It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

What are you up to this weekend? I have some errands to run tomorrow. Please keep me in your thoughts as I try to make it out of Target with only the things I need.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

  1. Kate says:

    I’m supposed to sing the national anthem at the local Yankees (Mets?) farm team game tonight, but we may be rained out 😟 Then tomorrow night is my high school reunion! Omg! I have to find the old yearbook so I can remember some names.

  2. hotspur says:

    I want to dislike Target, but that’s impossible. It’s affordable but not depressing, which evidently is a Houdini-level magic trick since so few stores pull it off. I bought a shirt there just this week, AND various drugs AND Clif bars. It’s on the way to work and it opens at 8:00, so life is great.

    I didn’t do anything last night except read Ready Player One and watch a mediocre Doctor Who and the movie The Witch, which everyone else saw a year ago. That means tonight the pressure is on to double the vampire-related stuff. You guys, I am so close to being done with the vampires that I am right in the phase where I shut down completely instead of ever finishing anything! So exciting!

    • I was engaged in a months-long blood feud with Target this year but I emerged the victor so they can suck a million! My advice to everyone is not to order anything online from Target, because people at the post office can steal your package, return it for CASH, and Target will tell you you’re SOL until you contact the CEO’s office then magically they will do the right thing.

    • catweazle says:

      I really liked Ready Player One but everybody is suddenly talking shit about it online since the trailer for the movie came out and I can’t tell if I have bad taste or if everybody is just being a hater. Are you enjoying it so far?

      • hotspur says:

        Huh, backlash? I am avoiding reviews and trailers so I can form my own stupid opinion.

        That said, I’m 27% in, according to Kindle, and there was zero plot until about 21% — which is not great, Bob. It began with ~50 pages of the narrator explaining what an avatar is and so on. We know how computers work! It’s the ’80s! But the writing is breezy enough that I kept going, and finally there’s a plot, so maybe it’s about to take the on-ramp to awesomeland.

        • catweazle says:

          Yeah definitely don’t look at the cast list or anything because it contains spoilers sort of. I didn’t think it was some great work of literature but it was engrossing and fast-moving and fun and I enjoyed it.

    • flanny says:

      I literally moved to another city to be closer to a Target. Now I’m so close I don’t even have to drive on any main roads to get there. ❤ ❤ ❤

      • taoreader says:

        I’m buying like 70% of my clothes at Target right now. Three tank tops for 12 bucks? I can’t resist that! And they last longer than the ones I get from Banana Republic, where everything is marked up so ridiculously.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I have clothes from Target that have held up really well over the years. I specifically love their Mossimo brand stuff. And the Gilligan & O’malley brand pajamas are the BEST!

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Oh, and our local Targets have self checkouts now!! So, they are going to get a lot more of my money now.

  3. Update: we got free giant Panera cookies at work. The weekend is off to a good start.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Theresa, what is the gif you used up top from?

      • San Junipero, from Black Mirror season three! It’s very good. I have mixed feelings about Black Mirror in general but I really like some of the episodes.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I’ve only seen a couple episodes, and they were fine, but I never went back to watch more. I’ll have to check it out at some point. Thanks!

        • taoreader says:

          I like that one. Not my favorite, but still good.

  4. catweazle says:

    I’m not on call this weekend! No working! Oh my god! This was a shitty stressful week and next week’s going to be awful but at least I can sleep and drink: two of my favorite things that I cannot do while on call. We’re recording the podcast tomorrow and hopefully will do two episodes, which would include the season 1 finale. A whole season! And it only took six months!

  5. Tonight I’m going to take care of a human baby while my friends go out to dinner and I plan to use the opportunity to swap out some of their framed photos with pictures from Die Hard and John Wick to see how long it takes them to notice.

    Other than that, the weekend really snuck up on me so I need to figure out what I can do that won’t leave me feeling as if I wasted it. And I don’t care that “snuck” is being flagged as incorrect, I hate the sound of “sneaked.” #resist

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I love this prank! You (and hotspur) are the George Clooneys of this group. Between the photo swap and the story you told us about buying movie seats next to the only other person in the theater, you guys are on a roll!

    • taoreader says:

      I watched John Wick last Saturday. Great action choreography, great story pacing. Enjoyed.

  6. flanny says:

    If you’ll remember last Friday I had a crazy moth issue where there was moth with eggs and whatever in my office. Well, today I found another sac without a mom ON A PAD OF PAPER ON MY DESK!!!! I threw out the pad of paper (which probably had important notes on it, so if I don’t reach my FY18 goals, I’m blaming the moths) and then tied closed the garbage bag and then put it in another garbage bag in another room. I’ve put in a request to “housekeeping” to have someone spray or something in my office, and if they just send Cindy who empties our trash bins every morning, I’m going to lose it. I need the Orkin man.

  7. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I missed my alarms this morning, so I got to work later than planned, and I think I woke up on the wrong side of the bed because I am in a very bad mood. It doesn’t help that it’s cloudy and only in the 60s. It feels like fall, and that reminds me of winter, and why can’t it be sunny and 75 degrees ALL THE TIME?

    I have a lot of productive stuff to do this weekend (errands, work projects, and miscellaneous household tasks), but I would be lying to myself if I said I wasn’t going to make time to watch a bunch more episodes of Broadchurch. That show is very good.

    This message has been too crabby, so I’ll end it with one of my favorite dancing gif to brighten it up!

  8. taoreader says:

    Good god it IS Friday already. What? I’ve been buried in boxes and lost track of the days. You guys, I found some things today that I saved from elementary school, like my 4th grade math workbook. And junior high stuff from science fairs. It’s nuts! And a really, extremely, very ugly purple clay pot I made in sixth grade art class. I’m pretty sure that thing needs to go.

  9. Erika says:

    Tomorrow I’m going to a Fantagraphics sale and a Tim and Eric show, and I have mixed feelings about both. Tim and Eric’s movie really soured me to them, but the boyfriend wanted to go, so I’m going too. But hopefully at least the theatre will be air conditioned and relatively smoke free. We’re experiencing a heatwave right now, and the city is blanketed in smoke from wildfires 500 miles away. Summer!

Comments are closed.