It’s Take A Break Time!

I forgot to queue up the Project Club post last night and don’t remember what I wanted to get done, so let’s just pretend I did it! And let’s take a break, while we’re at it. We work hard and we’re all tired. Please share your favorite relaxation techniques/chill songs/funny videos/kitten gifs.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to It’s Take A Break Time!

  1. catweazle says:

    Well lately I have been watching The Great British Baking Show to relax but I have watched two seasons now and been outraged by the winner both times, especially the one I finished last night which KIMBERLY SHOULD HAVE WON AND I HATED THE PERSON WHO DID WIN THE ENTIRE TIME so maybe I shouldn’t recommend it.

    I have been over-exerting myself this week and I can tell because my boobs are really sore so I definitely do need to relax for real tonight so I’m thinking red wine and reading an actual physical book (jk I will probably just keep watching Bake Off but it’s nice to dream).

    • The person who wins season 3 (s3 on netflix) I think deserved it. Though I’d also say maybe just don’t watch the finale? I think for me the show is not at all about the competition, so I never care that much who wins. Except that Norman is the best.

      • catweazle says:

        Oh I didn’t like Norman. His stuff just always looked so shitty and he obviously didn’t care and I was like WHY ARE YOU ON THIS SHOW THEN JUST BAKE THINGS AT HOME IF YOU’RE NOT IN IT TO WIN IT!

        There’s only one other season on Netflix and I’ll probably finish it by next week and then I can find something less stressful to watch.

        • I saw Norman as a very classic British Baker. He made very rustic things very well and wasn’t used to more exotic flavors. His biscuits were very well done though plain, which describes most British baking.

  2. I am excited because next week I am forcing myself to relax and I have the best excuse to not leave my apartment: I am watching my friend’s corgi puppy. THE BEST. Until then I am a ball of stress and anxiety.

  3. actionjackson5 says:

    I was sorting junk in old boxes and discovered the second book in a trilogy and thought to myself how much I’d like to read it again, but books 1 and 3 were not in the box. I looked on Amazon and a little note popped up saying I had purchased all three books on the Kindle on January 2, 2011. I opened my Kindle and lo and behold, all three books were there! So, long story short, I’m relaxing by rereading a trilogy by Michael Marshall called “The Straw Men,” which I highly recommend if you like paranoid conspiracy theory-type thrillers.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    The first two songs of this Tiny Desk Concert have been in heavy rotation for me this week. Her voice is so calming…

  5. flanny says:

    Funnily enough, just this morning I was talking about relaxing because . . .
    I was getting tested for allergies, and I guess I’m even more not into needles than I thought becacuse after the second round of testing, I passed out while waiting for the reaction. The nurses gave me an epinephrine shot, which I’ve never had before, and evidently I am very sensitive to because I was shaking and my heart was pounding like crazy. During all of this I was trying to breathe really slowly and with intent, and my doctor asked me if I was breathing weird because I was short of breath and I told him, “No, I’m just trying to relax.”

    The other day I’d had kind of a crazy day at work and I sat down and watched the episode of Flight of The Conchords with Will Forte. It did the trick.

  6. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I was supposed to have a colonoscopy this week, but my anxiety got the best of me, and I pushed back the procedure to sometime in October. I was crying in my office because I was so worried about it. Luckily, I have some awesome coworkers that talked me through it.

    Now to brag a little! I had a teeth cleaning today. My first in years thanks to my OCD. I honestly don’t remember the last time I went to the dentist except for the consultation I had at this place earlier this summer. The hygienist was the nicest and most accommodating person. She was completely aware of my OCD at all times, explaining everything to me as we went along. I didn’t cry once! I quit while I was ahead, and said that we could do the x-rays next time. 🙂

    • taoreader says:

      Congrats! Dentist visits are a huuuuge deal for OCD folks. I just read your comment to my sister/OCD person and she nodded her head vigorously the whole time. She agrees that waiting for x-rays is a thing you should do. 🙂 She also hates the flossing part.

  7. taoreader says:

    One of my favorite relaxing things is luxurious bed linens. I don’t care about clothes, but I love my 600 count tensile-weave sheets. I just bought two new sets and I am so comfy and snuggly in bed now.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I just bought some new sheets from Target that are made out of a jersey/t-shirt type material. They are a little too warm (and not even a little fancy), but very soft and comfortable.

  8. mordonez says:

    This is more appropriate for the It’s Friday, Let’s Dance post, but I’m here, so…

    I am about to have a bizarre weekend that may or may not be relaxing (who am I kidding). We’re going to Vegas for mrsdonez’s sister’s wedding (performed by one Elvis Aaron Presley), and then spending a day or two in gawping at such attractions as the Hoover Dam, The Grand Canyon, and Zion National Park. The thing is, it’s one of those weddings with intra and inter family drama, so my hope is that all will go smoothly, and we’ll just have some assorted chill (or not) party times after the actual ceremony, and not be TOO hungover on Sunday morning to start our drives into the desert. Also we’re broke and flying Spirit, so fingers crossed that we survive that.

    A Tourism for Weirdos may or may not be a result of this trip. The sleeping arrangements will be weird– we’re arriving around midnight Friday, and cramming a ton of people into a hotel room. 2 of them leave Saturday night, and then Sunday we’re at an Air BNB in Utah with sufficient bedrooms. My hope is that we can avoid the usual issue with our family vacations, the ‘racing back to the airport to (not) miss a flight” portion–flying on the redeye Tuesday morning should help with that, I hope.

    • Yes, we need more TFW around here! Say to the King for me.

    • taoreader says:

      I don’t know if you’ve been to Zion before, but it is stunningly beautiful, one of my favorite parks.

      I personally would not be able to cram myself into a hotel room with several other adults without panicking. One night is probably fine though.?

  9. mordonez says:

    My next door neighbor has some painters/workers of some sort who are listening to a gospel station, and the topic for the talk portions between tunes today is being “fleshy” and how to avoid it. Question mark!!?

  10. I find it very relaxing to lie on the couch napping while listening to a tennis match. The sound of the ball on the racket is quite soothing, so long as the players are not offensive grunters. I like naps in general. I took two yesterday!

  11. hotspur says:

    I took a break but just to go to Home Depot and buy plastic tubing that I suspect will turn out to be the wrong size. I feel stressed today you guys. I think I can take a break on October 1, so I’m looking forward to that.

  12. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I also need to relax. My baby was sick all week (croup & ear infection) and I got zero sleep as a result. He’s better now, but I’m so tired and last weekend was away for a relaxing weekend with my best friend (complete with spa treatments!) and the sickness pretty much zapped any relaxation I had stored up.
    I like to read in a quiet room by myself or take a nap. Or do literally anything without my kids (I love hanging out with them but they are not relaxing).

Comments are closed.