How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was good! The weather was nice, barring a few quick thunderstorms, so on Saturday I ran around and got a ton of errands done, including going to the library and the farmer’s market and even my nemesis, the bank. Then on Sunday I lounged and binged Glow on Netflix (my verdict: very fun, and will make you want to listen to every 80’s playlist you can find).

As a bonus, please enjoy this picture of my brother’s dog Charlie in his new, veterinarian-prescribed sun goggles.

IMG_0199

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. flanny says:

    I got A NEW CAR!!

    I went to the dealership on Saturday, just to figure out how to buy the car I was leasing and over my milage by 20K. But somehow the dealership figured out that for $100 more a month I could get a brand new car with some bells and whistles that I wanted (heated seats!) and an extended warranty. I had to bribe myself with tacos in order to actually go to the dealership, and then three hours later I rolled up to the taco place in my new ride. I’m taking her back to the dealership this afternoon to get her detailed and to drop off the spare keys to my old car. IT’S VERY BIZARRE.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    My weekend was just fine, but, as always, went by too fast. I didn’t get as much done as I should have, but was productive enough to not feel guilty about it.

    I watched Nocturnal Animals. My verdict is that I am not mad that I spent $5.99 to watch it. There were a lot of nice looking shots, good performances, and an interesting story structure.

    Because I am a big nerd, I always read up on a movie after I watch it, and the comment section on the AV Club kept talking about how great Jake Gyllenhal is in Nightcrawler. So on Saturday, I watched that. Also fine! And free because it was on Netflix.

    The best part of the weekend was catching up on sleep. I feel so refreshed compared to the end of last week.

    • martinmegz says:

      I watched Fate of the Furious and King Arthur. Charlize Theron’s dreads were very distracting in Fate and I maintain Fast Five is the best movie in that franchise, plus it’s really sad to watch a Fast and Furious movie without Paul Walker/

      King Arthur is super weird and bad, which is so disappointing! Charlie Hunnam is charismatic and charming, so you can see a glimpse of a good movie in his scenes, but then there’s all this nutty supernatural special effects stuff that’s absurd and stupid. I can’t imagine what Guy Ritchie was thinking.

      This review title sums up my opinion exactly: King Arthur: Legend of the Sword is bad in ways I didn’t realize movies could be bad. The sad part is that you can see a good movie beneath the terrible edits that destroyed it.

      • hotspur says:

        I felt so sure KA:LotS would stink that I didn’t see it, so thanks for ending all doubt.

        As a kid (11-19), I loved King Arthur, but the painful truth is, there has never been a good KA movie. Excalibur (1981) is really great at points, but overall, it is also dumb. The armor is from the wrong time period and so is Lancelot’s haircut. Observe:

        This looks like a still from a misguided Olivia Newton-John video.

  3. catweazle says:

    I went to a gay bar to watch the Drag Race finale and it was fun except that it was so crowded and this horrible woman was standing where everybody was trying to walk through the room which was of course right in front of the stool I was sitting on, and instead of saying “excuse me” to the horrible woman and asking her to move, everybody just barrelled directly into me and one guy who was coming out of the bathroom accidentally rubbed his wet hand on my hand and I wanted to die. Anyway, I had had the winner spoiled for me because the internet is a nightmare but I still enjoyed the show.

    Saturday I had an impromptu brunch with my mom and little sister who just came back from Europe. Other sister and baby were supposed to come but canceled because baby had a meltdown. Rude!

    Yesterday I skipped the Pride parade because I had not had like a single free moment all weekend so I slept in and played Zelda until it was time to go to my Squeeze show. The show went pretty well and now I am not doing anything at the school for at least the next two months if not the next four. What will I do with my Saturdays??

  4. martinmegz says:

    I didn’t really move much this weekend but I justified it because I’m letting my leg heal. Of course there’s no excuse for why I didn’t get any work done, but oh well. In addition to the movies I talked about above, I watched John Wick 2 with the commentary from Keanu and director Chad Stahelski. They had some interesting stories about behind-the-scenes stuff and technical issues with lighting and filming, but I would have liked more insight into the world and mythology of John Wick.

  5. martinmegz says:

    Can we get more info on the doggie sunglasses? To paraphrase Happy Endings, who prescribed these, Dr. Style?

    • Poor Charlie has a lot of trouble with his eyes, and he can’t really see in bright sunlight anymore, so the vet recommended trying these out. Apparently they work but Charlie hates them. Probably because he doesn’t know how cool he looks.

  6. hotspur says:

    My weekend plan to improve furniture met with a slowdown, as varnish took longer to dry than expected. I decided to clean a bunch while waiting, and this ended up filling hours, with one positive result and one negative.

    Positive: I unearthed 3 crates of unread magazines (2006-2009) that I saved because I thought some day I’d get around to them. Eleven years feels like I gave them a fair shot, so I pitched them. Woohoo, so much storage space opened up! Plus I tore off the covers first to mail to my mom because sometimes she does decoupage with magazine covers.

    Negative: Literally 12 years of dust was kicked up when I got behind furniture I haven’t moved since moving in, plus varnish smell, plus insecticide powders laid down during a building-wide bug scare 2011, and sawdust as I cut and sanded pieces for furniture improvement. This means I spent most of Saturday and all of Sunday inhaling a toxic brew that really put me in a tailspin. By Sunday night I felt hungover — achy joints, headache, tired, sinuses plugged up, difficulty breathing. This morning I could barely tie my shoes. But now I feel better thanks to clean, wonderful work air!

