needs to fly by as well and we’ll be all set.

How Was Your Day Bonus Round: Recommend something! A book, a song, a product–I want some new stuff.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. Sergeant Tibbs says:

    I’ll tell you the best part of my weekend since I missed the weekend post: a monkey tried to come into my room! I thought it was a cat at first, and then he put his hand out and he was definitely not a cat. His monkey buddy had already stolen a mango from my friend’s room and my guy just wanted a mango of his own. Sorry, I didn’t have one 😦 Let’s see if I can post a picture.

    And I recommend watching the Hasan Minhaj special on netflix. He’s a delight. It’s not a standup comedy special…more like a humorous live memoir.

    • taoreader says:

      This is fantastic.

      • Sergeant Tibbs says:

        They’re the best! I have one more picture

        • taoreader says:

          So they’re wild, yes? And they just show up and say, “All your mangoes are belong to us?”

        • Sergeant Tibbs says:

          Yeah they’re wild. I didn’t even realize they were in the town (I was up in the mountains and after a certain point up, you stop seeing monkeys hanging around). They were across a field, and then suddenly they were at our open hotel room doors. Even the food you’re holding are belongs to them. They will grab it from your hands without blinking. And they have sharp hidden teeth so you’ll give it up readily!

    • Kate says:

      πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ΅πŸ™ˆπŸ™‰πŸ™Š

    • martinmegz says:

      WHERE ARE YOU I WANT TO MEET THESE MONKEYS

      • Sergeant Tibbs says:

        AH This post was mostly for your benefit! I’ll let you know if the monkeys befriend me and then we (the monkeys and I) will extend an invitation to you.

  2. actionjackson5 says:

    I’m reading a few things now: “I am Brian Wilson” by Mike Love (just kidding, it’s by Brian Wilson)
    and “Jagger” by Marc Spitz, which starts with a preface detailing all the (justifiable) reasons people think Mick Jagger is just a rich jet-setting douche. One of the blurbs on the back is by Patton Oswalt, which is random but cool.

    As for music, I still dig The Weeknd with Daft Punk singing “I Feel it Coming.” The video is like something they found in a time capsule from the ’80s. Daft Punk in capes!

  3. taoreader says:

    Put together our journal’s newsletter, put out some literary fires (those are things that happen), griped about the lousy weather, and made myself a rather nice flatiron steak. A productive and tasty day.

    • hotspur says:

      Tell us more about these literary fires, if discretion allows.

      • taoreader says:

        Let’s see–writers who submit to literary journals can be surprisingly demanding. Like, getting an email that says “I SUBMITTED OVER SIX MONTHS AGO AND I’VE HEARD NOTHING” kind of stuff, which frankly I find hysterical. Or emails from writers we didn’t accept (we accept fewer than 5% of submissions) and they’re pissed. Not common, but it happens. Or, “I ordered my anthology three weeks ago and I still don’t have it!”

        And because we strive to be kind, I email these people back with explanations or apologies, when appropriate. Once someone wrote back saying, “Wow, thanks, I didn’t think anyone would respond to me. I appreciate it.” Which is nice, but really, just stop being a dick. Because I’m laughing at you.

  4. catweazle says:

    I was so sleepy yesterday but I managed to do a load of laundry before going to bed at 8PM. But then I woke up repeatedly throughout the night, like I think 2 hours was the most consecutive sleep I got, so it did not really help. I am definitely sick now, though it’s still ramping up. I was able to get through running today’s training session ok because my voice isn’t gone yet but I had to mute my line a couple of times to sniffle. Stupid body! These trainings are important and I don’t want to miss them but honestly I would probably still call in sick if it weren’t for the fact that I’m on call this weekend and I won’t get my overtime pay if I don’t work this whole week. Stupid overtime rules!

    I will recommend a movie I have been meaning to rewatch recently: Linda Linda Linda

    For Sense8 fans, one of the main characters is played by the actress who plays Sun and she is great!

  5. Sota says:

    Guys! Oh man I miss you all! My job doesn’t allow me to get to WordPress which is just annoying. Ps I also have no access to gchat which also blows. Anyways!!! Hi! I need to do better at commenting cause I miss you guys!

    My day is good so far. My boss is on vacay and the other woman on my team had to have her appendix out so I’m in charge. Woo! Tonight the BF and I are going to make dinner and go for a walk because the weather is wonderful here.

    What have you all been up to? Top 5 things I have missed…go! 😊

  6. FRQ says:

    Last night I had dinner at a seafood restaurant, it was a less than pleasant experience. It took them a long time to bring us our meals, plus they didn’t bring our appetizer. The waitress apologized and decided to make up for it by giving us a slice of banana creme cheesecake. I’m sure the cake was fine, but 1) we didn’t want dessert, and 2) I don’t really eat dairy due to stomach problems. I told her about my stomach, and if we could possibly get something else, but her response was to say “Trust me, this cake is worth it!” A great way to respond to a dietary restriction. She comes back with the cheesecake, and insists I have a bite. I remind her of my issue with dairy, and says that she’s not going to leave until I have a bite. I once again politely decline. She gave me the stink eye and walked away. I don’t know what possessed me to leave a tip at the end of the night, but needless to say I’m not going back there.

