Tuesday TV Talk

For once, I actually have TV watching to talk about!

Like Theresa, I also watched some GLOW, but only the first few episodes.  While I found it enjoyable, there was a part of me that wondered how much more nostalgia I can handle before I break?  I know we all love the 80’s, but there are only so many legwarmers and new wave songs I experience before I start to lose interest.  Well, maybe not the latter, but still.

The last few episodes of Silicon Valley have driven me insane.  Richard ethically questionable antics were cringe-worthy, and he’s pissing away all the good karma he’s built over the last 3 years.  And while I don’t mind him leaving the show, Erlich’s departure was really lazy and provided no sense of closure.  That being said, it looks like they hit the reset button at the end of this season, and like an trained monkey I will probably watch season 5.

Finally, I continue to watch American Ninja Warrior, as it’s summer and I need something to watch as I eat dinner, without having to find my Roku remote.  A highlight from last night’s Daytona Beach qualifier includes this 65-year old man completing 2.5 obstacles.  I hope to be this spry when I reach that age.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I finished watching Riverdale, and oh boy, that was bad. But I’ll totally watch a season 2 if it happens.

    Every time they mentioned the maple syrup industry, I couldn’t stop laughing. “Their grandfather killed your grandfather over the maple syrup business!” Wait, what??

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    FRQ, I started this season of Silicon Valley, but only watched a couple episodes. I still thought it was funny, but for some reason, I’m just not that interested in watching the rest of the season. I know I will, but I’m not in a huge hurry.

    • FRQ says:

      Overall I think it’s still alright and it wouldn’t be a waste of time watching the whole season, especially since it’s just 10 episodes. Also, Jared is still terrific.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Jared is my favorite!! I’ve probably posted this gif too many times, but oh well…

        I was hoping Erlich’s departure would create some epic season end joke, like season 1. But it sounds like it wasn’t that. And that’s fine. It’s hard for this show to top itself when it’s been so consistently funny.

        • hotspur says:

          I love the seasons-ago scene where Ehrlich is giving the gift of a kimono to Richard and this happens:
          EHRLICH: It is customary for you to politely refuse.
          RICHARD: I don’t have time for this.
          EHRLICH: That’s perfect. Here you go.

  3. martinmegz says:

    Even though I protest spelling SyFy this way, there are two summer shows I like. Maybe the name change was a good SEO move, who knows. But Dark Matter has been great so far and I think Killjoys is back this week.

    I started watching Bosch on Amazon because I’ve heard people talk about how much they love it. It’s pretty good.

  4. I’ve been watching Parks and Rec while I hang out and it’s so great!
    The Bachelorette has become insane. There’s a racist guy and he’s a parody of racism and it drives me crazy. The producers of this show might be the worst people ever for casting him (there’s no way they didn’t know he was super racist before they cast him). I’ll be happy when he’s gone and we can get back to watching Rachel fall in love. The show would be bonkers even without this garbage racist. Last night she took one guy to a hot tub in the middle of a group date and they were just gone from the group for a really long time!!

    • martinmegz says:

      And then he had the nerve to be worried about not getting the rose! She just straddled you in a hot tub for three hours, I think she likes you, bro. Rachel has no poker face, which is awesome. I watched her conversation with Josiah with no sound and you can see it all over her face that she’s not into him. Same with serial killer Jack Stone. I’m worried by how much she likes cheesy Brian, though.

  5. gnidrah says:

    I’m watching so much tennis. The BBC is televising Wimbledon qualifying for the first time ever & I’m loving the mixture of hope and desperation. Also re-watched a crazy good documentary from a couple of years ago about Arthur Ashe. Even if you don’t like tennis, it’s still fascinating.

    Halfway through The Handmaid’s Tale…

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      How do you like The Handmaid’s Tale so far?

      • gnidrah says:

        Tricky because “like” doesn’t seem like the right word, does it, but I do! It’s been very well made and as I think I said previously, I am a bit obsessed with the light / colouring , which I think adds so much to it. I’m watching it on Channel 4, ie. old skool weekly instalments, and really enjoying the suspense of actually waiting!

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          We got the first 3 episodes all at once, but then had to wait each week for the rest. “Like” is not a good word to describe the subject matter – lol – but I do think it’s an extremely well made show. The performances are great, and I adore the cinematography and wardrobe choices. As far as new shows, I think it’s my favorite.

          I haven’t read the book yet. I think I’ll wait until the show is done. I don’t know how many seasons there will be, but I know there is going to be a season 2.

        • gnidrah says:

          Yeah the book is quite open-ended, and apparently they have Margaret Atwood’s blessing to run with things into a second series. I’m less sure about that, in the same way that I am not keen on a second series of The Night Manager – the book ended, maybe we have to accept that the TV show will too! That said, I will of course watch both 🙂

    • martinmegz says:

      I just went out for a fancy lunch to celebrate ten years at my job. I asked for an Aperol Spritz and the guy said “We don’t have that, but would you like to try a St. Germain Spritz?” It was lovely!

    • mordonez says:

      I’ve been watching some of the minor grass court tournaments. That seems like just a nightmare surface to play on— grass, clay, I’d fall town with every step, i fear .

      Related, how is there a place named

      ‘s-Hertogenbosch

      That just seems unnecessary.

Leave a Reply

