How Was Your Weekend?

It was a MILLION DEGREES here this weekend, so on Saturday I stayed inside where it was safe and air-conditioned. Sunday I ventured out to get some work done at a coffee shop and then met my parents and aunt and uncle for lunch. I was so hungry and my pasta was so good that I didn’t leave any leftovers, so I’m pretty annoyed with Past Me right now.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. catweazle says:

    I had brunch with my family on Saturday and much to my surprise my older sister actually showed! So I got to hang out with the baby which was the best birthday present of all. Yesterday I went to see both Rough Night and Wonder Woman. Rough Night was dumb but funny. There were only like five other people in the theater with me and OF COURSE two of them decided to sit in my row and periodically talk throughout the movie. I gave them a “what the fuck” look when they sat in my row but they were not scared off somehow. Wonder Woman was good except ONCE AGAIN I was sitting by talkers. These ones were in the row in front of me and talked nonstop for like the entire Island-of-the-Ladies intro part and then off and on throughout the rest of the movie. I wanted to punch them. And then on the bus ride home from the theater this couple sat in front of me and spent the whole ride making out. I DID NOT CONSENT TO BE A PART OF YOUR MAKEOUT YOU ASSHOLES! I am very proud that I managed to not physically assault any of these clowns who were clearly testing me.

  2. martinmegz says:

    I met up with friends to watch John Wick Chapter 2 on Friday but the night was a bust because one friend’s flight was delayed so he didn’t show up until 11p and another friend was upset about something shitty that happened at work. So I went home and watched all the Blu-ray special features and they are excellent. I watched also Gifted, starring Theresa’s husband, and I started reading Six Four, a Japanese detective novel.

    Something bad happened this morning on my way to work. As I took the first step down the stairs leaving my apartment, I felt a pop in my right calf; now I’m hobbling around, because if the muscle engages there’s a sharp pain. My boss is super nice about stuff like this and he immediately said I can take off to go to Urgent Care, but I’m going to wait a bit. He brought me ice and Advil and said he’ll get anything I need today so I don’t have to walk, which is really nice.

    • Is Gifted any good? I love my husband but his taste in projects is…inconsistent, let’s say, and I never know when I’m better off just searching for the Tumblr gifs.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Tell me more about this detective novel. It has decent reviews on Goodreads. Might have to check it out.

      • martinmegz says:

        I’ve been reading a lot of fiction by Japanese authors lately and enjoying the pace and plots, especially Keigo Higashino. I’m about 20% of the way through Six Four — it’s long — and it’s good so far. There’s an unsolved kidnapping and murder of a little girl from 14 years ago that is one year away from the statute of limitations so it’s back in the spotlight. The criminal detectives are at odds with the media relations department, which is also under attack from the press, and the main character is trying to unravel what the hell is going on while also dealing with the stress of his daughter having run away and his wife refusing to leave the house for fear the daughter will call while she’s out.

    • martinmegz says:

      Well I’m on crutches for now, I tore a calf muscle.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    This weekend included many great things, and a few not so great things.

    Pros:
    Cleaned the bathroom
    Purged some junk
    Went to a car show, and the weather was perfect
    Got chocolate cake from the restaurant with the best chocolate cake

    Cons:
    20 minutes of sobbing because my OCD was triggered by something dumb
    Didn’t do any shopping (the car show was at a mall)
    Got really sick to my stomach last night

    Despite the cons, I’m still giving the weekend an A+

    • actionjackson5 says:

      Congrats on the chocolate cake. Kudos for not bombing Syria when you were done.

      (Too political?)

  4. hotspur says:

    Saturday night was highly enjoyable. The friend and I parked ourselves at the German bar and discussed life for four hours. I ordered the schnitzel with spaetzle. Does it get any better than that? Yeah, it does, but that was pretty great.

    Sunday, to clear shelf space as part of my epic apartment cleanup, I went through all my remaining CDs. This was a 15-hour project. I ripped the unripped ones and divided the whole collection into two piles. Pile 1: CDs I’m bringing to Amoeba tonight, to sell, which ended up being two shopping bags full, or about 125 CDS. Pile 2: CDs I’m keeping for a variety of reasons. Such as reason 2a, because they have sentiment attached, like “This was my college gf’s favorite EP”; or 2b, they are badges of how cool I once was, a la “I bought this Nirvana CD in September 1991, fully four weeks before everybody else”; or 2c, it’s a band that a friend of mine was in, so even if I never listen to it, e.g., “Crush You” by The Rosemary Pure (1995), there is a level of loyalty that forbids me from parting with it; or 2d, it is one of the good classical CDs that were curated for me by a classical music aficionado instead of one of the shitty discount classical CDs I picked out myself; or finally, reason 2e, even if it is mediocre, if it is a rare/out of print/import CD, such as “Conscious Consumer” by X-Ray Spex (actually that is the only CD that qualified under 2e).

    Pile 2 is about 90 CDs. And that will be all the CDs I have in my apartment from now on, I suspect.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I worked at a used CD store when I was younger. It was such a fun job. I remember we had SO MANY copies of R.E.M.’s Monster. Did you have that one in your collection? I’ve never owned it, but apparently a lot of people did and regretted it.

      • hotspur says:

        Funny you mention that specific CD! This morning as I toted the bags to my car, I was actually thinking how surprised I was that Monster did not turn up yesterday. That means I must’ve got rid of it in my 2013 purge, when I sold about 240 CDs.

        “Wow,” I thought as I walked along, impressed with myself, “Guess I was more ruthless in ’13 than I get credit for!” Because I really like 2-3 songs on Monster. Of course, “What’s the Frequency Kenneth” remains popular in syndication (aka it remains in light rotation on my PC).

  5. flanny says:

    I took the train down to Chicago first thing Saturday morning. I was really worried about a couple of things during this trip. The first one was that there wouldn’t be any parking spots left in the free secure long-term parking lot at the station and that I’d have to park in the pay lot across the street. And i worried that it would rain all weekend. But there were three or four spots still open in the free parking lot, so I’m glad I got to the station basically an hour early.
    I went to Chicago to see The King and I with my friend that I went to Thailand with so we could recreate the magic of the vaction, and even before we saw the show we went to a restaraunt that had Thai street food. It was delicious! And the weather ended up being mostly great! But we didn’t really care because we ended up spending most of the time we weren’t eating or seeing a musical sitting on my friend’s couch watching RuPaul. That’s what the friend watched when she was sick in Thailand, so it felt appropriate.

  6. Kate says:

    We got back from our family summer vacation last night. It involved a lot of touring—a LOT of touring. My poor old feet. We did the Normandy region of France ending up in Paris. I’m never eating or drinking again. Or walking. I guess there was another car terrorist in Paris this morning–got out just in the nick of time.

    • hotspur says:

      I want to go to France. I’ve seen pictures, and it looks nice. So I am jealous, but also, I know nothing about French wine. In restaurants I would be like, “Which one is most like a California syrah? I’ll have that one,” and they would put me on iceberg and set me adrift. Oh France, in the end I will know your City of Lights so poorly but your icebergs so well.

      The terrorism news has been very upsetting. London can’t catch a break, and I keep thinking of gnidrah and hoping she is holding up (Hi, gnidrah. I am sending good feelings your way. I wish there were something more to do. Let me/everyone know if there is.)

      • I just watched the French movie Things To Come on Netflix, which is basically about Isabelle Huppert having a very sophisticated mid-life crisis while wearing great outfits and wandering through gorgeous locations. The French tourism board had to have some kind of hand in it. My own mid-life crisis will never measure up.

Leave a Reply

