How Was Your Weekend?

Well, I made it out of Target alive and significantly poorer, but I did get almost everything I needed for my upcoming trip, and ran a few other errands as well. On Sunday, I made up for my productivity by lounging around and watching TV all day.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to How Was Your Weekend?

  1. FRQ says:

    I got together with some of my volunteer buddies on Saturday. We had brunch around noon, then spent the rest of the day hanging out by the pool, where we swam, grilled, and drank. Once the sunset, we went back to one of my friend’s apartment, where we watched HGTV as we sobered up. On Sunday, I met my GF’s dad for the first time. I think the outing went well, so I’m probably okay for the time being. We’re having dinner again this evening, so I’m praying I do not do/say anything foolish, as I have a tendency to put my foot in my mouth.

    • I put my foot in my mouth with the mom of a guy I was dating 12 years ago and I still feel bad about it even though that guy turned out to be a loser. Sending you good vibes for tonight.

      • hotspur says:

        What did you say? We have to know.

        I had Thanksgiving with a GF’s family one year and her mother asked what I would like to drink with dinner. Not wanting to be a hassle, I said, “Whatever wine you’re already opening is fine, I’m sure.” WRONG ANSWER because it turned out she meant did I want sweetened or unsweetened tea, because that was all anyone in her family ever drank with any dinner. She exclaimed “well bless your heart!” and looked at me like I was a drunken wreck there to besmirch all that was holy in her family life. (That was so assy that to this day, I am pretty sure if anyone ever again says “bless your heart” to me, my immediate reflex will be to snap, “fuck you, lady.”)

        • Hello I’m late but here it is. I had JUST met his mom and she told him that she bought him a DVD of Secret Window, a Johnny Depp movie. She said she didn’t know if it was any good but hoped he would like it. And I said, “Oh I heard that movie is terrible.” Such a stupid thing to say.

  2. catweazle says:

    I intended to be very productive this weekend and shockingly ended up spending most of my time playing Zelda. And I wasn’t even very productive in Zelda! All I really accomplished was finding the right Goron to send to Tarrey Town and learning how to shield surf.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’ve banned myself from outdoor music festivals due to my anxiety. Usually, I am fine with this decision, but Alt-J was at Lollapalooza on Saturday, and I really wanted to see the show. I actually thought I might go since the weather would be nice the day they were playing. It was a fleeting moment of feeling ecstatic – “I’m going to be spontaneous and carefree! I’m going to buy a ticket off Stubhub and it will be glorious!”

    Then, I started reading Reddit threads about the festival, and my excitement dwindled back to reality. Luckily, Facebook streamed their show live, so I cast the video to the TV, turned up the volume, and enjoyed a few songs from their set. Every time they showed the massive crowd in front of the stage, I knew I made the right decision.

    I did go see Dunkirk – I haven’t been to the movies in probably 3 years because of my anxiety, so VICTORY!

    I wish I would have been more productive, especially on work projects, but I’ll just have to buckle down this week.

  4. flanny says:

    I went on a fun shopping trip on Sunday, but the highlight of my weekend was on Saturday, when I laid down on my side on the sofa to watch a movie, and my cat came over from across the room (with me calling her) and curled up next to me and we spooned while watching Clue until we both fell asleep. Has there ever been a better Saturday?

  5. I pulled off my photo swap prank while babysitting on Friday. They found one of them but no word on the other three.

    Other than that my weekend had no excitement. I need more excitement in my life.

  6. hotspur says:

    I got a lot of reading and writing done and got a little bit of sunlight. I took two breaks: I watched Inner Space for the first time since the 1980s and let me tell you, a lot of what seemed “so true” back then now plays like “that’s horrifying.” I mean, Dennis Quaid’s drunken, boorish, fist-fight-at-parties-starting, self-righteous lout is about to drive Meg Ryan away… until he plays “their song” on the stereo, and then she says, “That’s not fair,” and melts? How have I had any normal relationships with this being the information I was fed at a sensitive age?

    That said, I did laugh a few times. Good job, comedy.

    My movie break on Sunday was Valerian in 3D. The first half hour is dazzling and inventive, then it kind of wanders off. Rihanna is in it for no real reason, Clive Owen is unconscious for about 90 minutes, the Fake Leonardo DiCaprio who plays the male lead doesn’t really have the sense of humor he needs to make us care about him, the dialog all feels sorta wooden — there’s lots wrong, but it’s also hard to look away because 1) the CGI is well done and 2) the girl with the eyebrows. She just has one of those faces where you are always trying to figure out what it is about it. I predict that within 5 years, Valerian will acquire minor classic status among a subset of nerds! It did make me want to read the graphic novel and see if I can reactivate my high school French. Avec!

  7. I had an okay weekend. Lots of hanging out with the kids and mr truck, which was nice. We saw The Big Sick and it was good as expected. I also saw Baby Driver and now I’m wondering how lame I am if I add that opening song to my driving playlist. …while driving the same car…in Atlanta…
    Going back to work tomorrow! Not excited about it but I’m sure it won’t be as bad as I’m expecting. Will be good to see my friends again!

  8. Kate says:

    My class reunion turned out to be a lot of fun. I don’t know what I was worried about!

  9. Erika says:

    My weekend was decent. I went to Tim and Eric as I mentioned last week, and it was about as tedious as I expected. The only thing I found legitimately funny was the Bedtime Stories narrative that they showed between onstage acts, which really kind of says it all about how I feel about them at this point. I’m just kind of over it. But we wound up going to my favorite restaurant afterwards, so the night wasn’t a total bust.

Leave a Reply

