So, How Was Your Weekend?

I was so, so lazy this weekend, and I’m a little ashamed of myself. I didn’t even make it to the farmer’s marked, which is the lazy person’s grocery store! But it was awfully nice to sit around and do nothing but watch TV, which I haven’t done in a while.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to So, How Was Your Weekend?

  1. flanny says:

    Okay weekend. I threw out my back about halfway through my run Saturday morning, so I canceled both my yoga class that afternoon and my run on Sunday.
    On Sunday it was gorgeous and I kept on badgering myself all morning to take advantage of the sunshine and do something outside, but I couldn’t think of anything I wanted to do, plus I’d spent a lot of time outside the previous weekend. So my therapy finally kicked in and I stopped trying to hold myself up to some sort of unattainable, unwelcome goal for myself. I realized that if Sunday was my last day on earth I would have wanted to spend it writing a book, so that’s what I did. I mean, I wrote maybe 1,000 words, but that’s a lot for me right now. So I’m really happy about my Sunday.

  2. catweazle says:

    I ended up having to work quite a bit because a bunch of people sent in shit really early on Saturday morning so that was lame but it means I’ll get more money so whatever. My little sister went to our other sister’s place for a while on Saturday and sent me a video of the baby watching a video of himself and it was delightful. I need to hang out with the baby again soon!

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I had to work late on Friday night, but did not set an alarm on Saturday morning to make up for that. I met a puppy, hung out with friends and family, and got chocolate cake on Sunday, so A+ weekend!

  4. hotspur says:

    I spent the weekend in the Bay Area glomming on to my brother’s family vacation (him plus wife plus two daughters). It was lots of fun, would glom again, am sorry did not take today off work for extended glom.

    On the downside: We were not communicating effectively! As in, he’d ask me for “things to do” ideas and I’d throw out a couple and they’d go down a black hole. So next time he asked I was unsure how misaligned I was with his interests and why, so I’d feel tentative about suggesting more things. I didn’t want to bully him into shit! But I worried that he was looking to me for help that I was failing to provide.

    Whatever — the positives outweighed the negatives! The nieces (10, 8) are really fun. I taught them how to use chopsticks and they both got the hang of it in one dinner. Amazing! I am going to be proud of them/me on that score for years. Plus they are both so enthusiastic about everything (except nontraditional ice cream flavors, turns out). AND as we were walking in a park looking at the Golden Gate Bridge, the younger one got me alone and very seriously asked if I believe in God. She is trying to make up her mind, it seems! (I said I probably won’t ever decide for sure, and I think it’s okay to be unsure?) Then the older one showed me an elaborate dance she learned at camp, to a Huey Lewis song.

    The neutrals: When one niece said her butt felt cold, I made up a dance and a song that goes “Warm up your butt! Warm it right up! / When your butt gets cold, warm up your butt! / If it gets too hot — cool down your butt!” I thought this would be a hit (I was pandering) but it was not. Therefore I felt compelled to revisit it several times over the weekend. I am an idiot.

    • taoreader says:

      You get serious points for making up a butt song, whether or not the audience appreciated your art.

    • catweazle says:

      I’m glad that I’m not the only one who makes up weird butt-related songs for children in their family! Last time I was over at my sister’s the baby threw a tantrum while getting his diaper changed and I improvised a song about his “poopy butt” and for a second I was like “Who am I what is my life” but then the baby calmed down and even laughed and I was like “I am a hero.”

    • Video of the song/dance please

  5. taoreader says:

    You guys, my weekend was exhausting and traumatic. Here’s why.

    1) Saturday I was walking my dog off-leash in an approved but not entirely fenced in area, and he was doing great until a big, friendly lump of a dog came running at him to play. Tiberius weighs less than 10 pounds and is still afraid of big dogs. So he ran off, out of the fence, into the road and kept running. So the other dog owner and I ran down the street and Tiberius just kept running and I realized he was going to run home. He ran back into the street twice, once in front of an ambulance. I don’t know how he stayed alive. When I got to my building, he was waiting for me by the door. I spent the rest of the afternoon sucking on my inhaler, because I have asthma, and as a rule don’t generally run.

    2) Sunday I went to pick up the rest of my things from my ex-husband’s place, which used to be our place, where I lived for ten years. I hired two guys and a van to carry out all the boxes. You guys, SO MANY BOXES which I am now staring at, because they are all now crammed into my tiny one-bedroom. And I have to go through them. Just sedate me before I have a psychotic break.

  6. I went to dim sum with friends on Sunday and it’s seriously my favorite thing. We ate so much! And it only cost $20 a piece. That dim sum place should have called the cops because they got robbed – I would have happily paid twice as much and begrudgingly paid three times as much for that meal. The downside is that we have to drive an hour to get to the part of LA that has authentic dim sum, but I made myself a vodka soda in a travel cup and rode in my friends’ car so that was fine.

    Last night I spent hours doing meal prep for the week and I hated every second of it, but now I have stuff ready to eat so that’s nice. Look at how much I talk about food; I’m starting to understand why my summer intern thinks I’m a foodie (I am not).

  7. My weekend was good. We went to the soccer game and that was fun! Sunday we had friends over and that was good too!
    Today 2Tyke2Saurus started daycare. It was okay but I cried a little. I missed him a lot today. On the upside I cleaned out about half of my closet including all of my maternity clothes! Good riddance!!!

  8. Erika says:

    I went to my high school reunion, and it was pretty fun. I caught up with a few friends, but unfortunately only maybe four people I really considered friends (vs. acquaintances) actually showed up. I also hung out with a few people I’d never really talked to in high school. I got a lot of compliments for looking more or less the same, and a friend-ish acquaintance who was a smartass in high school and is still a smartass now said something like “yeah, and she’s white, it’s weird”.

    On the one hand, being around my peers made me feel less old than when I find myself among a bunch of 25-year-olds, but on the other hand a few of them have kids going off to college, which dragged me back to reality.

    It was kind of funny how many people lied and said they remembered me even though they had no reason to. There was also a weird interaction with a guy I know I didn’t really interact with saying he remembered me, my saying I didn’t remember him, his getting sort of offended, and then his saying something about my being one of the “cool kids” which is definitely the first and last time I’ll ever hear that. Also basically everyone there knew him and liked him, so it sure seems like he was one of the cool kids, but whatever.

    • flanny says:

      When I went to my ten year reunion, I ended up talking to people who were friends of friends, which was fine, although I considered the evning at bust because no one I really wanted to see was there. But at one point I made eye contact with my mortal enemy from high school who thought she was smarter than me (I only got one point below her on the ACT and I think that really bothered her) and ended up going to Harvard and now teaches Russian literature or something at Berkley and hates children on planes (she posts a lot on fb about how much she hates children on planes). Anyway, I made eye contact with her
      at the renunion and smiled and she turned away without so much as a glimmer of acknowledgment. But every once in a while she’ll comment on my fb posts about cats or the Baby-Sitters Club? WTF, Shannon? What do you imagine our relationship to be?

Comments are closed.