Tuesday TV Talk

Go nuts.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I finished watching GLOW last night. Overall, I really liked it, and would watch another season if they get renewed.

    Other than that, I’ve mostly just had the TV on as background noise while I’m working or cleaning – Seinfeld, Frasier, The People’s Court. I don’t usually like reality court TV, but for some reason, The People’s Court continues to entertain me.

    I also saw that Kristen Bell and Kelsey Grammar are getting a Netflix show. I am very much looking forward to learning more about that!

  2. flanny says:

    I don’t watch Game of Thrones DON’T TRY TO CONVINCE ME TO I’M NOT INTERESTED. But on Sunday I got to my janky hotel just in time to watch two episodes of Botched. It seems that–like One Direction–I should be embarassed about how much I love Botched, but I am not.

    British Bake-Off Corner: Does anyone else feel like the bakers just aren’t very good this year? Is it that or is it that the challenges are too hard? I am, however, intensely in love with Selesi.

    • actionjackson5 says:

      We’re a fan of that little redhead Andrew (though he is not skilled enough to win, admittedly). And we generally root against the guy who kept trying to inject healthy ingredients into his sweets (but he stopped that and got star baker one week!).

  3. catweazle says:

    Once upon a time I was able to say that I had never heard Ed Sheeran before and that is no longer true and I am FURIOUS! The moment that scene started before they showed who it was I was like “Why the fuck didn’t they hire somebody who can sing this song in a non-anachronistic way?” and then they revealed his identity and I was like “Oh, that’s why.” Arya’s first scene in the episode was so awesome that I guess we had to pay for it with this nonsense.

    I did not need to see or hear the shit montage and why was it 100 years long? I just looked at stuff on my phone for that whole scene. The scene with Jim Broadbent was also gross but there was like, a plot purpose for it so whatever. But I wanted to throttle Jim because like, why do you think all those previous disasters didn’t end the world? Could it be because somebody saw what was going on and did something about it? Which you are currently, purposely preventing Sam from doing? What a dumbshit.

    I don’t know if they put this in there on purpose but I felt like there was kind of a sexy vibe between Jon Snow and Sansa and I wanted to puke because a) incest and b) even if it wasn’t incest, Sansa could do better.

    Why on earth is Jaime still just calmly hanging around Cersei right now? What happened to all the character growth and supposed honor from his road trip with Brienne. Girlfriend just murdered your son’s beloved wife and basically went ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ after he killed himself because of it! She is nuts and evil and very bad at her job! Run while you still can! I don’t even like Jaime but I don’t buy this shit at all.

    I think we’re supposed to be charmed by Euron Greyjoy and find him sexy but all I could think about during that scene was that he looked like a combination between Jack Sparrow and Jeff in this scene of Community:

    Also nothing will make me care about or root for the Greyjoys, even though the less evil branch of the family finally got Daenerys the fuck out of Essos.

    But I did actually like the episode mostly. I just wouldn’t be me if I didn’t pick it apart and complain about it!

    • Kate says:

      That open right? It took us a minute to figure out what was happening, and then we were all OOOooooOOOOoooooooo!!! I loved every minute (almost–not the poop ‘n soup).

    • Erika says:

      The way things are going with Jamie, I wonder if he’s going to be set up to be a “king”slayer two times over.

    • mordonez says:

      It didn’t occur to me to be upset about Ed Sheeran until internet told me who it was, because of oldness. In restrospect, I sort of don’t care, and the scene was find. Apparently the cameo was partly as a nice thing to do for Maisie Williams, who is a big fan, or something.

      Also, that was too much poop, and I am super relieved that a sympathetic maester didn’t hide his key to the restricted section in a bedpan, which I thought could have been a (disgusting) thing.

      At any rate, this is 6000 words shorter than what I used to write on such topics, and we’re all better for it. I also went ahead and watched it instead of pouting that GRRM is incapable of finishing his story before he lets the TV people do it for him. I mean, not watching this season would have been fairly dumb, and mrsdonez and others would have rightly be all over me. Especially because there are allegedly 2 MORE books that Mr. ADD is supposed to crank out (over what, the next 8 years? Come on, George…).

      • Kate says:

        Yeah I’m not exactly sure why we’re all supposed to hate Ed Sheeran now. Seems like a decent person to me. Has he committed a crime or something I don’t know of?

  4. I haven’t gotten around to the GOT premiere yet but I’m not bothered by spoilers. I watched maybe 4-5 episodes of GLOW and it’s good. I watched the first two episodes of Friends from College and it is NOT good. Spoilers ahead.

    First of all, I am never going to root for characters who are cheating on their spouses. 2/3 of this group of idiots engage in adultery, some for twenty years! Fuck you, cheaters! Also, I didn’t find anything funny except for one time when Keegan gets startled. At one point I thought, oh, I guess this isn’t a comedy. But I think it is actually supposed to be one! But there’s no jokes! Unless you count a stupid scene with some douchebros putting their penises (?) on a speaker phone as funny. I do not. Finally, these people aren’t even friends! They’re people who knew each other in college. Friends are people you like who have your back.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Thank you for confirming that Friends from College is not good. I wasn’t too impressed by the trailer. I really hate watching people cheat/get cheated on in movies. It just makes me dislike everyone involved – I’m looking at you Mad Men.

    • flanny says:

      I watched maybe the first twenty minutes of Friends from College and was so confused. It seemed like Keegan and Wonder Years both thought they were in a broad comedy, but everyone else was taking things very seriously and the script seemed to be saying, “Look at these wacky pals! They talk over each other!”

    • Kate says:

      Agreed. Not too happy with this show.

    • Yeah, I heard Friends From College is terrible. It’s too bad, that’s such a good cast!

  5. I’m late to this but really enjoyed GOT even though stupid Ed Sheeren was in it for some reason. (I don’t know why we all hate him now…it just felt like lazy stunt casting)
    Big Brother is really interesting! I used to dismiss it as dumb CBS tv, but I’ve really grown to love it.
    I’m officially rooting for Eric on the bachelorette.

Comments are closed.