How Was Your Weekend?

I spent mine hanging out with my mom and recovering from surgery (still doing fine, and I now have a LOT of fairly serious pain medication I don’t need), which involved watching a lot of Netflix and historical documentaries on YouTube.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I mentioned in the Friday post that I knew I needed to be in a certain mood to watch the Oscar nominated movies I still wanted to see. Well, someone posted a video of 65,000 people at a music festival singing Bohemian Rhapsody in unison, and it was so delightful that I figured that was as close as I was going to get to being in the mood to watch La La Land.

    I did not like it that much. Everyone I talked to said the end was weird or they just did not like the end – that was my favorite part. I guess bittersweet gets more of a reaction from me than straight bitter or straight sweet. The songs are super catchy, and Emma Stone is very charming, but I did not connect with the story or the characters. Not a BAD movie by any means, just not for me I guess.

    • flanny says:

      *whispers* I watched La La Land on a plane and I turned it off many times. But it was so pretty to look at that near the end of the flight, I started rewating it but dubbed into German so I wouldn’t have to actually listen to what they were saying. That’s right, I chose German, commonly known as the ugliest language in the world, rather than suffer through understanding it again.

      • mikaelajm says:

        I absolutely believe this is the correct way to watch La La Land!! I had a sort of similar experience; I saw it in theaters and really, really didn’t like it. Then on some flight, the guy in front of me was watching it, and I found myself just watching his screen and enjoying the aesthetic experience.

    • Sergeant Tibbs says:

      I watched it on a plane too because some of you monsters said you liked it and I did not! I like Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone but I also didn’t connect with the characters. I also didn’t think the characters connected with the characters. Halfway through, they had a fight and I was confused because nothing had seemed to happen in their relationship up til then except montages…?

      What an odd movie to win/not win oscars. We just need better quality musicals!

  2. catweazle says:

    I was on call from Friday night to Sunday morning and my sleep got very fucked up which led to me sleeping from 11AM to 5PM on Sunday, going back to bed at 8PM, waking up at 2AM and then lying in bed falling in and out of sleep until my alarm went off at 6AM. On balance I think I actually slept more than usual this weekend though so I’m counting it as a win!

    • catweazle says:

      Ahhh I just had a meeting with my manager where she told me the promotion I was expecting earlier this year is not going to happen any time soon (like mayyybe next year if at all) so I told her I’ve been feeling like I’m not getting paid enough for the amount of extra responsibility I’ve been taking on and she confirmed that a raise is even less possible than the promotion (which I already knew) and now she is scared I’m going to quit. I’m not planning on quitting but I am wishing I hadn’t moved into a place $300/month more expensive than my last place thinking that the promotion was in the bag.

      • Kate says:

        Did you consider using another job offer as a bargaining chip? They just might “find” some money…

      • martinmegz says:

        That sucks. Ugh. When my boss says there’s no money for raises beyond the COLA, I ask for other stuff like more vacation days or a work from home day. Not that more days will help pay the rent, but it’s something to feel appreciated.

  3. flanny says:

    I went to see my little baby niece, who is so cute! She’s got the biggest ears and she hates afternoon naps, so she was being a little fussy. But cute nonetheless.

  4. mordonez says:

    We had another exciting Car Repair Friday, leading to mrsdonez and I taking separate Amtrak trains from Milwaukee to Chicago and leaving the car there for the weekend. On Saturday, I did not do much before going to see a show of Paul McCartney tunes performed by a group of friends/acquaintances/teachers. It was real good. Sunday, we went to our favorite “place where they put mashed potatoes on all the sandwiches”, before attending a Shakespeare in the Park performance of Macbeth, which was also real good.

    Theresa, glad to hear recovery is going smoothly–how about an opiate pinata? You could charge for admission? Maybe there are problems with this idea….

  5. martinmegz says:

    I got a little drunk at the airport on Saturday then I have no idea what happened to Sunday. I sat down to watch some stuff on my DVR and all of a sudden it was night? I watched Chain Reaction and am currently working on a new Keanu Project entry for it.

    I’m pretty annoyed at work today. My boss has an intern doing some research but then he has him pass me the work to put into the website back end, essentially making me a data entry person for the intern’s work. This ain’t gonna fly for long.

  6. We went to Chuck E Cheese on Saturday! It was me truck’s idea cause we had to be out of the house for a couple hours. Mixed results, but not as fun as I remember it. They do serve beer though!
    Was grumpy all day yesterday for a couple different reasons, but my kid was up a bunch last night with nightmares, so today I’m too sleepy to be grumpy.

Leave a Reply

