Tuesday TV Talk

I don’t have any TV thoughts, but if you’re looking to step up your binge-watching game, I have a recommendation.  Above is the C Seed 262, where the “262” stands for 262 inches, making it the largest 4K television in existence.  The screen is 20 x 8.5 feet, and weighs over 1700 pounds.  This monster boast an impressive 7 million LEDs, 800 nits of brightness, a ten speaker sound system, a 160-degree viewing angle, and a remote controlled fabric canvas to cover the screen when you’re not using it.  All of this can be yours for the low low price of $539,000, with an additional $40,000 for installation.  It’s a steep price, but the final season of Game of Thrones is coming up, and really, how else are you supposed to watch it?

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I finished Terriers. It’s too bad it got canceled, but the finale worked as either a season or series finale, so I’m glad for that.

    I was surprised to see it ranked on IMDB’s Top 250 TV shows. Especially when Veronica Mars did not make the cut. My love for Veronica Mars is like flanny’s love for One Direction or martinmegz’s love for Keanu, so maybe my opinion is bias, but I think season one of Veronica Mars is one of the best single seasons of television. Terriers was very good, I just didn’t love it as much as other mystery/detective shows.

    Any other recommendations for shows similar to Veronica Mars and Terriers?

    • Have you watched Life, with Damien Lewis and Sarah Shahi? It was also canceled too soon, but had an interesting story and similar vibes.

      Totally agree about season one of VM.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I think Life has been in my Netflix list for a while, but I always forget about it for some reason. I will check it out!

    • martinmegz says:

      Have you seen Justified?

    • gnidrah says:

      The Missing? Is that available anywhere for you? Either series. You’ll be hooked despite yourself!

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I saw the first season. I don’t have the channel that aired season 2, but I had forgotten about it, so I’ll see if it’s available through Amazon or Hulu, etc. Thanks for reminding me about that one!

        • gnidrah says:

          I thought the second was great. Albeit terrifying!

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Nice! I really liked the first season. Is it the same detective, different case? I swear I saw commercials for it a while back.

  2. Kate says:

    😲😳🤤

    🎅🏻?

  3. taoreader says:

    That picture is the very definition of gaudy. And it does seem that we’re making huge strides toward a more literal Orwellian society.

    Anyone else watching Juana Inez on Netflix? It’s based on the life of Juana Inez de la Cruz and takes place in 17th century colonial Mexico city, which is ruled by a Spanish Viceroy and the Catholic church. She’s a brilliant poet, writer, and philosopher, so you know The Man is always trying to keep her down.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I would never want to have that light fixture. I guess if you are rich enough to afford that TV* and that chandelier, you are probably rich enough to hire someone to dust it and change the light bulbs, but still.

      *$600,000 for a TV? My number one hobby is watching TV, but even if I had a billion dollars, I could not imagine ever spending that much on a TV.

      • hotspur says:

        Right? If I won Powerball and had $800 million, I still wouldn’t buy that.

        I mean, I would buy a lot of stupid crap, just not that.

        I’d buy you guys all houses. Or at least one big nice house someplace fun where we could all meet up in whenever we wanted. But it would have a 60-inch TV, tops.

      • FRQ says:

        THEN YOU’RE NOT A REAL TV FAN.

        j/k. Also I just realized that the picture above is the TV with the protective fabric cover on. Super classy.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I started watching Riverdale because I needed a show that was not a sitcom to watch in 10 minute increments while I eat breakfast or play Candy Crush. It has a few good qualities, but the acting is pretty bad. It’s silly, but I’m sure I’ll end up watching it all anyway.

    • I just started Riverdale yesterday!!!
      I really like it even though everything you say is true. It scratches that pulpy, dumb, beautiful itch that I need right now. Murder mystery but also teen drama? Yes please!

  5. martinmegz says:

    Yo if I drop half a mil on that TV, there’s no way I’m going to cover it with canvas.

    There’s nothing all that exciting on TV right now, although I do think Rachel is a fantastic Bachelorette. I’d like to note that Keanu has two movies coming out (Bad Batch and To the Bone), and both were written and directed by women so that’s pretty cool.

    • She’s an incredible bachelorette! I like when she has no fucks to give about men being shitty. Can’t wait til Lee leaves, because I find him boring and don’t think we should give shitheels like that any validation.
      I have Dean as either winner or next Bachelor. Hated him at first for that opening line but he was growing on me and then won me over last night with his “Lee seems to be attacking people he’s not used to seeing on a daily basis from a cultural perspective…..you know what I mean.”