    Overall weekend grade: C-minus in the short term for feeling sick, B-minus long-term as I forget how ill I felt and enjoy how clean things are.

  7. mordonez says:

    Spent a good portion of the weekend with mrsdonez at the American Library Association show, so I have a ton of advance reader copies of stuff that doesn’t come out for months. Like, literally one dozen tote bags full of it. Once I’m done sorting it out into piles of stuff to give to particular folks, maybe I’ll offer some stuff up here, if people are interested? Ton of “teen” fiction, as that’s the hot commodity at that show. I was a little jealous that she and a friend went back this morning to hear Andy Weir (author of The Martian) talk about his new book, which sounds really cool, but c’est la vie.

    Pokemon Go is still a thing that kids are playing, along with loser adults (ahem) and they have totally revamped parts of the game to make it more interesting, so I spent some time last night driving around defeating electronical monsters. Then I got some chicken wings, and cracked a tooth! Ugh! At least my dentist semi-re-assured me that it was already the tooth we were sort of worried about in general, and not my entire mouth disintegrating or anything. The serious wallet-ectomy is being delayed until next year, when my flex spending and insurance resets.

    I have already mostly blocked out my experience at the Poison/Def Leppard show, which will easily remain the nadir of this summer’s concert experiences (well, I’ll have to sit through Green Day in August, but that’s a neutral to slight positive). The people really enjoyed it though, and I was very crafty in escaping the parking lot.

    • hotspur says:

      Now that you mention it, when I saw Def Leppard 10+ years ago, the singer’s voice gave out about 4/5 of the way through. Just gone. Heroically, the lead singer of Journey ran on-stage and handled the last few songs. (It was a festival where Journey also played.) So I started wondering, if they were too old to make it through a show back then, how are they rocking now? I take much comfort from your report that the people enjoyed it.

      Uten bleeten bloughten bloten.

      • mordonez says:

        Which lead singer of Journey, The Filipino guy?

        • hotspur says:

          I don’t think he was Filipino. Wikipedia says this:
          “In July 2006, Steve Augeri was dropped from the band while they toured with Def Leppard, the official site referring to a “chronic throat infection”. Augeri had been suffering from vocal attrition problems since 2003 and Journey had been accused of using pre-recorded lead vocals. For nearly a year, Jeff Scott Soto from Talisman filled in, with the band for several months referring to him as their official lead singer, but in June 2007, the band announced that Soto was no longer with them.”
          So it was either Augeri having a great night or Soto before they lowered the boom.

        • mordonez says:

          This is the current guy, for the last 10 years. There was a documentary about them finding him, and his first tour, I believe? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arnel_Pineda

        • hotspur says:

          Okay, since I found the set list (see below), I know the show was August 19, 2006, which means I know the singer was Jeff Soto, in the heady early days of his tenure, when it seemed nothing could stop him.

      • mordonez says:

        Journey I would have been into. Or Toto–Toto would be great.

        • hotspur says:

          No Toto. Cheap Trick was there, though! And someone else, I forget who… Billy Idol? Ohh, maybe the internet will know…
          Holy crap, here’s the set list: http://www.deflepparduk.com/2006irvine.html
          Holy crap #2, the forgotten band was Violent Femmes! How’d I forget that? Theirs was probably my most-played album, junior-senior year in HS. Certainly top 5.
          Jeez, what a ticket. Def Leppard, Journey, Billy Idol, Cheap Trick, and Violent Femmes.

    • martinmegz says:

      Def Leppard is amazing and this is a hill I’m prepared to die on based solely on nostalgia from my youth.

      • hotspur says:

        Def Leppard holds up well, and let me tell you: I listened to the Sirius “80s on 8” last week, and it turns out there was a ton of terrrrrible crap that decade. So in the context of the era? When a Def Lepp song came on? They shine like the mother-f’n Beatles.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I assume your crafty escape got you out of the parking lot in time to avoid the major traffic. I haven’t been to that venue in a few years, but I don’t think there is any band that could persuade me to go back. It was terrible a few years ago. Maybe it’s gotten better since it changed names for the 100th time.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        My mom brought me there to see Aerosmith when I was around 12. Jackyl was the opening act – they had a song where one of them played a chainsaw!!

        I’m not going to watch this whole video at work, but holy hell, this is hilarious!

        • hotspur says:

          Your mom took you to see Jackyl! I’m going to treasure this fact for as long as I can remember it.

  8. gnidrah says:

    Last week we had a heatwave. 34 degrees C all week. Cut to Saturday, when we’re going to see On The Town at the open-air theatre. YES, OF COURSE IT WAS SUDDENLY COLD AND RAINY. They restarted the show after two rain delays and the cast forgot their places, and the actress playing Hildy went, “oh FUCK!!” and brought the house down.

    On Sunday I walked five miles with my folks, then had a surprise dinner invite and drank “this summer’s hottest drink”, the Hugo St Germain. I recommend!

    PS. gym crush continues, pls send help.

    • martinmegz says:

      I thought this summer’s hottest drink was the Aperol Sprtiz! I just developed an obsession for that, now I have to learn about this Hugo St Germain stuff?

      • martinmegz says:

        P.S. I’ve found that a good cure for gym crushes is getting to know them. They say never meet your heroes, but I say never meet the guy at the gym you’ve had a crush on for six months.

        • gnidrah says:

          Aperol was so 2016, darling 😂 (very nice though!)
          I did laugh a lot at “never meet your gym crush”… I have a horrible feeling you might be right…

Comments are closed.