So, How Was Your Day?

Mine was good! I got a lot done at work, and then a smaller amount of things done at home, but still, some things! And one of my coworkers brought in an amazing homemade cake today. No day with free cake can truly be bad.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to So, How Was Your Day?

  1. catweazle says:

    I was in a crummy mood but then my sister texted me to tell me that the baby keeps asking her if they can go to brunch with me again and now I am dead.

  2. flanny says:

    My therapist and I talked about podcasts. Or really I talked about a podcast I listened to (Invisibilia) and she said, “Wow, that podcast seems like it was a real turning point for you.” Please send me my official Millennial membership card.

    • Talk more about how this podcast changed your life. How did it make you feel? (that was a therapy joke but honestly I’m interested in hearing about this)

      • Oh and as you can all see, I’m in the process of changing my name here because I typed in some random screen name on Videogum not knowing it would become my online identity for the next decade and now I’m ready to shed this username and move forward. The Ann Margaret profile pic stays, though. Viva Las Vegas!

        My week has been chill. I submitted a Wimbledon recap for you guys that I’m hoping will change some minds and hearts about sports (I know it won’t). I’m about to go get my car washed because I’m working from home and I can use my lunch break however I see fit!

        • hotspur says:

          It’s going to be weird if we switch to our real names. But if you do it, I will gradually warm to the idea and maybe be ready for a change myself by 2035. (I have been hotspur since 1999 or 2000, when who even knew the internet itself would last a decade.)

        • I NEVER SAID THAT WAS MY REAL NAME! seriously, though, the people I’d want anonymity from could suss me out easily from the things I post.

        • mordonez says:

          I went to elementary and high school with Ann Margaret’s niece, “Great story, mordonez, if that is your real name”.

      • flanny says:

        It feels impossible for me to talk about how it made me feel without sounding like a hippy-dippy new-ager, but basically it made me feel less alone in the way I experience emotions. #podcasts

  3. hotspur says:

    I went out Monday and Tuesday with old friends — one I hadn’t seen in 18 months, the other in 4-5 years. Both were a success. Beer was consumed and then I went home and fell asleep instead of achieving any achievements. That was great, but the pressure is really on tonight.

    Also, you guys: Never buy anything at Best Buy. This is a public service announcement. I ordered something from them for store pickup. They estimated it would take 8 days to come in, and we are in day 13 and they can’t tell me where it is or when it will arrive. I spent 90 minutes in a chat yesterday in order to get this information (“we have no information”). FINALLY, someone unearthed a tracking form that says my item DID come in, on day 2. But the store never called me or emailed. Still, the helpers at Best Buy Helper HQ said, don’t go pick it up; HQ has to contact the store and tell them to get its shit together on the matter of my item. If I show up before the store calls, their shit will not be together and I will have wasted the trip. So… HQ told me this yesterday at 4 pm, and here it is after 1 pm, and the store has not got its shit together and called me.

    Thus my advice to you is, if you are ever thinking of rewarding Best Buy with a dollar of your business, instead, do this: Burn the store down and sit in the parking lot and, as employees run from the conflagration on fire themselves, take them down one by one with a crossbow. Fair is fair!

    • Ok but why not buy on Amazon and have it in your hot little hands the next day?

      • hotspur says:

        This was a fact I pointed out to the Best Buy employee. It was even cheaper on Amazon! I told the Best Buy Helper my first 2 reasons for choosing his operation:

        1) Getting it in 8 days instead of 3 was fine (whereas 13+ days = not fine).
        2) Save the environment because no packing materials if store pickup.
        3) I ordered 15 of the units because I needed 13-15; easier to return 1-2 unneeded ones to store than to Amazon.
        4) Amazon showed 3 photos of the item, but one actually showed a slightly different item, so I didn’t want to gamble they’d ship that one.
        5) Why not help a “local business” that employs real people.

        I didn’t go into #4 because it made BB look better than Amazon, and #3 made me look shady, but I wish I had gone into #5 because now I think these people should not be employed.

        A few times, I demanded a credit because of the delay and he would say okay and ask for the order number and then after I pasted it into the window, he’d change the subject or ask an incredibly stupid question, e.g., “Is this the order number of the item that is delayed?” YES. THE SAME ONE WE HAVE BEEN TALKING ABOUT FOR 90 MINUTES. I DID NOT JUST PASTE IN A RANDO NUMBER. And then he would say, “I will have to look this up,” and then somehow the subject of my credit would evaporate until I brought it up again. This happened 3-4 times in the final 30 mins of the chat. So please, burn down your local Best Buy.

