It’s Project Club Time! Plus, Let’s Air Some Grievances.

Here’s the link to last week’s post. I relaxed! This week I need to return a pair of sneakers because I found better, cheaper ones, and I’m really going to try to limit my internet time.

Project Club BONUS ROUND: Let’s talk about small, petty stuff that’s annoying us right now. When the world is such a trash heap, it can feel weird and inappropriate to gripe about minor things, but that doesn’t mean they stop sucking! So I’m giving everyone permission to bitch as much as you want about whatever in this post. I’ll start: It’s been too warm at night to sleep with a blanket and yet I can’t sleep without a blanket and it’s just the worst.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to It’s Project Club Time! Plus, Let’s Air Some Grievances.

  1. flanny says:

    COMPLAINT: Because have a very basic grasp of how user-friendly computer programs work, I was tasked many months ago with introducing some of the less tech-savvy members of my office to our software’s new interface. This requires me inviting them through the interface, them signing in using a password they probably forgot, and then me pointing at things on a screen. We rolled out the new interface in, like, January, and just today my months-from-retirement coworker was like, “I need to get into the new interface, please show me.” So I sent her the invite and she replied back that it won’t recognize her password. LITERALLY AT THIS POINT CLICK “I FORGOT MY PASSWORD” AND MAKE A NEW ONE! I would be less annoyed if one of my coworkers, who is maybe two years older than me, asked me the exact same question. Reset your password at the provided link, guys! That’s all I’m going to tell you to do!

    • flanny says:

      I was so annoyed I forgot a couple of words. I have a basic grasp, and then later on, I would be less annoyed if one of my coworkers HADN’T asked me the same question. I’m basically Nick Burns except I have no formal training and just follow basic problem-solving procedures.

    • I’ll admit it – I’m super ageist when it comes to technology. It’s not rocket science, they could figure it out if they tried even a little bit. Also baby boomers are the worst. I’ve complained about this before but my boss likes to pretend he doesn’t need reading glasses so he complains that the font is always too small and prints things out in ridiculous sizes and gets mad at me if I print in normal sizes.

      • flanny says:

        I am generally ageist (and also I hate baby boomers so so much), but then one of my coworkers who is younger than me asked if we had to register a hashtag we were using.

      • FRQ says:

        I used to be a tutor at a computer center that caters to people that are older or can’t afford their own. I almost never got frustrated with any of the students, mainly because there is no one I have dealt with more often and more computer illiterate than my dad.

    • hotspur says:

      I will totally cosign all Boomer vs Computer complaints. I get it, computers didn’t exist when you started out, Boomers, but come the hell on, could you cave at least a little? They are not a fad like bellbottoms were, where if you didn’t wear bellbottoms to the Steppenwolf concert then it didn’t matter because two years later your pants were right in vogue at the Kramer vs Kramer screening party. Or whatever Boomers thought was fun. NOT USING COMPUTERS IS NEVER GOING TO COME INTO STYLE AT THE OFFICE.

      One of these types came around earlier this week to ask me how to rotate the image on her desktop. We are using software that shows the image and has six clickable buttons. One of which is a picture of an image with a circular arrow around it. YOU TELL ME WHICH BUTTON YOU THINK IT MIGHT BE.

      I’d showed her this button did the day before. “But I can’t remember how you made the image flip around.”

      Now, Monsters. if you didn’t remember which button OF THE SIX did what you wanted, wouldn’t you just try them all until one worked? And before it even got that far, wouldn’t you be able to parse out that it’s the button that is A PICTURE OF ROTATING??

      Come on, show a little pride and try not to appear helpless.

      (CAVEAT: Millennials are almost as bad, caring so much about the latest app. “You’re not on Slack?? You should get on it!” one said to me all bright-eyed this week. No, I should not get on it, it is the 2017 equivalent of an onion on your belt. But I’m sure to them I look just as bad as a Boomer. “That old dude doesn’t know Slack… SMH… yeah, the poorly dressed dude in the corner.”)

  2. catweazle says:

    I finally finished unpacking in preparation for my ill-fated birthday party. My place looks so nice all of a sudden! My living room looks huge! There’s so much visible floor space that isn’t covered in shit! Now that that’s out of the way I need to a) finally assemble the kitchen cart I bought weeks and weeks ago, and b) start hanging up all the wall art I have. The space is so different from my last place I kind of don’t know how to approach the decorating part. It probably won’t actually happen for a while.

