It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

What are your weekend plans? I’m tired, and hopefully don’t have to do anything.

About Theresa Couchman

Theresa Couchman was born in Upstate New York, went to school in Upstate New York, and currently resides in Upstate New York. She has a pair of impractical Master's Degrees and a taste for the pointlessly weird, and is occasionally funny on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Chat, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to It’s Friday! Let’s Dance!

  1. flanny says:

    I’m going to fulfill a literal lifelong dream tomorrow! The curling club in the next city over is having an open house and I’m going to go and try my hand at it! I’m so excited!

    • hotspur says:

      They are sure to perceive under your rough, unschooled ways on the ice a determined, fiery spirit that is just the thing their team needs to go for gold at the next Olympics! I will say I knew you when you were just a blog commenter with a… puckish dream? Not sure how to end this comment.

    • Curling is so fun, you’ll love it! I was VERY bad at it when I went but still had a blast.

      • flanny says:

        Ooh, a veteran! Any tips? What should I wear? All USA gear or no?

        • Definitely USA gear, yes. But other than that, regular sneakers should be fine, and bring a fleece or hoodie and wear long pants or leggings. The rink will be chilly and you’ll have to kneel on the ice a lot.

        • hotspur says:

          “Definitely USA gear, yes. But other than that, regular sneakers should be fine, and bring a fleece or hoodie and wear long pants or leggings.” I feel like this is solid wardrobe advice for 95% of life’s occasions.

    • Tracey says:

      BNPG: What Olympic sport do you think you could have a shot at competing in, with some training?

      I’m convinced I could medal in biathlon, despite never having cross-country skied or shot a rifle.

      • flanny says:

        Bobsled. All you do it sit and lean, which is what I do in my life anyway.

        In Thailand my friend and I kayaked for the first time and we were honestly very amazing at it. So the plan is for us to do kayaking or whatever in the summer and then me to do curling in the winter, that way I can compete in both games.

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        Archery. I’ve taken a few lessons, and I’m pretty good for the small amount of training I’ve had. I even have my own bow, although I’ve never used it.

        Oh, and just to be clear, I would never want to shoot a living creature. Strictly target shooting like the archery tournament in Adventures of Robin Hood.

        • flanny says:

          A couple of weeks ago I went to the Renassiance Festival and they had an archery range, and not to brag, but I’d never shot an arrow before and I hit a T-Rex-shaped target right in the neck on my very first try.

          Where do you train? After my T-rex experience I looked up places and they were all huntery. 😦

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I took lessons with the park district one million years ago. But, like you, I was at an event where you could do demos like archery, and the guy leading it was being kind of condescending before I took my turn, and I impressed him with how well I did.

          There is a place not far from me that has an indoor range. I’ve never been there. I think some of the chain stores like Cabela’s have a lane with an indoor target. I heard that a local gun shop also has indoor target shooting, but I’ve never looked into that option because I don’t want to hang out at the gun shop.

          Some of the outdoor places have target shooting. Not sure if there is a season for hunting vs. target shooting.

      • catweazle says:

        Is “getting very emotional while watching figure skating” an Olympic sport? If not, I have no answer.

  2. flanny says:

    I’ve never seen Lilo and Stitch, but you can just tell the girl on the left of Theresa’s gif is just such a bitch.

  3. catweazle says:

    I’m gonna sleep so much! Being back at work is exhausting.

  4. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’m guessing the majority of my weekend will be spent in front of a computer screen. I have to work and I want to make my portfolio website. I was supposed to do the portfolio site last weekend, but only completed buying the domain name, WordPress theme, and hosting package. So now I actually have to create the site.

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    This weekend will be fun! We don’t have any plans tomorrow except college football and then Sunday we go to the soccer game!

  6. The last two weeks were crazy but I’m feeling caught up since I filed two articles last night at 1 am. This weekend I need to attend to the things I let go for the last fortnight, which means cleaning up my disgusting apartment. Next week I have two short public speaking obligations that I need to prepare for, but other than that, I’m feeling unburdened. I might even get around to watching Baby Driver finally!

  7. taoreader says:

    I’m eating at an excellent French restaurant tonight. I can’t think past that.

Leave a Reply

