Tuesday TV Talk

What are you watching lately? I haven’t been watching anything, so have a picture of my brother’s dog, Charlie, instead:

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. Whoa, that’s a big picture. But I’m guessing no one will mind.

  2. catweazle says:

    I spent my whole sick day on Friday watching Parks and Rec which was nice. I haven’t really watched anything else in the last week, but I do want to share with you all the painting I did at a “drink wine and paint” work party yesterday even though it has nothing to do with TV:

    • taoreader says:

      Your picture is perfect and encapsulates the whole idea behind painting while drinking.

      That’s a UFO spraying water on a fire-breathing dragon, yes?

      • catweazle says:

        That’s actually an alien-abduction ray, but I like your interpretation!

        • actionjackson5 says:

          I like the painting! I just watched the 2014 “Godzilla” for the first time the other day. I dug the whole “You don’t need to see the entire Godzilla for more than a few seconds in this movie. It was like the first “Jaws,” where less is more.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Please tell me that the leader or teacher wanted everyone to paint a version of her painting of a sunset or flower, but you just did this instead!

      • catweazle says:

        Ha ha, not this one. It was a “paint whatever you want” party but most people just painting like flowers or some boring shit so I had to bring the weird.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I started watching Terriers and Casual. Both are fine, but I’m not going to shout their praises from the rooftops.

    Martinmegz, have you seen Terriers? For some reason, I think you would like it.

    • martinmegz says:

      Hahaha I was fixing to protest your ambivalence to Terriers! Yeah I liked it. Agreed on Casual, though. I never got around to watching the new season.

    • mordonez says:

      Terriers…sigh. Was it the name that did it in? All sorts of shows get second seasons, and this one doesn’t? After a few episodes, I had an unreasonable love for that show. So Donal Logue-y.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I do like Terriers, I’m just not crazy about it yet. I’m only on episode 6, and I feel like it’s going to get better as it progresses.

      Have you guys seen Hap and Leonard? I only saw season 1, but it was pretty good. Very slow at first, but one episode towards the end is bonkers. Only 6 episodes I think.

      • mordonez says:

        I’ve read the first book, but have not seen the show as yet. The book was highly entertaining–made me want to read more.

  4. taoreader says:

    I’ve watched about five episodes of House of Cards and holy moly that show is intense. It’s awesome.

  5. taoreader says:

    Also, it seems to me that Theresa has opened the door for dog pics.

    Tiberius:

  6. Kate says:

    Omg American Gods. What the hell is that show? My husband and son love it, and I try to watch along to be a good sport. I’ve read recaps. I’m trying! It’s just crazy to me.

    • mordonez says:

      Well, it helps if you’ve read the book about a dozen times (cough cough). I like what they’ve done to flesh out, if you will, the Laura character. Plus, outta nowhere, it’s got Crispin Glover, just Glovering all over the dang place, and Gillian Anderson is having a grand old time. I’m always available for questions on this topic.

      • Kate says:

        I may have to take you up on that! So confused.

        • mordonez says:

          Maybe this will help, but I don’t know where you’re confused.

          1. When people emigrate, they bring their gods, who are real, but aren’t the ONLY instances of those gods. If not all of the Irish came to America, then Mad Sweeney, a towering character in irish folklore, still has a version kicking around in Ireland.
          2. These gods depend on belief to keep going. That’s what fuels them. So local incarnations of those gods depend on local people believing/worshiping/remembering.
          3. There are new “gods” (media, technology) because here in the good old USA, people go so far as to believe in that stuff, and they are placed in opposition to the old ones.
          4. The conflict between these two factions is really a [spoiler]

        • Kate says:

          That does help! Thanks!

  7. flanny says:

    I literally can’t even think of a thing I’m watching right now. Summer doldroms, I guess.

    This might be a picture of my cat watching Kimmy Schmidt a couple weeks ago. Or it could be gobeldygook. We’ll see!

    Bianca is strong as hell. #catsofinstagram

    A post shared by Carol Flanigan (@flannyluvssheep) on

  8. martinmegz says:

    I’ve been using my fire stick to watch Patriot at night while waiting for my sleeping pills to kick in. It’s an Amazon original; I never heard of it before but there’s slim pickings for what you can watch while abroad. I really like certain things about it but I don’t fully “get” the show or its plot so I’m not sure if I’ll finish it when I get home.

  9. Finished House of Cards and really liked this season.
    Watching Parks and Rec most days–so good!
    Bachelorette is really great this season. Rachel doesn’t have time for anyone’s shit.

  10. mordonez says:

    I’m a week behind on Twin Peaks because mrsdonez fell asleep last week during hour#4 (Heloooooooo), and we chose to catch up on American Gods this weekend instead.

    Also, my new insomnia-watch is (are?) old subtitled episodes of Maigret on the 4th string PBS station. I love it– he’s like a French Stephen Fry, but sadly (I just now learned) deceased. Also, there’s a newish British Maigret with Rowan Atkinson? The things you learn on this dang internet.

    Also, in bookgum news, if anyone a)already likes John Scalzi and smart sci fi and/or b)is interested in the first book of a new sci-fi series with interesting characters, setup, and interpersonal drama, I would suggest to you The Collapsing Empire, by said John Scazi, whose blog is also worth your attention.

    • flanny says:

      You reminded me that on my fourth-string PBS station I’ve been watching a German comedy about a guy who cleans up crime scenes. I believe it’s called “Crime Scene Cleaner.” While he cleans he usually ends up “talking” to the ghost of the dead person (who is just, I think, a figment of his imagination), but the one I first saw he was having a long conversation at the crime scene with a sex worker who had been hired by the dead person. It’s bizarre and irreverant, and often lol funny.

    • gnidrah says:

      Save yourself from the new Maigret. Take it from a Brit. You don’t need to see Mr Bean pretending to be a French detective.

      • mordonez says:

        I saw a trailer, and it was pretty amazing to me that they were just going to brazenly ask audiences to suspend disbelief– just pretend they’re speaking French, or sound French. Just call him Major and set it in Jolly Old England, what what?

        Ugh, why even do it. Make another French one if you must, and if you need to make a jarring casting decision, cast Kristin Scott Thomas or something ..

Comments are closed.