        • What a roller coaster ride! I would now like to kick off a BNPG: what item did hotspur order? We know it’s available on Amazon and at Best Buy, and he needed multiples of the item but didn’t know exactly how many.

          My first instinct is 13-15 copies of the original Dracula movie on Blu-ray. But he’s been doing a big cleaning project, so many some kind of storage for his thousands of DVDs?

        • hotspur says:

          That’s a bingo, Tracey (née martinmegz). DID WIKILEAKS TELL YOU? HAS RUSSIA HACKED MY BEST BUY ACCOUNT?

        • actionjackson5 says:

          I like how you went from Item 5 to “burn the store down.” I don’t really enter stores much anymore (sorry, that’s how it is, local businesses) unless it’s a book store, but even then, my county has like 10 libraries and all of them have a book overstock section where I can buy recent bestsellers for 50 cents instead of $24 (sorry, authors who want royalties).

          Times are just different now. Every now and then my wife asks me if I have any money in my wallet. Money? Like real paper bills? Who has that anymore? I never have real money in my pocket.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    The day started out pretty great. I had a vacation day to meet up with a friend in Chicago, and we went to the museum, hung out outside in the beautiful weather, and got a bite to eat. Perfection!

    When I got back to my car, it had been towed because I didn’t see the street cleaning sign. I had only 10-15% battery life on my phone, but luckily had enough juice to figure out where my car was located. A doorman I chatted with said he has seen this happen to lots of people, so I felt a little less dumb for missing the sign. Another guy that worked there was like, “Yeah, I saw your car getting towed!” Thanks, guy, that does not make me feel better. LOL

    To get your car back, you have to take a cab to LOWER WACKER which is a stretch of confusing streets under the main streets. Even the cab driver got confused. He was like, “I’ll wait here until you get inside the office” because it is straight up scary down there. He earned himself a good tip!

    I paid my $175 fee, got a $60 ticket, and got on the road. Had I left when I planned, I might have missed rush hour, but my underground adventure took way too long, and I am so glad to be home finally.

    I’m still giving this day an A because it was really fun until the whole, WHERE IS MY CAR? issue.

    I’m hopefully going to spend the rest of my day eating and relaxing.

    • hotspur says:

      A secret city under the city? Full of shady businesses and confusion? Lower Wacker sounds like something from cool fiction.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I’m fairly certain they filmed stuff there for the Dark Knight, so I guess it is a part of cool fiction. And the famous Billy Goat Tavern is down there, too. But I think it’s a nightmare because it seems shady, and if you are driving around it, you can see the regular streets, but sometimes can’t find your way to actually get to them.

    • flanny says:

      But what are you going to eat???

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        So far, I’ve had some mini Kit Kats, Saltines, and pita chips. I’ll have hummus on whole wheat bread for a snack, then a sandwich and veggies for dinner. Nothing fancy!

    • catweazle says:

      Lower Wacker is the worst. I once took an Uber to work because I overslept and the driver decided not to ignore the GPS’s instructions to take Lower Wacker like any sane human would and there was some kind of construction happening down there and I felt like we would never escape. I was later to work than I would have been if I had just taken public transit.

  5. Today was pretty good! I went for a 2 1/2 mile walk and then got to take a regular length shower because mr truck was able to watch 2tyke2saurus. Finally I got my stuff together for a job I’m applying to!
    The big bad thing is that my dog has to spend the night at the vet. He is probably fine but also he’s pretty old and they don’t totally know what’s wrong with him, but they think it’s just a stomach bug.

  6. FRQ says:

    This week’s been pretty easy-going. My boss is out of town, and I finished almost all of the work she gave me, so I’ve been on Lynda.com learning IT stuff. Last night I had friends over for dinner and board games, which was really nice. It was also the most people I’ve ever had at my place ever, but it went smoothly.

    Side note: I saw The Big Sick earlier this week, and despite the dumb title, it’s a really great movie. I’ve been following Kumail Nanjiani for a few years, and I’m glad to see him making a name for himself.

    • actionjackson5 says:

      Lynda.com is awesome. Our office has an account for it as well. I usually do courses that actually help me do my job better, but there are rando one like “being a happier person” that I sometimes check into, because, hey, they made a course about being happy. If I’m happier, I do my job better, right?

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        I heard that some library cards get you free lynda.com membership. You guys should check out if that is an option. I have to get on there. I haven’t used it much, but I know it would be a great learning tool.

Comments are closed.