    • nastyemu says:

      Damn, that’s really bad. I would have been not as nice about all of that.

    • catweazle says:

      As a lactose intolerant person I am outraged on your behalf! You should have told her that if you took a bite you’d leave a trail of diarrhea all over the restaurant (not that that is necessarily the end result of your dairy problems but you know, a solid threat).

      • FRQ says:

        I probably would have been okay eating a little, but out of principle I refused to eat the cake. Also, If I wanted to indulge in dairy, I would have had hush puppies.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          As someone with stomach problems, I agree that you do need to choose your battles.

    • actionjackson5 says:

      When did Cheesecake Factory branch into seafood? Sounds like they’re working out the kinks.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Ummmm, that waitress is the worst!

      My mom is allergic to chicken and chicken broth. She went to a vegetarian restaurant, and out of habit, asked if there was chicken broth in the soup or chili. There was! At a vegetarian restaurant! 😦

      • taoreader says:

        That’s ridiculous.

        I once ordered room service in a very nice hotel and asked them to tell the chef that I was allergic to soy products. He sent up an entree with a HUGE SLAB OF TOFU on it. I called down and asked them to communicate to the chef that tofu is a soy product.

    • taoreader says:

      You are clearly a much nicer person than I am. That is terrible, terrible service.

  7. Kate says:

    So I have an odd recommendation. I have not been in a McDonalds in forever, ’cause I’m a grownup for gods sake, and I was hungry and thirsty on the road today so I stopped in. They have really picked up their game. There are different toppings and a choice of buns. I put the sweet bbq bacon topping on a buttermilk crispy chicken. Good.

    • mikaelajm says:

      Ooh, I have a somewhat similar recommendation. A few months ago on a roadtrip with a friend, we stopped at a Wendy’s because it was the least depressing option available. I tried a new menu item, the bacon sriracha cheese fries, and they were AMAZING. I got them again at an airport a few weeks later, and unsurprisingly the airport version was a bit of a downgrade, but I would still strongly recommend these fries.

  8. flanny says:

    This morning I had therapy and cried a whole bunch and have had a headache since then. 😦 The city I currently live in does NOT have a Dunkin Donuts (aka “Dunks”), but the city where my therapist is DOES, and it’s handily right on my way out of town from my therapist, so I’ve made it a habit of stopping at Dunks after my appointment and getting an iced coffee and an egg and cheese on an English muffin. So the whole time I was crying I kept thinking, “Ah, but at least soon you will be eating an egg and cheese on an English muffin and will be comforted by gross, plasticy fast food.” (My “issue” is not that I use food to comfort myself, so I don’t have any qualms about being comforted by food immediately following therapy.) But this morning they gave me the wrong sandwich and I didn’t realize it until I was on my way! It was, like, egg and cheese and ham on some sort of whole grain bagel. Ugg, I the reason I eat egg and cheese on an English muffin is because it is so very unhealthy! Whole grain does nothing to comfort me. Boooo.

    Otherwise, okay day.

    • catweazle says:

      This is a horrible story and you should get a refund next time you go 😦

    • hotspur says:

      I thought English muffins were good for you. They’re English! I mean, not as good for you as a Scotch egg, but still, really good. Breakfast of champions! (Champions circa 1587-1916.)

      • flanny says:

        I think you’re thinking of an actual English muffin, which is made of things like flour and water and whatever. I ordered a Dunkin Donuts English muffin, which is certainly made of wood shavings and recycled plastic.

        • hotspur says:

          Maybe you can comfort yourself knowing the whole grain bagel was neither whole grain nor a bagel.

  9. My day was pretty good. I got in an afternoon nap and watched junk tv most of the day. 2Tyke2saurus wasn’t too fussy and Tykeasaurus was pretty good too.
    I’d like to recommend The Leftovers if you haven’t already seen it. It’s weird but so so so good. It’s totally brutal and so well done and everyone in it is perfect. I love it. It’s ending this Sunday and I’m so excited/nervous for how much I’m going to cry.

  10. martinmegz says:

    For once I’m in the future, the tables have turned! Although I guess I’m still behind because I didn’t have much internet access yesterday. I had a nice day in Paris. I walked approximately three million steps up to Sacre Coeur then milled around outside the Louvre and ate a jambon baguette before the work activities started. In the evening we went to a room in the Eiffel Tower for the tournament draw ceremony then I scarfed down dinner and passed out. Vive le France!

Comments are closed.