    I feel like I have been doing nothing but griping about petty grievances lately but here’s a new one: there’s been some road construction on my block recently and a couple of days ago they put in some of those metal planks covering parts of the street that I assume they’re going to fill in later. The street I live on is huge and busy so I’m used to getting a lot of road noise, but when large vehicles drive fast over these metal thingies it actually shakes my building so I keep thinking there’s an earthquake.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Well, I did almost nothing on last week’s list – I rescheduled my dentist appointment, put off cleaning the bathroom for this upcoming weekend, and didn’t finish as much as I should have on my freelance project. I do feel like I’ve been pretty productive in other areas, so I’m not going to get too down on myself about it.

    I definitely like this bonus round idea!

  4. gnidrah says:

    Theresa – can you try sleeping with a bedsheet over you instead of a blanket? I have the same problem about getting to sleep without any covers, I feel odd and then can’t drop off, but in the summer I am using a single sheet and it seems to be working!

  5. taoreader says:

    I’m trying to schedule a minor medical procedure, but the phone lady refuses to schedule it, telling me she doesn’t have the paperwork for it, which is ridiculous because it’s something I’ve done a few times a year every year for the LAST TWENTY YEARS. She tells me to talk to my doc. I message my doc and get no response. I followed up with a phone call today to my doc’s office and got a machine, and I just hope someone listens to it.

    So, my complaint is, why do doctors never talk to each other? Come on phone lady, just call or email my doc for what you need. Why is that so much to ask!?!?!

    On the plus side, I wrote 2000 words last week of my own writing on my own book, not writing for anyone else or anything else. So take that, life.

  6. martinmegz says:

    I need to finish an article about the event that was the whole reason for my trip to Europe, so that rates pretty high on the project list this week. But I’m struggling with jet lag in a way that I’ve never experienced before and I’ve lost every night this week to passing out early.

    My petty grievance is related to John Wick 2, which came out on Blu-ray this week. I pre-ordered it ten weeks ago and I’ve been so excited for it to get here. All day on Tuesday I was singing songs about watching the special features and I couldn’t wait to go home and watch it, because Amazon said it was left in my mailbox early that day.

    But when I got home, John was nowhere to be found! Eventually I figured out that my building manager thought I was still out of town, and locked John in the office to keep him safe. So he had great intentions and I appreciate it, but my whole Tuesday plan to watch the movie with commentary was destroyed. Yes, this is as petty as I thought it would be when I started typing. I am nothing if not on task.

  7. It’s too hot out already!!!
    Which means I have a kind of limited window to take a walk which kind of stresses me out (plus I take shorter walks than I otherwise would cause I gotta keep the baby cool).
    I want to lose the baby weight immediately but it’s so much easier to eat convenient, unhealthy food.
    I want to do something cool and funky to my hair but it’s gonna be expensive and I have to schedule around my husband’s availability so he can watch the kids.

    Okay, that’s enough petty stuff. It’s nice to write it out and reread it and feel silly about how petty it is and know I’m actually really lucky.

  8. hotspur says:

    Project-wise I came up with a furniture solution that I’m excited about. (This is where last week’s project of cleaning the place led me.) Instead of replacing an old bookcase, I’m going to put doors on it. It will be an enjoyable construction project AND cheaper than buying a new item.

    I have no petty complaints except that last night instead of writing, I caught up on movies I’ve been semi-meaning to watch for a year: It Follows, Doctor Strange, and Comic Book: Civil War. It Follows was verrrry disturbing and excellent. Strange was enjoyable, fine. Civil War was enjoyable for most of its four hours but I kept having two thoughts: 1) If I knew anything about the Marvel Universe, would I find it “unrealistic” that these characters all end up fighting each other like this? Maybe I would, and 2) There goes what’s-his-name, Chris Evans — I’m friends with his wife online!

  9. Erika says:

    I’ve been very productive, but not necessarily in tackling the projects I originally had on my to-do list. I still haven’t reupholstered that chair! But I have been going to the gym and eating right, applying for a lot of jobs, working on the SQL training course I bought an embarrassing length of time ago, and putting the house in order. Yesterday I changed the caulking in the bathtub.

    I guess what I’d want to rant about is the annoying aspects of job searches.

    Like how every company has its own job application portal which requires you to upload your resume and fill out the application yourself. Can’t you just look at my resume? What gets me is how they want information that often isn’t on a resume (an employer’s address and phone number) and also has a field for job responsibilities, which would already be on any resume.

    Recruiters who pose as legitimate job offers get to me, as do government jobs that are only open to internal applicants but inexplicably are published in public forums. I’ve already been fooled by that twice.

    I’m also not a fan of job applications that ask for salary history and expectations. Tell me what you’re paying and I’ll take it or leave it or negotiate. But asking me even before an interview process has started tells me that I’m not getting a call back if my standards are too high and/or having standards that are too low means that the employer is looking to take advantage of that to underpay me.

Comments are closed.