  6. catweazle says:

    Geez louise, you could shrink almost 58 pairs of boobs with that much money!

    I think the only new thing I watched this week was the RuPaul’s Drag Race season 9 reunion episode and it was BANANAS. I went back and forth on Aja during the season but I officially love her after she interrupted Valentina in the middle of her Miss Congeniality acceptance speech to say she didn’t deserve it because she was secretly a bitch. THE DRAMA! And Farrah Moan saying Valentina didn’t love her. Oh my god. I wish Alexis Michelle hadn’t been let off the hook so easy for complaining about the other queens not warning her that her outfits sucked, and it was really a bummer to see that Nina is still spinning paranoid conspiracy theories in her head, but otherwise it was an extremely entertaining hour of television.

    I don’t know how I feel about the finale next week being a sudden death lipsync tournament. Like, I love Peppermint but she performed way below the other three in the season but she’s probably the best lipsyncher there so she could theoretically win despite the fact that she only won one challenge to Shea’s four? I call shade.

  7. hotspur says:

    I got 50 bucks for my CDs last night. The market is not what it used to be. The highest values were an Arcade Fire that was still sealed and a Funkadelic CD that fetched $2 each, I think? Not sure, it was a blur of sorting and math. Anyway I got a store credit that I immediately spent on DVDs & Blu-Rays, then I went home and watched one of them — Kick-Ass, the superhero movie ($5.99).

    I really enjoyed it in the theater, but it does not 100% hold up all these years later. Maybe 65%? The obscenities and violence must have benefited from the large screen (my TV is 40 inches, FOR SHAME), there’s way too much voiceover explaining what’s happening, and the main character is less interesting than every other character. That said, Cage is fun, and I did enjoy the violence. In 2010 I thought Chloe Grace Moretz was pretty remarkable in this, but in 2017 I felt more sensitive to the crap they put her through. The tone of the movie is never quite in focus enough to make the whole idea of her hyperviolent 11-year-old work.

    I have 4-5 more new DVDs to watch. Maybe I will Unnecessary one of them. I dunno you guys, it’s a pretty mixed bag.

    • taoreader says:

      Please unnecessary one of them! Can we pick? Guess a number?

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I’m surprised (and happy) that a store that sells CDs even exists anymore. I still buy CDs when I buy an album, but Best Buy is the closest thing to a music store in my suburban area, and they don’t have a big selection. The used CD store I used to work for is still around, but I think they mostly do DVDs and video games now. The local music store that sold indie music and other fun stuff went out of business years ago. I miss browsing at a record store!

      Fun fact: A guy brought in a small stack of DVDs to sell to the place I worked at. They were still sealed, so I gave him the going rate, and off he went. My friend stopped in to visit me after his shift at Circuit City, and told me some guy stole a bunch of DVDs from them that night. I was like, “Ummmm, these DVDs?” Whoops!

      • hotspur says:

        Interesting! When I sold mine, they made me show my license. They wrote down its number and asked for a signature. A foolproof anti-crime system.

        • hotspur says:

          PS: Circuit City!! Do those still exist??

        • mordonez says:

          Circuit City is long gone–they fired all of their long term “knowing things” employees to reduce payroll costs, and would you believe it, that didn’t help? They then tried to be the online-only partner of TigerDirect, and failed.

          But hey, watch out, because:
          http://www.twice.com/news/retail/circuit-city-set-return-spring/60261

          And also, here is a stanza of Hold Steady lyrics relevant to this topic, in a way. I think people call her Circuit City because she’s got just what they needed? In which case the Steve Perry part of the line is weird because Steve Perry wasn’t in the Cars? Anyway.

          She said my name is Steve Perry but people call me Circuit City.
          I’m so well connected. my UPC is dialed into the system.
          She said my name’s Neil Schon but some people call me Nina Simone.
          Some people call me Andre Cymone.
          I’ve survived the eighties one time already.
          And I don’t recall them all that fondly.

          Thank you for reading an extensive Circuit City update a day after it would have been relevant.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          This was over 15 years ago. We didn’t have this fancy ‘show us your driver’s license’ technology. I should have prefaced this with, “Back in my day, we had Circuit City…”

Leave a Reply

