Tuesday TV Talk

What have you been watching?  If it was bad, I hope you had the patience to put up with it, much like this news anchor.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. Kate says:

    I’m watching Orphan Black kind of jump the shark. We’re into the last couple of shows and they’re trying to wrap it up. I don’t know what the heck’s going on anymore. Also Preacher! I enjoy Preacher. It’s campy and doesn’t take itself seriously. This is only the second season, so you can easily catch up if you want.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Orphan Black started out so strong, but I am VERY glad this is the last season.

      Tatiana Maslany is still doing a great job, but holy moly, the plot is bonkers, and I have no clue what is happening.

      • Kate says:

        Glad it’s not just me!

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Definitely not just you. I was talking about it with my friend, and we were both laughing that we had no idea who the lady was in the hospital when S and Sarah conned their way in. Also, what happened to Kira’s dad? The guy who lived in the woods or on a farm?

          I watched season 1 of Preacher and thought it was pretty good. I’ll have to check out season 2.

        • martinmegz says:

          Um, Kira’s dad is hanging out with Khaleesi.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Ah, I don’t watch Game of Thrones, but if he’s on that show, no wonder he’s not on Orphan Black. The least they could do is reference him. If we had to revisit Allison’s neighbor’s husband, I assume he will pop up at some point – either in person or in conversation.

    • martinmegz says:

      I am so with you on Orphan Black! I loved the first seasons so much but now it’s become a chore to watch.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    When I canceled my cable, I kind of forgot about Elementary and Younger. Thanks to Hulu, I was able to finish season 3 of Younger, and I plan to catch up on Elementary in the near future.

  3. flanny says:

    I’m an episode behind on Prime Suspect: Tennison, but I accidentally heard a spoiler about the finale on the Masterpiece podcast. I like it, especially once I found out that one of the detectives was one of the stars of Inbetweeners! Unrecognizable! It’s ALMOST a Neville Longbottom situation.

  4. catweazle says:

    I watched all of GLOW in the last week and it was really good! It was a little suspect that there were like 14 women all living in a hotel together and none of them were lesbians, and I do wish they had clearly confirmed that rich producer guy’s butler was actually a BUTTler if you know what I mean but very few shows are gay enough for my taste so I won’t hold it against them too much.

    Also it bugged me for the whole first half of the season that Debbie looked familiar and then I finally looked her up and learned she was Fiona, Sherlock’s four-episode love interest, on Elementary! Seeing her in this makes me really appreciate how good her performance on Elementary was.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Everyone on GLOW looks super familiar. One of the girls is from Mr. Robot, and another was on the Carrie Diaries. I wish the Fiona character would have stuck around on Elementary. I liked them together.

      I’m only a few episodes into GLOW, and my only complaint is that the guy who plated Piz on Veronica Mars is in it. I know that shouldn’t be held against him, but Piz is kind of the worst.

      • flanny says:

        Can we talk about the Carrie Diaries sometime? Because I ❤ that show.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I loved it too!!! I don’t remember much about it since it’s been so long, but I do remember the main actress was very charming, and her boyfriend was very god looking. That’s about all I’ve got. I think it’s on Netflix – perhaps, I’ll have to rewatch it sometime.

        • flanny says:

          I watched it only on Netflix, but it was a couple of years ago. Crossing my fingers it’s still there for you!

      • catweazle says:

        Yeah when I found out that guy was Piz I had an “ugh” reaction but I like his GLOW character a lot so I was able to get over it.

  5. Does anyone here watch Big Brother? This season is off to a great start!
    Bachelorette was fine last night…final four could have been predicted a couple weeks ago and I think Peter either wins or is the next Bachelor.

  6. Also I thought the Syfy show Dark Matter was new this summer and based on the book of the same name, but this week I read the book and went to Syfy’s website to find out when it airs or else watch the episodes and turns out it’s in its third season and not at all based on this book.
    😦

  7. martinmegz says:

    MTV’s The Challenge Season 30 starts I think next week? Because tonight is billed as a some sort of Challenge special? The Challenge is one of my favorite shows, even the bad seasons are so good.

    I may have mentioned this before: I want so badly to like Animal Kingdom but it just falls short of being a good show. But I love Scott Speedman and there’s nothing much else on in the summer, so I watch it.

    I recently re-watched Sports Night, it’s on Hulu, and damn that show is still so good every time. I highly recommend it – it’s about a SportsCenter-type show but you don’t have to have any interest in sports to enjoy it.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I do not like sports, but I liked Friday Night Lights. Maybe I’ll have to give Sports Night a chance.

      • I straight-up can’t stand sports, but Sports Night is excellent. It’s all about the presenters and crew and their relationships, and it’s peak Aaron Sorkin Before He Became Insufferable.

      • mordonez says:

        Sports Night seemed much less smart to me when I started re-watching it. Does it pick up a little after the first few episodes? I was inclined to throw stuff at the TV whenever it was dumb about sports or stereotypicaly Sorkin-y, and I didn’t want to wreck my memories of a one-time favorite show.

  8. gnidrah says:

    Trust me, when that news glitch happened IRL it was horrendous. It’s a few seconds on there but watching it, it felt like an eternity. And given how shitty everything had been here over the few weeks before it happened, we were all basically convinced this was it. This was how everything ends… 😉

Leave a Reply

