It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

What are you up to this weekend? A friend of mine got a new puppy and I’m going to see it tonight, so I don’t even care about whatever else I might be doing. PUPPY.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

  1. I’m going to a wedding tomorrow! It should be pretty fun except that it’s 2 hours away and we’ve got a babysitter so we’re basically paying for four hours of just drive time. Babysitters are expensive you guys. Also I heard that the last dance is at 9:45 which seems crazy early for a 6pm wedding!
    Sunday my older kid is going to spend a few days with her grandparents because my husband is going out of town for work so that way I’ll only have to worry about the baby, but that gives us Sunday to relax a little before he leaves Monday.

  2. taoreader says:

    The university where I got my MFA is having their residency starting today, so I’ll get to hang out with all my writing peeps! Alcohol will be involved.

  3. catweazle says:

    Tonight I’m planning to go to a viewing party for the Drag Race finale at a bar in Boystown. Sunday is the Pride parade and every year I say I’m going to go but I’ve never actually gone. But I really am going to try to go this time! I have my Squeeze class performance in the evening but I should still be able to be there for part of the parade. I am glad Squeeze class is ending because it was a bit of a disappointment. I’m not taking a class next session because of money issues and it’s going to be weird having my Saturday afternoons free. I expect I will spend it playing Zelda.

    P.S. I just got my flights/hotel booked for my work trip to Toronto at the end of August so if you have any suggestions for things to do there please let me know!

  4. hotspur says:

    This weekend is cabinet-improving weekend. Tonight I’ll stain the wooden legs, then tomorrow I’ll varnish em, and Sunday morning I’ll attach em to the cabinet, plus some braces to make it more rigid. I fully expect to spend 6-8 hours on this, plus 1-2 hours staring and wondering if I am doing it right.

    Saturday night I am going to meet friends in a bar to plan a 4th of July camping trip. Sunday night I will test-run a new chili recipe that I plan to bring on that trip, provided I drew “chili” in the meal-plan division of labor.

    Also, as always, vampires. But I am confident I will achieve all my goals if I wake up early and make no big mistakes.

  5. flanny says:

    I had a dream last night that I saw One Direction in concert again, just the four of them in a small venue and it was very emotional.

    This weekend I’m going to try to go to the car dealership and start the process of purchasing my leased car! I’m terrified!

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I hope to catch up on sleep. I don’t think I have to be anywhere at any particular time, so I’m hoping to not even have to set an alarm.

    I have a list of productive stuff to do, but there are also a few tentative fun things that might happen.

    I also want to watch a good movie this weekend! I’m thinking about Nocturnal Animals – has anyone seen that? Any other recommendations?

    • martinmegz says:

      I would like movie recommendations, too! We have the ability to watch virtually any movie ever made on demand and I can’t ever figure out what to watch.

      The other night I watched a movie called Everybody Loves Somebody because it has amazing reviews on Rotten Tomatoes, and it’s fine. Just fine. A romcom half in Spanish, half in English. The weirdest thing about it is that a major plot point is how the lead guy is so pretty and easy on the eyes, but he’s really average looking so it’s very distracting that they keep talking about how hot he is.

      I did enjoy Gifted, starring Theresa’s husband. And it should go without saying that if you haven’t seen John Wick Chapter 2, you need to get on that, stat.

      The other day I watched Because I Said So, because for some reason I remembered liking that movie. It’s terrible! What a stupid movie and Diane Keaton is beyond terrible in it! Maybe I just have fond memories of how cute Gabriel Macht is in it?

      • martinmegz says:

        Look at this! 4% for Because I Said So, but also his highest-rated movie is 56%! Poor Gabe!

      • flanny says:

        There is no movie I hate more than Because I Said So. Everyone is insufferable in it and their problems are all the worst and there’s an extended furniture rearranging scene where all the dialouge is arguing and at the end the furniture is in the same place??? THE WORST.

        I watched Howards End last night. Admittedly it’s one of my favorite books and I used to watch the movie a lot in my youth, but it’d been a few years since I last watched it. It’s still very very good and Emma Thompson is very deserving of that Oscar and literally every Oscar, tbh.

    • martinmegz says:

      Oh returning to the question about TV shows from Tuesday, have you seen Psych? That’s a great show.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I have not, but will add it to my list!

        I’ll definitely check out John Wick 2 soon. It’s now available for $5 instead of $15 through Google Play. 🙂

  7. mordonez says:

    Heck of a busy weekend and week. Tomorrow early morning we’re heading to the American Library Association conference (free stuff, author signings etc). Hooray for free passes!

    After that, it’s on to the sportsball game at 1PM, where there will be a touching ceremony for the jersey retirement of White Sox great Mark Buehrle. Stubhub has a ton of tickets available from about 10bux if Chicago monsters are bored.

    Is that enough? Yes. However, I’m being roped into going to an incredibly terrible music experience because mrsdonez’s sister could not get out of work, so I will be taking in the highly relevant musical stylings of Def Leppard, Poison, and Tesla with several thousand unreconstructed 80s dirtbags. But I will smile at it, as it was correctly pointed out that she’s sat through a bunch of shows that she didn’t care about.

    Sunday we will go back to ALA (because free, and free books) before retreating in the afternoon so mrsdonez can work at the bookstore.

    Monday night, a concert w/my dad.
    Tuesday night work
    Wednesday night music class followed by a 10PM concert
    Thursday band rehearsal followed by rescheduled late night tennis
    Friday off from work, headed to Milwaukee to see Paul Simon.
    Will I survive it all?

    • flanny says:

      A Chicagoan heading to Milwaukee to see a concert?!?! I hope it ends up like this!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I know some people going to that Def Leppard show. I am not one of those people.

      Pro tip: leave like ten minutes early to beat the insane traffic after the show. I used to live near there, and some nights, the traffic was just terrible.

      • hotspur says:

        I bet Def Leppard will be fun. I saw them 11-12 years ago with coworkers. Not bad at all!

        Good luck enduring the Tesla segment.

        • mordonez says:

          They were fine? Totally not my thing at all, but not terrible. I succeeded in missing Tesla by being stuck in traffic, and Poison was ALMOST comically awful, but couldn’t clear the bar and were merely awful.

Leave a Reply

