So, How Was Your Day?

I spent the day cleaning, which was necessary and satisfying, but totally wore me out. It did give me a chance to catch up on a few episodes of My Favorite Murder, though, which reminded me that I really should listen to more podcasts. What are you all listening to lately?

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. catweazle says:

    I am in the midst of a day-long Six Sigma training and it has so far involved taping tennis balls together and hiding under a table and writing on posterboards with colorful markers so if you thought 30 Rock was exaggerating it wasn’t. I had to come in an hour early for it too, and I wasn’t able to go to sleep early last night because of fireworks. I am very much looking forward to going home and watching a couple of episodes of GLOW and going to bed early.

    I don’t have any podcast recommendations because other than occasionally listening to Gilmore Guys and hosting The Vampire Diaries Diaries I’m not really a podcast person.

  2. Most of the podcasts I listen to are about The Bachelorette. You can make your own choice about whether that means I don’t listen to a lot of podcasts or that I listen to way too many about the bachelorette.
    I did listen to a RadioLab about the first female Gondolier and that was very interesting.

    My day has been fine. We’re at the point of the summer where it’s just way too hot out all the time.

    • martinmegz says:

      What are the good Bachelorette ones? I still don’t understand the Ben H. / Ashley I. pairing, and I legitimately hate her, so there’s no way I could listen to her backwards-ass views on anything. Whoops this comment took a turn I wasn’t expecting.

      • My favorite is Rose Buddies but they might not be talking about bachelor in paradise or next bachelor seasons because of the political stuff (which I understand but am also super bummed out about), but they’ll definitely finish this season. I also like Bachelor Party/Bachelorette Party which is one of the weekly episodes of The Ringer/Channel 33. I also just started listening to Fresh Batch which has Michelle Collins who used to host the Bachelor in Paradise aftershow. I used to listen to Here to Make Friends which was okay but not my favorite so I put it to the bottom of the list and I really can’t listen to more than three. Mostly cause I don’t have time but really because you can only hear the episode recapped so many times after watching it yourself.

    • My favorite is Rose Buddies but they might not be talking about bachelor in paradise or next bachelor seasons because of the political stuff (which I understand but am also super bummed out about), but they’ll definitely finish this season. I also like Bachelor Party/Bachelorette Party which is one of the weekly episodes of The Ringer/Channel 33. I also just started listening to Fresh Batch which has Michelle Collins who used to host the Bachelor in Paradise aftershow. I used to listen to Here to Make Friends which was okay but not my favorite so I put it to the bottom of the list and I really can’t listen to more than three. Mostly cause I don’t have time but really because you can only hear the episode recapped so many times after watching it yourself.

  3. flanny says:

    Pretty ordinary Wednesday over here. I went to therapy this morning and now I’m at work even though it’s beautifully sunny out. I have to go pick up my farm share this afternoon, and then I’ll probably sit at home and read some.

    I’ve started listening to The Big Listen which is NPR’s podcast about podcasts. It’s pretty fun and I’ve into a number of podcasts based on what I’ve heard there, such as Maeve in America and The Lonely Palette. I’ve also recently started listening to The Rookie Podcast, which is for teenage girls and is sometimes/often too precocious, but they have pretty great interviews and discussions on it. And everyone’s already listening to The Memory Palace, right? It’s so amazing. ALSO, since you’re already listening to MFM, I do recommend The Dollop. I listened to an episode on the train a couple of weeks ago and laughed so hard I cried.

  4. martinmegz says:

    I’m in Park City with my family this week but after this I have .5 vacation days left and I want to go home for Christmas, so I’m working remotely today and maybe Friday. Things are much better this year because I have my own suite with a connecting door to my parents, and my brother is across the hall with his family. No pull out couch in the living room this year, I have my own thermostat and everything!

    There’s a podcast I love so much that I listen to each episode twice, but I can’t really recommend it because it’s pretty stupid. Russell Brand and his best friend Matt Morgan do a weekly podcast for Radio X and basically they just talk to each other for two hours, telling stories, making fun of news items, interviewing weird people, etc. Many years ago they did a BBC radio show, before Russ got famous in the US, and I stumbled across it and fell in love with it. They make me laugh so hard, but I don’t know if this podcast is any good absent the nostalgia of having heard all their stories for the last 8 years or so.

    • martinmegz says:

      Oh I’m obsessed with this dog video, this I can recommend because I know it’s awesome!

      video/1

    • FRQ says:

      Hope you’re enjoying Park City. I used to visit every Christmas through 2010, and love it there. Unfortunately with family all over the place it’s easier to spend the holidays back home so everyone can meet up easily.

  5. Kate says:

    Hi everyone! Today I visited my mom and sat on her porch. Now I’m sitting on my porch! I’m having a big summer party here on Saturday, so come on over!

  6. FRQ says:

    Not great. Once again, I woke up after sleeping for 4 hours for no fucking reason. I couldn’t go back to sleep, which meant I was a zombie at work. On my way home, I got that same shitty bus driver I mentioned a few weeks ago. When she announced my stop, I told her I wanted to stop. She then gave me shit about how she couldn’t stop anywhere that wasn’t a bus stop. When I explained that I meant I wanted to stop and the next station, she still gave me shit. I’m never taking that fucking shuttle again. But the worst news was I found out that my friend’s significant other passed away over the weekend. Aside from the fact that she was awesome, my friend already lost a close relative last year, and I know they had talked about moving in together, and now this shit. I’ve been in bummer mode ever since I heard about this.

    That being said, there have been a couple of silver linings. My boss called me into her office, and informed me about my raise. It’s a modest one, but money is money, and I won’t turn down an opportunity to be told how valuable I am at work. =) Also, today is the only day I’ll be in the office for 2 weeks. Tomorrow I am going to a training seminar for 2 days, then next week I will be on vacation.

    • taoreader says:

      So sorry to hear about the loss of your friend’s SO, that’s tough.I hope he is okay.

      Awesome about the raise. Sounds like you could really use that vacation.

    • hotspur says:

      That’s terrible about your friend’s tragedy. Wish I could say so in person on Kate’s porch.

    • martinmegz says:

      Oh, man. I’m so sorry about your friend’s SO. I can’t even imagine how hard that is.

      This bus driver lady is in the wrong business. Why does she get so worked up about people wanting to get off the bus? It’s like she takes it as a personal affront. Congrats on the raise!

      • actionjackson5 says:

        My bus driver yesterday was reading the sports section in his lap at stop lights. I had no intention of turning him in, but I felt like yelling “go!” every time the light was green for two seconds and he hadn’t noticed.

  7. taoreader says:

    Podcasts: I listen to these fairly regularly, especially on road trips and while doing annoying chores like folding laundry:

    This American Life (NPR)
    Fresh Air (NPR interviews, Terry (Terri?) Gross
    Lore (cool, creepy stories based on legend and history)
    How Did This Get Made (Comedians review bad movies, many are taped live)
    Grammar Girl (relatively short examinations of language that word nerds like me find cool)
    The Trail Went Cold (Some guy examines cases from Unsolved Mysteries that have not yet been solved)

Comments are closed.