Thursday Interlude: Let’s Complain About Summer

I don’t even have the every to pull up last week’s Project Club post, you guys. It is too hot and hazy with eleven thousand percent humidity and summer is the worst. Please complain about it with me.

Still tell me about your projects if you want. I’m sure there’s a bunch of stuff I need to do this week, but I can’t think of what because my brain is weather-induced mush.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Thursday Interlude: Let’s Complain About Summer

  1. catweazle says:

    I am trying so hard to use the AC as little as possible but it’s really fucking with my sleep so I broke down and turned it on last night. I’m not a sweaty person in general but I currently have bangs and my forehead sweats under them and it is gross. Why can’t it be like 70 degrees all the time?

    Anyway, I finally decided what to do about possible crowdfunding for my surgery. I felt too weird about it to do a GoFundMe and instead set up a website with a PayPal donate button and if you donate certain amounts I’ll do various things for you (including making Blingees). So at least I’m offering something in return, although most people who have donated so far are not taking me up on the rewards aspect. Fools! The website is here if you want to look: https://clairehaley1.wixsite.com/surgery-for-claire

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I actually had to turn the heat on in my car yesterday – in JULY – because I was so cold from being in a meeting that had the thermostat set to deep freeze. I don’t like to sweat, but I also don’t like having to run my space heater in the office because the air conditioning is on full blast.

    You know what I liked best about La La Land? The fact that each season basically had the same wardrobe. Los Angeles – where you might have to wear a sweater or light jacket. I don’t need seasons. Just give me sun and temperatures between 55-85 degrees ALL THE TIME.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    According to my Trello board that I updated last night, I have 28 tasks to do in the near future. I have completed 2 so far, but expect to finish about half of them by the end of the weekend.

    Work projects are a completely separate list. My main job, side job, AND freelance job all have print deadlines in the next few days, so I’m a little stressed about that.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I just did 2 more of my tasks on my lunch break! They were easy tasks, but I’m going to call it a win.

  4. Kate says:

    This humid rainy weather really makes me sleepy! I have a cloudy brain! But I am happy today for three reasons: 1) I got a lot of work done on a new painting 2) I made chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter icing and 3) Ellie Kemper is right this minute recording a reading of Kelly’s “If I Were a Ballerina” for New Yorker radio. Ellie and Kelly, new friends.

  5. hotspur says:

    I have been procrastinating on project #1 (vampire-writin’) by spending a lot of time on project #2 (apartment refurbishin’), and I’ve been procrastinating on #2 with “project” #3 (random movie watching), while never even getting near #4 (watching the Unnecessary movie I promised you I would). There are a lot of excellent reasons I’m doing things in this order.

  6. It’s too fucking hot you guys. I am trying to get out of the house when I can because although I don’t want to go back to work and would love if maternity leave lasted forever (not really), cabin fever is starting to set in. I go for walks Mon, Wed, and Fri, but Tues and Thurs I have to try to do something but it’s just so damn hot out and I worry about getting back in the hot car with the baby if I run errands. Also it’s been raining a lot here and I wanted to wash my car but it might rain so I didn’t.
    My parents are coming to town tomorrow and I have zero plans because it’s too hot to do anything. Any suggestions for kid activities that aren’t outdoors but also are appropriate for a two-year-old and a newborn?

    • Kate says:

      Ugh. New baby is tough. Have the parents stay with the baby for a little while and take the 2 year old for a swim or through the sprinkler! A nice air conditioned mall with a toy store and a kid friendly restaurant could work for everyone.

  7. taoreader says:

    Can’t judge you for watching movies. Can you recommend any of the random movies?

    • hotspur says:

      I’m going to assume this is a reply to me! What a narcissist. Last night I watched Bull Durham, which — as is the case with almost all great movies of the 1980s — turned out to be good, not great. Then I rewatched Contact with Jodi Foster for the first time since theaters, and it was better than I remembered it (also good though, not great). After that I did the first half of Gangs of New York, which so far is an intermittent delight but I might be mainly digging the atmosphere instead of the story. It’s 3 hours and straight cartoon, but is (so far) my favorite of last night’s adventures.

      I also rewatched the most recent episode of Game of Thrones, the one where [spoiler] blows up the big [spoiler]. Good stuff.

      TWO nights ago I watched The Fly. Ever see that? I never had. Vincent Price version, not Jeff Goldblum. It was slow-moving but genuinely horrifying. I was really moved (horrified) by it.

  8. taoreader says:

    I can’t complain about summer because I love summer, even when I hate it. It’s my favorite season. The humidity is good for my skin and asthma, I love pools and beaches and sunshine, I love sipping a cocktail on a restaurant patio even if I’m sweating a rainstorm.

    And it turns out that I am indeed moving from my east coast state to another east coast state. One that’s a little warmer even. I’m a little worried because I’ve lived in my city for years and years and I love it, but I really need a change, and I want to be closer to my sister.

    (This is really a sis/bro gif but it’s so sweet!)

Leave a Reply

