How Was Your Weekend?

Mine was very quiet–I’m back to normal at this point, but I still haven’t wanted to push things too much so soon after surgery so I mostly sat on my duff and read and ate too many snacks.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I used a vacation day on Friday to meet my friend for lunch at my favorite Greek restaurant. It was great to see my friend, and it was also great to have a ton of leftovers to eat for the rest of the weekend.

    They had a dessert on the menu that was similar to loukoumades, but was not called by that name. It tasted like a french toast donut, drenched in honey, AKA – THE BEST.

    Last night, I met family at the restaurant with the best chocolate cake, which I brought home for tonight as a treat because I knew today is going to be just insane with work. Plus I had MORE Greek dessert leftover last night – a walnut cake, also soaked in honey.

    When I wasn’t eating, I was mostly working or sleeping. My freelance project was sent off to the printer yesterday, my regular job project is going to the printer in the next hour or so, and my side job was supposed to go to print today, but the printer granted me an extension until tomorrow.

    • taoreader says:

      Honey-soaked cake? Count me in.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        It’s called karidopita. Maybe a Greek restaurant near you has it 🙂 It doesn’t look super pretty, so I’m not going to post a picture, but it is delicious.

  2. taoreader says:

    I spent Sunday looking at open houses with a friend who is moving. We saw five condos. I was exhausted, but I got a nice meal and cider at the end.

  3. catweazle says:

    I went to brunch with my sister and hung out with her and the baby on Saturday and oh my goddddd he is the sweetest and best baby on the planet. He very recently has made a lot of progress with his speech issues and can now say the first syllable of a word out loud (so the way he says my name is “Uh Cuh”) which is HUGE and also so so cute. He has even said three full sentences this way now (the first was “Call Grammy” because did I mention he’s the sweetest?; the second was “Go away!” to his mom because he didn’t want her to follow when he was leading me upstairs to show off his trains; the third was “Bye bye Aunt Claire” which killed me). I could go on all day about how cute he is but I’ll stop now.

    After the baby fun I went to see The Little Hours with a Q&A with the director and Aubrey Plaza afterwards. It was mostly very fun, and at one point Nick Offerman skyped in via Aubrey’s phone to answer a couple of questions. If there’s one thing I learned at Sundance it’s that the questions at movie Q&As are always terrible but this crowd really went above and beyond. One guy came up dressed in a priest outfit and basically said “Hey I love you guys, also I have a comedy show about Catholic shit coming up, do you wanna come? Here are the full details!” and there was like an audible eye roll from everybody in the crowd and THEN this lady came up and was like “I’m sure you guys get this all the time but I’m an actress and improviser in Chicago; can I give you my resume?” and for some reason the crowd was actually rooting for this asshole and applauded for her when they said yes? Fuck off with your self-promotion you shitsacks; I want to hear funny stories and set anecdotes.

  4. hotspur says:

    I had a very productive writing day on Saturday but then dropped the ball on Sunday. I knew I was gonna have to do some work for the jobby-job for a few hours midday and I let that dominate my mindset. Still, I rewatched Suspiria. Have you guys ever seen Suspiria? It is flawed plotwise, but possibly there is no better-looking movie.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I have not seen this, but it is getting remade, so I’ve heard the name pop up on Facebook / A.V. Club recently. Plot sounds pretty interesting, and the gif you posted is intriguing!

    • catweazle says:

      I have not but I have seen a different Dario Argento movie called Profondo Rosso and it features a bird impaling itself on a knitting needle the female protagonist is holding onto for self-defense during a blackout. I just like telling people about that scene.

  5. martinmegz says:

    I hung out with my friends and their baby then we had dinner and watched Dr. Strange. I also watched To The Bone, the new Netflix movie mired in controversy because it deals with anorexia. I’ll make a post about it in a week or so to give people who are interested time to watch it. If no one’s interested then I’ll discuss it with myself.

    I’m experimenting with YouTube TV because it has a free one-month trial right now and it could save me $100 a month if I cut the cord on my cable. The pros are that you can watch live TV, record unlimited shows at once, access your recorded shows from anywhere, and share an account with several other people. They also give you a free Chromecast after you pay your first month. The cons are that it’s obnoxious to fast forward through commercials in 15 second increments and controlling via iPad is more cumbersome than picking up a remote (especially when you have to enter your password every commercial break). So the jury is still out.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I watched To the Bone, so I will be happy to discuss it.

      Also, have you seen the trailer for the new Charlize Theron movie Atomic Blonde? I think you might like it.

      • martinmegz says:

        Yeah I can’t wait for that. I’m hoping Hot Spur will be up for a movie night to see that. Charlize trained at 87eleven at the same time Keanu was training for John Wick – that’s the awesome action movie training place the John Wick guys started. I’m dying to check it out, I wonder if they’d give me a tour?

        • hotspur says:

          I’m sure they would give you a tour. Why would they not? And I would see Atomic Blonde. Also Baby Driver.

          Keanu Fact I Learned Yesterday: Apparently he trains extensively with firearms on his own time in order to handle them naturally and correctly onscreen, and in real life has become every bit as quick and graceful with them as he appears to be in fake life. You probably already knew this.

        • martinmegz says:

          In the John Wick Chapter 2 commentary, he often critiques his gun work and gets annoyed with himself if he didn’t do a reload fast enough.

  6. My parents were here and we all hung out with the kids. It was great!

Comments are closed.