Tuesday TV Talk

What have you been watching? I recently binged American Vandal on Netflix, and it was ADORABLE. I went in expecting an obnoxiously self-aware and smirking mockumentary, and got adorably earnest and realistic teens trying to solve a very silly mystery instead. It was great.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. FRQ says:

    Sorry for slacking. I thought I had posted this, but realized it was the Emmys post yesterday. As for TV, I watched the American Ninja Warrior finale last night. No one made it to stage 4, with good reason (stage 3 is nuts). Also, Broad City is back.

  2. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I think Nathan for You starts up again this week!!!

  3. catweazle says:

    I haven’t been watching anything despite having been off work for two weeks (well, I watched two episodes of The Handmaid’s Tale and found it dry and too depressing to watch while recovering) but I feel the need to vent. I have only been back at work for two days and I am already about to Hulk out because my coworkers are being such lazy turds and deliberately skipping any difficult/complicated work that comes in. I spent pretty much the whole morning working on this super messed up thing and then FINALLY it was time for my lunch break and pretty much everything was done on what I was working on, we just needed to hear back from the client on a couple of things and I left super clear notes on what needed to be done when she did, and two minutes after I left for lunch she sent the stuff to us and NOBODY TOUCHED IT for the entire time I was on my break and I was like “There is no way I am coming back from lunch and picking back up with this just because everybody is too chickenshit to work on something complicated” and now the person who finally claimed it is like “I don’t understand, it’s so confusing” and I’m like “I ALREADY DID EVERYTHING JUST DO LITERALLY THE TWO THINGS THAT I OUTLINED STEP BY STEP IN MY NOTE FFS IT’S NOT THAT HARD” and I want to scream.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Oh, and I missed the Emmys post yesterday. I was very glad that The Handmaid’s Tale won lots of awards. Also, congratulations to my boyfriend, Alexander Skarsgard, for playing such a convincing creepo.

    I did not like the announcer. I don’t remember his name.

  5. I have a big recommendation this week! I just found out about and immediately became obsessed with the show Riviera, starring Julia Styles. It’s a ten-episode series airing on Sundance Now. Here’s the great part: you can get a free one-week trial to Sundance Now via Amazon Prime streaming, which is plenty of time to binge ten episodes.

    Riviera has been described as Revenge in the South of France. The clothes are to die for and the scenery is incredible. Julia Styles is an art buyer who marries a super rich dude and lives on the Riviera. Events unfold that lead her to question if her husband has been using her for criminal activities. As she begins to investigate and deal with the husband’s kids and ex-wife (played brilliantly by Lena Olin), she has to deal with threats from the police and crime organizations.

    Go watch it! Also the theme song is perfect.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      Have you seen Rectify? That’s on Sundance too, and it’s amazing.

      I’ve liked a lot of stuff that Sundance shows, so I will look into Riviera.

      • I know everyone loves Rectify, but I tried watching the first episode and it was too dour for me. I can’t get into bummer stuff even if it’s really good – just a personal issue. I like things that distract from the human condition, not illuminate it! Riviera is on Sundance Now, which might be a different thing than Sundance? I don’t know!

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I completely understand not wanting to watch depressing stuff. Rectify is fantastic, but it is an emotionally difficult show.

          I don’t have regular cable anymore, but I’m sure Sundance has an app or streams videos on their website. Top of the Lake ended up on Hulu, so maybe it’s on there too? I’ll just buy Riviera from Google Play if I can’t find it anywhere else.

          I have to finish season 1 of Lethal Weapon. Did you know season 2 starts up again sometime soon?

        • Lethal Weapon is back 9/26! I set a series recording on my YouTube TV. (God. I remember the days of programming VCRs, now I touch a screen and every episode of a show gets recorded.) I hope they’re able to maintain the season 1 magic because I loved it so much.

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Project Runway: I am still way behind, but I did finally see the unconventional materials challenge.

    Overall, I was very disappointed. I can’t believe none of the judges complained that the designers mostly used fabric-like materials, like garbage bags. That one lady on the Little Mermaid team at least tried to make a skirt out of CD jewel cases, but it wasn’t very good.

    The winning look was deserving, and overall, that team was pretty good.

    The twins make me insane, but I knew the guy was going home as soon as he video chatted with his husband. Editing in phone calls home is almost always a giveaway that that contestant is getting cut.

Leave a Reply

