Tuesday TV Talk

I had to fly out of town for a quick trip, which gives me an opportunity to catch up on shows.  The highlight of my backlog is last night’s premiere of Star Wars Rebels, which enters its final season.  While it’s mainly a kids show and has its fair share of filler, the creators did a much better job on this show than I had anticipated.  Hopefully it will go out with a satisfying end, before they start the inevitable next series for this franchise.  Those mansions don’t pay for themselves!

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    Project Runway SPOILER ALERT!

    I’m so glad that BOTH twins are gone. I honestly thought that Margarita was making up or exaggerating the whole cheating scandal since she was so convinced that Claire was copying her design from the previous week. But then Claire straight up admitted it, so I’m glad she got sent home. I do not like Margarita or Michael now. Their back pedaling after she got cut was so fake. I hope Kentaro, Brandon, Ayana, and Kenya are the final four.

  2. gnidrah says:

    I need something new to start. I have the first two episodes of Snowfall waiting but I can’t seem to make myself start them, which could be a sign? I also have the George Michael documentary Freedom to watch, but I think I might cry too much. So I should do that when not tired and emotional…

  3. flanny says:

    I took a couple week’s break from watching the Vietnam War documentary, but I picked it back up again this weekend just in time for Bobby Kennedy to get killed and word of the My Lai massacre to get out. At least once an hour I’ll yell, “You’re crazy! This is craziness!” at the TV. Because it’s craziness! Guys. War is very terrible and we can’t trust anyone!!! Thanks, Ken Burns!

  4. Tracey says:

    I’m going to have to put my foot down and insist that you all watch at least the first episode of Kevin (Probably) Saves the World. I think you’ll be happy that you did. And now I’m going to undermine my credibility by talking about this weird Hallmark addiction I’ve developed recently.

    I’ve watched a few more autumn movies and one season of Chesapeake Shores, and I think I figured out why I’m drawn to this mindless entertainment right now: it’s bland, safe, and comforting. I’m watching people with good lives and small problems and I like existing in that world. Because at the same time, I’m also scrolling through Twitter reading about all the terrible things our leaders are doing and saying, and reading think pieces about how likely it is that I’ll be vaporized by a nuclear bomb from North Korea, and sobbing at stories about wildfire and hurricane victims. There’s just so much tragedy to absorb. Hallmark programming is the entertainment equivalent of sticking my head in the sand, and for now, I’ll allow myself the indulgence.

    • Tracey says:

      Oh I recommend Chesapeake Shores – the pilot is kind of like a Hallmark movie, but then it evolves into a lighthearted family drama, kind of a very vanilla Brothers and Sisters. For Autumn single-woman-falls-in-love movies, I recommended Falling for Vermont, Autumn in the Vineyard, Harvest Love, and October Kiss.

    • flanny says:

      Because of you (by Kelly Clarkson) I watched the first episode of Kevin when it showed up on Hulu. I like it fine enough to have watched the next episode too. However, Jason Ritter seems like the nicest guy on earth and if I had to pick someone to save it I would probably pick him! So I kind of have to laugh whenever people seems skeptical about him. He just seems so nice!

      • Tracey says:

        He really is a delight. The premise is stupid but the execution is really fun, in my opinion. Plus I think he’s hallucinating in an attempt to find meaning in his life.

  5. collin0truckasaurus says:

    I’ve been watching BoJack Horseman! It’s very funny! But also very very sad sometimes.

  6. hotspur says:

    I finished Ozark last night and started Mad Men. I started Mad Men 8-10 years ago but only watched the first 2 episodes. Now I’m giving it another go, I guess.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I just watched Mad Men for the first time earlier this year. There were things I liked about it, but overall, I don’t see what all the fuss is about. I binged through it very quickly, so I guess I liked it enough to finish it.

      • hotspur says:

        I just read some nonfiction about the ’50s, so it’s interesting to watch with that in mind.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Yeah, I definitely liked the time period – the styling, set design, ad campaigns, etc.

          It also got in my head a little. I’m not creating any big ad campaigns in my job, but while working on graphic design projects, I kept thinking to myself that Don Draper not approve of this. It made me want to try some other ideas or sell the ideas I had with more confidence.

  7. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I think I mentioned last week that I am rewatching Gossip Girl, mostly as background noise or when I need to just have something on while I eat breakfast.

    This line, delivered by Chuck Bass, was so funny to me – “I’m bored. And you’ve ruined my pants.” But not as good as. “Now you are like one of my father’s horses. Rode hard and put away wet.” This is a show that was marketed to young people! Cover your ears, children.

    Also LOL at Dan’s story about Chuck Bass, but he changes the character’s name to Charlie Trout – good one, Dan!

    • flanny says:

      I can’t remember where I first heard that put away wet line (maybe Golden Girls?) but I love it. It’s so mean!

      • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

        There’s a variation of it in Veronica Mars – Logan introduces his sister to his cougar girlfriend – “Rode hard, meet put away wet.”

        It is a great insult line!

Comments are closed.