So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was uneventful, but there’s nothing wrong with that. Work was quiet, and then home was also quiet, and I got some writing done. Weirdly, this Star Trek: Voyager background noise video on YouTube is my new favorite ambient mix for writing…?? I have never watched a single episode of any Star Trek, but I find it soothing to pretend I’m on a spaceship, I guess.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. taoreader says:

    You’ve never watched any Star Trek? How is this possible? Am I such a nerd that this seems impossible?

    My dog threw up in the car earlier, so that was fun. Very ungrateful of him, after I just took him for a lovely walk in a nearby park. Kids these days!

    • flanny says:

      My cat threw up yesterday before I had to leave for work. I feel your pain.

    • This morning my dog threw up and woke me up during the hour between when my son started to wake up and when he really did. At least I didn’t step on it when I went to get him.

      • taoreader says:

        What really gets me is how little they care. My dog pukes in the car, then gets out like nothing happened, he’s all waggy and ready to go. At least have the decency to look a little miserable, dog!

  2. flanny says:

    I looked at my calendar yesterday and realized I had no meetings but a bunch of vacation days that expire at the end of the week, so I’m taking today off. I wrote a little an called a car insurance guy because I want to see if I can get a better rate. I ran a couple of errands, including going to the farmers’ market. I bought some blueberries and beets and samosoas from a food truck, and now I’m eating them while watching Designing Women.

    • flanny says:

      Oh shit, Julia Sugarbaker is yelling at a doctor who told Charlene to “wait and see” about a lump in her breast. He just called her emotional and overwraught and Julia is going to sue him! GIVE ‘EM HELL, JULIA!

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    The staff meeting at my side job was canceled, which frees up 1-2 hours of my day!

    My email got hacked. Hopefully, that is the only negative thing that happens today.

  4. hotspur says:

    I’m with taoreader. It is inconceivable to me that anyone would have never sat through a Star Trek of some kind, just accidentally. But this probably only proves what a nerd I am. If you want, I will make you a list of 5 good episodes to see. I already know you don’t want this, don’t worry.

    I write on Saturdays and Sundays while playing a radio show called Alma Del Barrio. It is 12 hours each day of bilingual radio, meaning the music is Spanish and sometimes the DJs announce in English. Meaning I usually have no idea what is going on, so it floats nicely in the background. It provides a very good ambient energy. On weekends from 6am to 6pm PT, you can stream it here: http://kxlu.com/ I am telling you guys this because it is the best radio station in my stupid city, so my instinct to evangelize has kicked in.

    In other news, the furniture-improving went well last night. My 2-hour task of legs & trim took 5 hours, but we now advance to the next phase: Adding doors.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I like listening to Spanish radio – sometimes to test how many words I can recognize, and sometimes because not knowing the language really does make for good background noise.

      There is a channel on Spotify – it’s indie Spanish music – I figured there had to be a Spanish speaking version of Modest Mouse or Radiohead, etc. – haven’t found anything I love on there, but it’s still fun to listen.

      • hotspur says:

        Oh! Huh. Spanish Radiohead would be something I would want to hear.

        Alma skews more to salsa and other old-school styles.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I’m cool with old school styles and salsa. I’ll have to check it out.

    • taoreader says:

      hotspur, do a post listing your five favorite episodes so we can fight! Or agree, that might happen!

  5. Kate says:

    I had eye doc appointment this morning, and the dreaded drops + all the lights shining in gave me a terrible migraine. I was out of the migraine med so I stopped at the drug store to get some, but the refill wasn’t due until July 2. The pharmacist took pity on my and gave me a freebie! πŸ€—πŸ’ŠπŸ’Š

  6. catweazle says:

    Yesterday was my sister’s birthday so I went over to her place for a little gathering and ended up getting hammered so I am very sleepy and sluggish today. Also last night I had a long dream about my home being infested with bugs, including an indestructible cockroach and a multicolored bug that had the torso of an oversized praying mantis and the head of a very small duck. It was not pleasant! Luckily work is not too busy today so I’m just sitting here counting down the hours until I can go home and do laundry and go to bed early.

    On an unrelated note, I just found out that next week I have to participate in Six Sigma training for work and I want to roll my eyes about it so hard but I also want to get a promotion so I’ll have to act enthusiastic. I’ll just think about 30 Rock the whole time probably.

    • I had no idea Six Sigma was real. Always figured it was 30 Rock only.

      • catweazle says:

        I know, it seems too silly to be real! But my boss’s boss’s boss’s boss is obsessed with it and slowly all employees are getting trained. I have to take a 45 minute online course this week to get my white belt and then I have to do a yellow belt course next week with a group which includes my second-least-favorite coworker (my least favorite of course being my sister’s ex-boyfriend) and I’m positive it will be unbearable. But I guess this is what I get for working in the corporate world!

  7. My day has been good. Mr Truck and Tykesaurus come home today (Mr Truck had to travel for work so we sent Tykesaurus to her grandparents’ house so I could focus on 2Tyke2Saurus), and I’m really excited to see them both! 2Tyke2Saurus was having a bad time earlier but we got a long walk in and I got some work done for a job application I’m excited about!

Comments are closed.